26 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Julie Lamb - Album Review: How Humans Think

04 Sep 2020 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

The first thing I noticed when I was blessed with a physical copy of Julie Lamb Outfit’s brand new eight track album How Humans Think, was the outstanding amount of work and love which has gone into the packaging of the CD. It is a creative thing of beauty to which I will elaborate further on. The funky Wellington based eight-piece ensemble are a collection of some of the capitals best musicians and they currently have four albums under their belt.

The best way to describe the musical style of the outfit is, funky pop with multiple layers of blues and jazz. Glorious vocals and an energetic horn section add to the lush well-rounded sound. Tied together with an infectious, witty sense of humour and obvious respect and Camaraderie between band mates.

How Humans Think is an original compilation of well written lyrics and tight production. A clean cohesive, yet rich sound radiates forth with masses of warmth. This is an album with a touch of sass and a sunny disposition.

In an album full of the wonderful and sublime, I wish to make mention of tracks one: Born With The Blues, four: Let Go and six: This Time I Won, each penned by Shan Jordan who also happens to have a superb ethereal quality to her vocals.

With many of the songs written and all but three of the tracks arranged by the entire Julie Lamb Outfit, this is yet another epic collaboration from the band. A scrumptious full sound surrounded by smooth, velvety vocals bound together by some of Wellingtons most outstanding conveyors of funky-jazzy musical brilliance.

Before I move on to the afore mentioned beauty of the CD packaging, I need to say that the ‘Band Mum’ Julie Lamb (as always), has done a magnificent job pulling everything together on this album. Right down to the Secret Squirrel Press Kit, which was appreciated greatly.

Even though I had the digital link to How Humans Think, receiving the physical CD made me smile. They may no longer be necessary, but the warm fuzzy feeling I get when presented with an actual tangible thing is priceless. The presentation and consideration that went into packaging of this CD is among the best I have seen. Design concepts by the band have been bought to life by artist Debe Mansfield, Lyric cards for each track with full lyrics are a joy to behold. However, the piece de resistance is the surprise of the glorious pop out when you open the case fully.

The packaging may be unassuming from the outside, yet the magic lies within. In more ways than one.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Julie Lamb

Kick-Arse Funky Pop: Lose yourself between the stories and the groove.

The Julie Lamb Outfit is an 8 piece band throwing down bluesy soul-infused kick-arse funky pop originals. You’ll lose yourself somewhere between the stories and the grooves and find a high energy, smile-a-minute, infectious vibe.

Julie Lamb is all class, more sass and hysterical "funnerisms" wrapped in one feisty package. Hailing from Wellington, she is by occupation an accountant by pre-occupation a musician... performing has always been her outlet for expression, a way to connect with others on the same wavelength. But it is the original material that brings this driven diva to life. Julie painstakingly crafts each arrangement and surrounds herself with musicians who have the expertise to color the final form.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Julie Lamb

Releases

Ordinary Days
Year: 2017
Type: Album
When We Hang Out
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Trippin' The Light
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Most and Least
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Seralynne - Album Review: What Love Is
21 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based singer-songwriter Seralynne has just released a sleek new nine-track album What Love Is. This is a surprisingly heartfelt and mature mix of haunting yet beautifully written pop ballads.
Read More...
Researchintospeed - Single Review: Anode
15 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Papaioea’s own proponent of live electronic dance music Researchintospeed has just dropped a new track and accompanying video, Anode. As part of the stand-alone electronic work of Craig Black, Anode was added to his expanding electro catalog over lock down.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: Boomers In Disguise
10 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Cantabrian, disillusioned architect and sausage roll enthusiast Harry Platt who goes under the pseudonym Hazza Making Noise, has just released a new single called Boomers In Disguise. Cross a football chant with a rock opera and inject it with punk-rave then you will have a fair idea about the unique concept which Harry describes as having "an early Arctic Monkeys – Brianstormesque nature to it".
Read More...
Mirrors - Single Review: Got This Feeling
09 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally starting out as a covers band in 2017, Christchurch based acoustic pop duo Mirrors expanded their repertoire this year during lockdown, taking the opportunity to write and record seven original songs in their home studio. Got This Feeling is their catchy brand-new second single release.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Album Review: #Second Selfie
31 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
In true Darryl Baser fashion, his latest album has taken a few years to develop. Following on from his 2016 LP Raw Selfie, the album #Second Selfie has taken flight, once again from his Dunedin based living room.
Read More...
EJ Barrett - Single Review: Paint Me A Picture
06 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
It didn’t take me long to warm to EJ Barrett and her sultry, husky vocals. The New Zealand musical artist based in New Plymouth has taken flight with the debut single Paint Me A Picture.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Single/Video Review: Pipz
05 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Something Zesty is a Whanganui based musical artist who captured my attention first by the bold claim that the latest offering is "an unmistakable dance-floor hit" and secondly by the vibrant and appropriately spaced out animated video which turned out to be the perfect accompaniment to his latest release; Pipz. The music video is the second animated adventure for two curious looking characters, Chambzy and Zestro, following on from Something Zesty’s first single Mad About It.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - EP Review: Cider
30 Jul 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Napier’s young singer-songwriter Danica Bryant showcases powerful vocals on her debut 4 track EP, Cider. Currently based in Wellington, this is one lady who is not afraid to express herself through strong powerful lyrics and fierce emotion, and boy…does she have the lungs to pull it off.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem