31 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Turkey The Bird - Single Review: Everybody Needs A Little Sunshine

01 Oct 2020 // A review by Chris Chick
I was promised a happy little number when handed this assignment, and I was not let down, I think happy might be an understatement, elated, ecstatic, maybe even nirvanic, which I believe is a word I just made up. This is a timely release what with summer banging on the door, a great reminder to us all to put a smile on our faces, and be thankful for the simple things in life, like a little sunshine, especially if you are on the West Coast of the South Island, according to the rumours.


Everybody Needs A Little Sunshine
by Turkey The Bird starts off just how you would expect it to, with a very melodic harmony that sets the scene nicely for the listener to fall back into their bottom dwelling of choice to rest that posterior. For me, a good up beat song should set the scene as early as possible to allow the listener to become acquainted to the ride ahead. I love the transition to the chorus, the mix of the bass, subtle drumming and the ever present joyous sound of the banjo, complementing each other to really lift the song to a new level of loveliness.

The only part of this song that I became flat on, was the ending, the song just finishes without any warning, I was almost anticipating a big crescendo, to such an uplifting song, but it never came. This is really a minor blip on a fantastic little number that makes me yearn for a good old fashioned road trip to beaches and wonderful sunsets.

I can sincerely say, you will not regret taking 3 minutes of your time to listen to this, and definitely will not regret parting with some of your cash to assure this bad boy is in your musical collection. Actually, this song is so good, it could have done with another 2 minutes to satisfy my sunshine loving, happy head bobbing Kiwi existence. It goes without saying that this song is a wonderful mood changer, and really does have a special vibe to it for everyone to enjoy, even the Slayer types, who need a time to relax and unwind.

This is a definite 4 out 5 stars for me, and a definite buy for everyone’s music collection.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Turkey The Bird

Turkey The Bird is New Zealand's answer to 'Simon & Garfunkel' if '&' was a musician too.
Catchy folk songs with stunning rich melodies and effortless smooth lyrics. Songs that tell uplifting stories about love and life.



Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Turkey The Bird

Releases

There are no releases to display for Turkey The Bird.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Miles Calder - Single Review: Take Me Back To How It Was
19 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I think I just found the band that I really want to jam with; Miles Calder's new song Take Me Back To How It Was is a sound that really does what it says on the tin, it takes you back to the way it was. This late 60's and 70's psychedelic number really softens the soul and enables one to really re-live by gone days that many of us did not even have the opportunity to experience.
Read More...
Imperial April - Single Review: Release Me
08 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
Imperial April are releasing their new single Release Me on 9 October 2020, and by golly it's an absolute corker, and I will not let anyone else say different. This song has so much going for it, from its production, to the wonderfully enchanting singing, to the 80's summer vibe that will just keep the summer of 2020 a positive time considering the rest of the garbage we have all had to deal with.
Read More...
Jam Fish - Single Review: The Hermits Red Balloon
24 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Jam Fish’s new single The Hermit’s Red Balloon was released on the 14th August 2020. This song can only be described through golfing metaphors, the experience of listening to this song was like playing a shot beyond the horizon and hoping you make the green.
Read More...
Fornax Chemica - Album Review: Audio Vision
06 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Let’s get one thing straight right off the bat, creating, producing, and performing an album is a massive undertaking in itself. I am always impressed by any musician who is able to accomplish this, no matter the genre or the instruments they play (the more the better I say) this is why longevity within the music industry is not to be ignored when embracing all aspects of artists you love, and those you find hard to love.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: I'm Only Focused On You
15 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
Intense and full of bravado, as soon as the first piano chord hammered over my speakers, I jumped to attention like a well drilled private awaiting his first taste of action. Without any hesitation this private felt the need to start running towards the battle with no second thought for my own safety, willed on by the heavy baseline that accompanies the just as strong willed lyrical content.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Travelling Show
12 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
With a skip in my step, bounding my way through Trafalgar Square making my way to the center of the world as I knew it, London Town, this brand new single by Mini Simmons is, as they say in London, ruddy bloody good. I love songs that take me back to bygone days of freedom and an ignorance that only a young 20 year old called entangle into his swagger.
Read More...
Hummucide - Single Review: Reacher
25 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Picture a wonderfully blissful day, slow wanderings around the park as it blooms fully into the start of a new creation, beckoning good will and tidings to all that seek it. With that picture in mind, now listen to the new single from Hummucide Reacher and transcend the only way possible from the vibe that jazz music can only touch.
Read More...
Whaea Stylz - Single Review: North Star
11 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Whenever anyone makes the plunge into Reggae style music, you just know you are in for a treat, and there is no difference here with Whaea Stylz latest single North Star; an infused reggae beat that is guaranteed to get you moving even those muscles you never knew existed. I was really drawn in by the range of instruments, especially the piano, I thought its use really added to the song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem