28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Diggy Dupe - Album Review: That's Me, That's Team

24 Sep 2020 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Why is this considered underground, while American ear trash is this nation’s soundtrack? We’re so busy looking for an escape in a world that we aren’t a part of, that we neglect what is unique here at home.

Diggy Dupe’s new album That’s Me, That’s Team is different. It’s a celebration of what it is to be us, offering stories that are relatable and relevant to our life down here in Aotearoa, our melting pot of diverse cultures and heritage.

Diggy Dupe is speaking his truth. He’s showing us what it’s like for people like him in a country like ours. With that comes a vulnerability. It’s hard to have a voice in a world that divides, otherises, and pushes down individuals. Hard to show your soul, or your family in a world that is set on ripping you apart.

But this guy shows he has nothing to prove to anyone. The lyrics have an authenticity of someone speaking from the heart. From experience. From what they see. A realness. They’re the same things we would see if we’d stop hiding behind our phones. Our truths.

There is no flashing of heavy bling, fast cars, subservient women, or MTV Cribs level wealth the rest of the world associates with Hip-Hop culture. We’re about talent and community around here. We’re not awarded expensive trinkets in exchange for success down here in the ass-end of the Pacific. We work, gamble, or deal for our high-end consumer goods down here.

We don’t have the economy to sell our souls for international fame and fortune, even though the producers he’s worked with have help create an album with an international marketability. Sadly, we’re living in a world where culture is worth less than lamb exports, so our music holds less value on an international market. Where new shoes are worth more than sharing with those around us.

Don’t let capitalism get your down, Stephen. It might not buy you all the kicks you desire yet, but your music holds a greater value, and what you’re doing, being true to yourself, and your community, and your family and sharing your world view is worth more than money. Keep going.

Five stars out of five.

You can find That’s Me, That’s Team on Spotify, or see it live during Diggy Dupe’s October tour dates.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

That's Me, That's Team
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

The Treasury - EP Review: Shimmer / I'll Return From On The Sea
29 Oct 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I get a lot of pretty obscure releases thrown my way. For every Six60 single, there are fifty songs you will never hear, from artists you have never heard of.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Bite the Wax Tadpole
14 Sep 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
The Hopkinsville Goblins is always a challenging review. If you want it done right, you really need some hard-broiled journalist from a bygone era on the job, not some gumshoe with a grudge like me.
Read More...
Young Moon - EP Review: Paraverbal Orchids
06 Sep 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is this Japanese art form called Kintsugi – Golden Joinery – which is a method of mending cracks in broken pottery with gold. The idea is that the broken pieces are part of the object’s history, so are something to remember rather than something to hide.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: Locksmith
31 Aug 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
Across their body of work, Imposter Syndrome have been known for their blurring of the lines between sub-genres and laying waste to the traditional ideas of song structure. Well, that’s what they’re known for to me at least.
Read More...
Rhombus - Album Review: After Party
26 May 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I was wearing a New Zealand Music Month hoodie the other week. Upon seeing it, my niece gleefully exclaimed “You’ve got the year I was born on your hoodie.
Read More...
Fear Up Harsh - Album Review: Fear Up Harsh (II)
28 Mar 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is a rumour that, when played simultaneously, Fear Up Harsh (II) syncs perfectly with Jim Jarmusch’s The Limits of Control. The rumour is a lie of course, like many rumours are, but you’d be forgiven for believing it.
Read More...
Western Dip - Album Review: Warm Ups
08 Feb 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
It’s been over a decade since I thought “I might listen to some techno”. Probably longer since EDM was even called techno… And even then, the genre was never the main event.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Closer
08 Dec 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Here is yet another track that takes me back to the early-90;s. The days of our family following Vince Leatherby, the Happy Wanderer, around the Kiwi country music circuit.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem