5 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold

10 Sep 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists. Meanwhile, Hip-Hop is still thriving because groups like Dub Boys keep it real and fresh style while still maintaining elements from its roots that made it so successful.

With this EP, you will hear great beats that ebb and flow with jazz, even some slight dub features in the first track. What I really enjoyed from this whole EP was the vocal delivery and the calmness, ease of flow and just general style. This is an EP I will be saving and adding to my collection simply because it's that good.

Every track is a stand out here. The back and forth between each member, the bats, use of ambient noise to set scenes is very clever. It's a well thought out production, which in my mind, deserves a lot of attention.

Excellent work and one of the best I have heard in a long time.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Dub Boys

The Dub Boys have just released a new EP called Fortune Favours The Bold, with four diverse songs ranging from our club banger Hydro to our laid back head nodder Beats & Liquor. Their music caters to both old and new hip hop heads, flaunting sleek flows and nimble world play combined with infectious and harmonious beats.

After already performing two buzzing shows at Neck of The Woods in Auckland, they are looking to keep the momentum flowing and are optimistic about their future in New Zealand's hip-hop scene.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dub Boys

Releases

Fortune Favours The Bold
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
Fire For Glory - EP Review: Life Of The Party
16 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yeah, bro. Get that punk-pop/rock vibe.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: I'm Not Giving The Game Away
10 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ah. That's refreshing.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Sink Like Stones
05 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Right now, across New Zealand, there is a storm that keeps getting bigger and stronger. That storm is made up of an incredible group of artists and bands who are working to get more exposure to and notice from what I would call 'the mainstream'.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Don't Trip
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Don't Trip is the latest track from Dilz, and slick production with a catchy chorus kicks this song off.  In what I would classify as pop-rap (this isn't a negative), it captivates the audience with a catchy hook.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: One Way Road
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean's new track One Way Road is a stunner. The way the beat starts with backwards loops and trap style beats that have a hip-hip feel all work well.
Read More...
Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem