4 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lakius - Single Review: This Tension

18 Sep 2020 // A review by Kerry Monaghan
Deemed as New Zealand’s 4th best industrial/groove-metal duo, Auckland’s Lakius kept busy during our lockdown periods creating and had recently released another single titled, This Tension.


With a stunning video to accompany it, This Tension is an assault of noise that leaves all your senses on alert. Its driving, grinding riffs followed by relentless double kicks and vocalist/guitarist’s Tony Charles perfect vocal style that consists of melody and guttural emphasis fits like a glove.

Clocking in at just over three minutes, This Tension sums up our vulnerability in a time of uncertainty and chaos of the world and in our own backyard.

And when it’s safe for live music to resume once again, you best believe this single will melt faces.

I can’t wait.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Lakius

Lakius is an Auckland based 2 piece metal band.
Formed by Broken Season founder Tony Charles (guitars,vocals),
and newcomer Caz (bass), Lakius solidified their line-up in late 2018.

Lakius combines Tony's honest, and uncompromising lyrics, and Caz's 4 and 7 string terrorism.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lakius

Releases

There are no releases to display for Lakius.

Other Reviews By Kerry Monaghan

Radius Kink - Album Review: Orange Room
24 Nov 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Radius Kink have been around for a while now with a few releases up their sleeve, so it’s hard to believe this ‘new’ release of theirs is actually ten years old. The five piece hailing from Christchurch is made up of father and daughter, Dawn Hendriske (vocals, guitar) Gary Hendriske (vocals, bass), a next door neighbour and couple of mates (in no particular order) Gordon Goodinson (vocals, guitar) and Simon Gemmill (drums, keyboard, guitar).
Read More...
Solo Ono - Single Review: Domesticated
13 Oct 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Solo Ono are one of those bands that has been kicking about since 2011, yet still feel like a hidden secret. Over the years they have released singles, a full-length self-titled album and a handful of EP’s.
Read More...
TOOMS - Single Review: Dead Birds
04 Aug 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
TOOMS is possible the most unique two piece I have recently had the pleasure of reviewing. With a nebulous genre that seems to fit where things aren’t supposed to fit, I like it a lot and so should you.
Read More...
Lakius - Single/Video Review: Here We Are Still
05 Jul 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Post-Industrial Metal duo Lakius have another explosive single, this time directly in reference to our country’s marijuana legislation falling short by a 2% margin last year.Here We Are Still is another assault to the senses.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Moving Pictures
23 May 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
If the name of Swerve City sounds familiar to you, you’re probably right in thinking that yes, it is in fact borrowed from a Deftones song. You might also recognize some of the line-up of Swerve City that were formally of/currently in bands like Fire at Will, Saints of Taboo and Armed in Advance (or for those that can remember way back, AKA, Stitches) Having just had the pleasure of reviewing Swerve City’s recent third single, Moving Pictures, I can tell listeners are in for a treat, especially if you’re a fan of alternative rock, metal undertones and pop sensibilities.
Read More...
East York - Single Review: Damned Anthem
29 Mar 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
East York are back with their third single, Damned Anthem. With two singles firmly under belt, East York continue to go from strength to strength with their creativity and musicality.
Read More...
Scorn Of Creation - Album Review: Annihilation Cult
11 Mar 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Following the success of their debut album released in 2018, Scorn of Creation are back with another explosive piece of their unforgettable doom death metal with an edge, Annihilation Cult. With ten tracks full of creativity, guttural screams and intensity there is no mistaking the high energy chaos that descends upon your ears and sends you into oblivion.
Read More...
Etheran - EP Review: Doppelganger
26 Jan 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Etheran is a funky metal rock hybrid hailing from Christchurch. Formed in 2016, they officially started touring in 2018 and this is their first EP, released at the beginning of the month.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kerry Monaghan

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem