25 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Darren Watson - Album Review: Getting Sober For The End of the World

30 Sep 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Darren Watson originally became known in the Eighties as principal songwriter and frontman for rhythm and blues outfit Chicago Smoke Shop, with whom he recorded two albums. Since going solo he has released six studio albums, with his last, 2018’s Too Many Millionaires being his most successful, reaching #3 on the official NZ Albums Chart. This put pressure on Darren for the follow-up, and he spent a great deal of time working on new material before deciding to record it in his own studio. Last November Steve Moodie (double bass), and Delia Shanly (drums/percussion) began recording basic tracks on evenings at Lamington Studios – which is Darren’s house in Ngaio, Wellington. Every single track on this record is Darren singing and playing a guitar of some kind live at the same time, and there are no lead vocal 'fixes' or guitar overdubs. More musicians were added here and there, but at the core were these three, and it is all about feel and emotion more than it is having everything perfectly correct at all times.

This is traditional country style blues, and of the nine songs on offer, seven of them are original. One, Love That I Had is by Matt Hay who has worked with Darren in the past and is a fellow Wellingtonian, while closer Preachin’ Blues (Up Jumped The Devil) is the Robert Johnson classic and it fits perfectly alongside all his own material.

Ernie Abbott is about the infamous Trades Hall bombing in 1984, and Watson sounds in pain when he says, "Somebody’s got to know who took the life of this peaceful man". In many ways this is the embodiment of the whole album, as it is packed full of emotion, and the arrangements leave the vocals at the front. The accompaniment is just that, providing a background for a man to bear his soul and display his grief and sorrow for all to share. The picked guitar is delicate, with just a few notes delicately placed, and I found the more I listened to it the more I was reminded of the words of Harry Chapin’s Bluesman, "To play the blues, boy, you got to live 'em, Got your dues, boy, you know you got to give 'em, Got to start sweet like a slow blues rhythm, Like a heartbeat you'll always be with 'em."

This does not sound like Aotearoa blues, but rather as if this album from someone who grew up next to the Mississippi, and who has the delta running through his veins. This is classic pre-war blues, not the rambunctious style which came later, but one which is packed full of emotion and cries from the heart. I can’t wait to hear this in concert, as that is going to be a very special event indeed.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Darren Watson

No-one plays the blues like Darren Watson. Over the better part of three decades he has developed a style that, while touching on all of the greats who inspired him, is personal, powerful and identifiably his own.

Watson gained national fame in the 80s as the young front-man and guitar-slinger for Smokeshop. The band made two albums, had several radio hits, opened for numerous international blues legends and toured tirelessly, earning Watson a place alongside the likes of Midge Marsden, Hammond Gamble and Rick Bryant as one of New Zealand's best blues interpreters.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Darren Watson

Releases

Too Many Millionaires
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Introducing Darren Watson
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Saint Hilda's Faithless Boy
Year: 2010
Type: Album
South Pacific Soul
Year: 2005
Type: Album
King Size
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: The First Child @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 22/01/2021
24 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When I sent Mariner the review of their gig the previous week, singer Adam told me they were playing Ding Dong again on the Friday, so I thought to myself why not? So, for the second consecutive Friday I made my way into central Auckland to everyone’s favourite rock dive.
Read More...
Achilles Complex - Single Review: Vice
22 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Achilles Complex started life in Hamilton as a 3-piece power trio in 2019, releasing their debut single Shut It in September of that year, and are now back with their new song Vice having transformed themselves into a quartet of Harley Flynn (guitar, vocals), Jordan Carpenter (bass), Zak Cole (drums) and Reece Gielen (guitar, vocals). They describe themselves as a progressive rock band with roots in rock, funk, indie and metal while also exploring ambient textures such as synthwave, trap, pop and more.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 15/01/2021
16 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
After going back home to Canterbury for Christmas, it was back up to Auckland last weekend and looking forward to my first gig of the year. When I realised that Cafe Fistfight had organised a 4-band bill at the Ding Dong Lounge on the Friday then of course that was the only place to be.
Read More...
Colette Rivers - Album Review: Memory Lake
12 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Colette Rivers is an American-born, New-Zealand raised, self-proclaimed 'Kiwi', with a deep connection to the earth and sea and has named her album after "the bonny, bonny banks of Lake Taupo" where she moved when she was just 11 years old. Her roots are in folk and singer-songwriter, yet while the acoustic guitar is always very important to the sound, she is not averse to bringing in other electric instruments to create soundscapes which mean the songs are very different to each other.
Read More...
Grant Haua - Album Review: Awa Blues
12 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2020 saw me write more than 650 reviews of all manner of music, but the one song which for me really stood head and shoulders above the rest was This is the Place - Tenei Te Ao. It has a raw simplicity and passion which is hard to describe, yet is incredibly effective and grabs me each and every time I play it, and I still enjoy listening to it now as much as I did the very first time.
Read More...
Voodoo Bloo - Album Review: Jacobus
14 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Voodoo Bloo is the new project from ex-Lucifer Gunne frontman Rory McDonald who has decided to take his music in a new direction, and consequently has created a new entity, where for this album he recorded it all himself. Mind you, he hasn’t totally left his old band behind, as the opening song on the album was also the opening number on the last Lucifer Gunne EP, One Day You'll Be The Best Thing That's Ever Happened To Someone, but here Pigs On Antibiotics (Exploding Song) is far more dramatic with the song being way more edgy.
Read More...
Solo Ono - EP Review: Now We Know Who to Blame
14 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Wellington’s Solo Ono are currently operating as a trio, with guitarist/singer Frank Eggleton (Tidal Rave, Echo Beach, Kittentank) and drummer Jordan Stewart (Pleasant Surprise) now joined by bassist Birgit Bachler. It has been two years since their last EP Rogue Planet, which was released as a duo, and these three songs were all partially written that same year, being completed during the 2020 NZ lockdown.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Biggest Pub Gig In The World @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 11/12/2020
13 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
On Friday evening Spark Arena took us all back in time, to a period when many of the punters there that night were going out and having a blast. When I picked up my tickets, I was a little surprised to see they were General Admission, and then as we made our way inside, we had our wrists stamped (with a little guitar).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem