19 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Diggy Dupe - Album Review: That's Me, That's Team

24 Sep 2020 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Why is this considered underground, while American ear trash is this nation’s soundtrack? We’re so busy looking for an escape in a world that we aren’t a part of, that we neglect what is unique here at home.

Diggy Dupe’s new album That’s Me, That’s Team is different. It’s a celebration of what it is to be us, offering stories that are relatable and relevant to our life down here in Aotearoa, our melting pot of diverse cultures and heritage.

Diggy Dupe is speaking his truth. He’s showing us what it’s like for people like him in a country like ours. With that comes a vulnerability. It’s hard to have a voice in a world that divides, otherises, and pushes down individuals. Hard to show your soul, or your family in a world that is set on ripping you apart.

But this guy shows he has nothing to prove to anyone. The lyrics have an authenticity of someone speaking from the heart. From experience. From what they see. A realness. They’re the same things we would see if we’d stop hiding behind our phones. Our truths.

There is no flashing of heavy bling, fast cars, subservient women, or MTV Cribs level wealth the rest of the world associates with Hip-Hop culture. We’re about talent and community around here. We’re not awarded expensive trinkets in exchange for success down here in the ass-end of the Pacific. We work, gamble, or deal for our high-end consumer goods down here.

We don’t have the economy to sell our souls for international fame and fortune, even though the producers he’s worked with have help create an album with an international marketability. Sadly, we’re living in a world where culture is worth less than lamb exports, so our music holds less value on an international market. Where new shoes are worth more than sharing with those around us.

Don’t let capitalism get your down, Stephen. It might not buy you all the kicks you desire yet, but your music holds a greater value, and what you’re doing, being true to yourself, and your community, and your family and sharing your world view is worth more than money. Keep going.

Five stars out of five.

You can find That’s Me, That’s Team on Spotify, or see it live during Diggy Dupe’s October tour dates.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

That's Me, That's Team
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: NoMoreGaps
16 Mar 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
I sometimes wonder what would have happened if Kurt Cobain survived. Would he have kept making music and what would it sound like?
Read More...
You, Me, Everybody - Album Review: Southern Sky
16 Feb 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Deep within the matryoshka doll that is the country genre is a bluegrass doll in cosplay. Sitting on the fire escape of a rundown apartment building, dry buck wheat stem between its teeth, and a rock band shirt, progressive bluegrass is the genre that ran away from its home in the Appalachians and fell in with a different crowd.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground vol 1 - 3
27 Jan 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
It is an odd circumstance, to be in the position of reviewing reviews. Reviews are one person’s personal, subjective opinion.
Read More...
Scalper - Album Review: The Beast and The Beauty
20 Nov 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
I have reviewed more releases than I have patience to count. Many of the musicians I’ve heard have disappeared from my consciousness and the scene soon after, but there are a few that make such an impression that they stick with me.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
The Sixteenth - EP Review: The 16th EP
22 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When you work as a data quality analyst, you need something to unwind. I chose animation.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink
04 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world. Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.
Read More...
Torn Chorus - Single Review: Brave New World
14 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Lockdown was a true test of one’s fight-or-flight instinct, a show of one’s character. For some, it was an artist’s paradise.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem