4 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold

10 Sep 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists. Meanwhile, Hip-Hop is still thriving because groups like Dub Boys keep it real and fresh style while still maintaining elements from its roots that made it so successful.

With this EP, you will hear great beats that ebb and flow with jazz, even some slight dub features in the first track. What I really enjoyed from this whole EP was the vocal delivery and the calmness, ease of flow and just general style. This is an EP I will be saving and adding to my collection simply because it's that good.

Every track is a stand out here. The back and forth between each member, the bats, use of ambient noise to set scenes is very clever. It's a well thought out production, which in my mind, deserves a lot of attention.

Excellent work and one of the best I have heard in a long time.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Dub Boys

The Dub Boys have just released a new EP called Fortune Favours The Bold, with four diverse songs ranging from our club banger Hydro to our laid back head nodder Beats & Liquor. Their music caters to both old and new hip hop heads, flaunting sleek flows and nimble world play combined with infectious and harmonious beats.

After already performing two buzzing shows at Neck of The Woods in Auckland, they are looking to keep the momentum flowing and are optimistic about their future in New Zealand's hip-hop scene.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dub Boys

Releases

Fortune Favours The Bold
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Dilz - Single Review: Resurrection Feat. He Ra
22 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz is real. He is authentic.
Read More...
Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King
21 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Ride The Wave Feat. Valle
26 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I’m a big fan of Hip-Hop - I teach it at school to my students. Hip-Hop is about being real and it has an honest vibe to it.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: Cotton Candy
16 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Tracks like this deserve a good amount of attention. It's funky, groovy and makes you feel good.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: M.I.A
23 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Combining the forces of artists Sam V, Aidan Fine, JARNA, Brokeboi Ace and producers EDY, CreationKit & M4, Young & $lept On (Y$O) is New Zealand's newest supergroup. This stable of talent is set to disrupt airwaves and social media with their eclectic sense of style, talent and vision - demonstrated by the group's first release M.
Read More...
Ryan Farrell - Single Review: Teenage Dreamer
22 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I love it when these sorts of things happen. At just 18, the new track Teenage Dreamer from Ryan Farrell is another example of a young artist who had a vision for their sound and delivers on it.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin
29 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.
Read More...
Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem