30 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Julie Lamb - Album Review: How Humans Think

04 Sep 2020 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

The first thing I noticed when I was blessed with a physical copy of Julie Lamb Outfit’s brand new eight track album How Humans Think, was the outstanding amount of work and love which has gone into the packaging of the CD. It is a creative thing of beauty to which I will elaborate further on. The funky Wellington based eight-piece ensemble are a collection of some of the capitals best musicians and they currently have four albums under their belt.

The best way to describe the musical style of the outfit is, funky pop with multiple layers of blues and jazz. Glorious vocals and an energetic horn section add to the lush well-rounded sound. Tied together with an infectious, witty sense of humour and obvious respect and Camaraderie between band mates.

How Humans Think is an original compilation of well written lyrics and tight production. A clean cohesive, yet rich sound radiates forth with masses of warmth. This is an album with a touch of sass and a sunny disposition.

In an album full of the wonderful and sublime, I wish to make mention of tracks one: Born With The Blues, four: Let Go and six: This Time I Won, each penned by Shan Jordan who also happens to have a superb ethereal quality to her vocals.

With many of the songs written and all but three of the tracks arranged by the entire Julie Lamb Outfit, this is yet another epic collaboration from the band. A scrumptious full sound surrounded by smooth, velvety vocals bound together by some of Wellingtons most outstanding conveyors of funky-jazzy musical brilliance.

Before I move on to the afore mentioned beauty of the CD packaging, I need to say that the ‘Band Mum’ Julie Lamb (as always), has done a magnificent job pulling everything together on this album. Right down to the Secret Squirrel Press Kit, which was appreciated greatly.

Even though I had the digital link to How Humans Think, receiving the physical CD made me smile. They may no longer be necessary, but the warm fuzzy feeling I get when presented with an actual tangible thing is priceless. The presentation and consideration that went into packaging of this CD is among the best I have seen. Design concepts by the band have been bought to life by artist Debe Mansfield, Lyric cards for each track with full lyrics are a joy to behold. However, the piece de resistance is the surprise of the glorious pop out when you open the case fully.

The packaging may be unassuming from the outside, yet the magic lies within. In more ways than one.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Julie Lamb

KICK-ARSE FUNKY POP: Get lost between the stories and the groove

"Anyone who has seen the Wellington-based Julie Lamb Outfit live, knows they are as tightly woven as that machine knitted jumper your mum made for you in the 70s - and keep you feeling just as warm." CLAIRE SYMONDS, FREELANCE JOURNALIST

The Julie Lamb Outfit is an 8 piece collaborative music family coaxing kick-arse funky pop music into the multiverse. Get lost between the stories and the groove and find yourself in a high energy smile-a-minute space.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Julie Lamb

Releases

How Humans Think
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Ordinary Days
Year: 2017
Type: Album
When We Hang Out
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Trippin' The Light
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Most and Least
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Compilation Review: Blood And Wires Volume Two
20 Jul 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Independent record label Tauranga based Blood And Wires have released Volume Two, the second instalment in a series of original electronic and experimental tracks which takes the listener on a journey through distorted synths through to serene ambient instrumentation. Blood And Wires Volume Two combines the talent of 8 talented New Zealand artists united by the idea of an experimental approach to creating music.
Read More...
Aanvi . S - Single Review: Music Is My Religion
22 Jun 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aanvi S is possibly New Zealand’s youngest singer / songwriter, who at just nine has released her debut single Music Is My Religion. Encouragement from her family and friends has seen her blossom into a prolific songwriter inspired by her poetry.
Read More...
EP Review: TOI
17 Jun 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Award winning seven-piece Wellington band TOI (Tunes of I), are releasing their highly anticipated self-titled EP. Accompanying the release is a four date nationwide tour of Wellington, Christchurch, Auckland and Raglan.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Tyre Tracks (In The Sky) – Acoustic Version
11 May 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative rock band from Dunedin, Saurian (meaning “lizard-like”), have recently re-released a new single of an old favourite, Tyre Tracks (In The Sky) as an acoustic version. Removing the loud distorted guitars, drums and big vocals, resulting in a restrained sound consisting of acoustic guitar, strings, percussion and softer vocals.
Read More...
Metrosideros - EP Review: Var.
30 Apr 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
From the south coast of Wellington, Metrosideros' Matt Dalzell and Ellie Rose have created somewhat of a cool and funky trip hop sound with swirling’s of dub and journeys into backbeats. Their latest EP, Var.
Read More...
Eden Iris - Album Review: The Fuchsia & The Grey
07 Apr 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
LA based New Zealand musical artist Eden Iris has just released her debut album The Fuchsia &The Grey; an evocative eleven track album of beautifully crafted indie-folk songs, which "showcases the evolution of an artist who is highly dedicated to her craft". Eden has been growing her fanbase with a steady release of singles in between major projects, ever since moving to Los Angeles when she was nineteen.
Read More...
wells* - EP Review: Tape 3
24 Mar 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based singer, song writer and producer Wells* (Josh Naley) has just released the latest and final instalment in a three part series of mini EPs. Tape 3 concludes his unique personal project.
Read More...
SHAYNA - Single Review: Alchemy Feat. Rei
26 Feb 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch singer-songwriter SHAYNA has teamed up with Wellingtonian hip-hop artist Rei to create a slick new single Alchemy. Described as "Pop & RnB hooks over a progressive bass line & glittery high-level production", this is a track which flows seamlessly.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem