22 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom

14 Sep 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.

The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied. It almost sounds as if it were recorded live which would be an awesome thing to find out that it was. It has an undeniable fun quality to it that is on show all over the place. From its catchy opening, its fun verses and epic ending, I can completely envision this track being an absolute hit live, which is why I believe it sounds the way it does. It truly captures that fun.

The musicianship is tight with some notable guitar and vocal work paired also with a super tight rhythm section. You can hear a lot of different influences that are interwoven into The RVMES sound. With Big Bam Boom also being the name of a Hall and Oates album, I wonder how much that album influenced this song.

You better listen and find out!

A top track from an absolutely awesome band with a lot of energy. Cannot be missed! Look out for them live or catch them on their From The Hip performance on YouTube!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The RVMES

The RVMES (say it with us 'The Rooms' nice!) is a freshly formed band to the New Zealand scene and are reaching out as far as their little fingertips will reach to pluck the ripe apple of music and share it with everybody they can in New Zealand, and of course, beyond.

Taking everything into consideration from Psychedelic Blues, Gypsy Jazz, Rock'n'roll, Reggae, Soul and many more flavours, they weave together their songs with ultimate freedom and feel.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The RVMES

Releases

Lifetime
Year: 2021
Type: Album
The RVMES
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Y$O - Single Review: Cotton Candy
16 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Tracks like this deserve a good amount of attention. It's funky, groovy and makes you feel good.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: M.I.A
23 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Combining the forces of artists Sam V, Aidan Fine, JARNA, Brokeboi Ace and producers EDY, CreationKit & M4, Young & $lept On (Y$O) is New Zealand's newest supergroup. This stable of talent is set to disrupt airwaves and social media with their eclectic sense of style, talent and vision - demonstrated by the group's first release M.
Read More...
Ryan Farrell - Single Review: Teenage Dreamer
22 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I love it when these sorts of things happen. At just 18, the new track Teenage Dreamer from Ryan Farrell is another example of a young artist who had a vision for their sound and delivers on it.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin
29 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.
Read More...
Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
Album Review: Hawkins
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yep. I knew that voice immediately.
Read More...
Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem