31 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Diggy Dupe - Album Review: That's Me, That's Team

24 Sep 2020 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Why is this considered underground, while American ear trash is this nation’s soundtrack? We’re so busy looking for an escape in a world that we aren’t a part of, that we neglect what is unique here at home.

Diggy Dupe’s new album That’s Me, That’s Team is different. It’s a celebration of what it is to be us, offering stories that are relatable and relevant to our life down here in Aotearoa, our melting pot of diverse cultures and heritage.

Diggy Dupe is speaking his truth. He’s showing us what it’s like for people like him in a country like ours. With that comes a vulnerability. It’s hard to have a voice in a world that divides, otherises, and pushes down individuals. Hard to show your soul, or your family in a world that is set on ripping you apart.

But this guy shows he has nothing to prove to anyone. The lyrics have an authenticity of someone speaking from the heart. From experience. From what they see. A realness. They’re the same things we would see if we’d stop hiding behind our phones. Our truths.

There is no flashing of heavy bling, fast cars, subservient women, or MTV Cribs level wealth the rest of the world associates with Hip-Hop culture. We’re about talent and community around here. We’re not awarded expensive trinkets in exchange for success down here in the ass-end of the Pacific. We work, gamble, or deal for our high-end consumer goods down here.

We don’t have the economy to sell our souls for international fame and fortune, even though the producers he’s worked with have help create an album with an international marketability. Sadly, we’re living in a world where culture is worth less than lamb exports, so our music holds less value on an international market. Where new shoes are worth more than sharing with those around us.

Don’t let capitalism get your down, Stephen. It might not buy you all the kicks you desire yet, but your music holds a greater value, and what you’re doing, being true to yourself, and your community, and your family and sharing your world view is worth more than money. Keep going.

Five stars out of five.

You can find That’s Me, That’s Team on Spotify, or see it live during Diggy Dupe’s October tour dates.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Diggy Dupe.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
The Sixteenth - EP Review: The 16th EP
22 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When you work as a data quality analyst, you need something to unwind. I chose animation.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink
04 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world. Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.
Read More...
Torn Chorus - Single Review: Brave New World
14 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Lockdown was a true test of one’s fight-or-flight instinct, a show of one’s character. For some, it was an artist’s paradise.
Read More...
Michael Ferriss and Hedley Marks - Album Review: Interlude In The House Of Life
01 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When released, Ghosts I – IV was one of the more obscure Nine Inch Nails releases in an expansive discography. Instrumental and cinematic, lacking the abrasive angst and grit of all that came before, it felt out of step compared to their previous releases.
Read More...
Needless Cane - Album Review: The Red Masquerade
16 Apr 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Fan fiction.
Read More...
Horror Story - Album Review: Return of the Strange
29 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Following 20 years of providing an essential service to the New Zealand Punk scene, Horror Story are back with fresh fruit for rotting ear holes. Return of the Strange is another hard, fast, and heavy zombie-stomp into the Horror Punk genre.
Read More...
Wendyhouse - Album Review: Born To Be Alive and Killed By Death
01 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
For my next trick, I will be approaching Wendyhouse's album and zine, Born to be Alive and Killed by Death. To me, this is a novel concept.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem