25 Feb 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grant Haua - Single Review: This Is The Place

03 Sep 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland
Grant Haua is probably best known for being half of the two-man blues roots band Swamp Thing, but in January 2019 he made the decision to leave the band after 9 years, countless tours and numerous acclaimed albums. He locked himself away with producer and engineer Tim Julian from Colour Field Studios for several months, with the end result being the album Awa Blues. But I am getting rather ahead of myself as that will not be available until the beginning of 2021, and what I am listening to is the debut single from that album, This Is The Place.


I have been reviewing music for more than 30 years and have estimated that during that time I have written more than two million words. When asked what makes me keep doing this week after week, month after month, my answer is always the same “there is so much great music out there if people are just prepared to look”. I have always felt that if I can play some small part in acting as a conduit then I need to do just that, and there are also times when I come across something which makes everything totally worthwhile and fulfilling. This is one of those times.

This is one man’s story, his connection to his family, to those who have gone before, to the land and where he lives. From the first seconds of acoustic guitar and the waiata I was absolutely hooked, and by the end of the song I felt transformed. I have been playing it for the last few days, but in preparation for this I played it back to back more than a dozen times, and it pulls at my heart each and every time. Although there is a band in the background they stay just there, apart from electric guitarist Fred Chapellier who provides the perfect solo and later harmonies: this is all about the words and Grant’s acoustic guitar. The vocals are wonderful, with a great combination of rough edge blues and smooth soul, and amazingly this was the first take! During that session Grant apparently kept getting flashbacks of his mother, father, children, old friends etc, and one can hear it in his voice as he is keeping it together, but the emotion is palpable. It is incredibly personal, so much so that in the superb video we see Grant with his children, his marae, and even his mother’s grave.

When this single was released a few weeks ago it went straight into the NZ blues chart at #1, and while I normally do not even look at charts as the “music” they contain is often factory produced pap, this is the real deal and being at that position is the only one which makes sense to me. If we think of much modern music having the soul and heart of a piece of plastic, this is rich Kauri heartwood with a depth and link to the land.

When asked about the forthcoming album, Grant said “I want the listeners to feel like they're guests in my home and like the songs, my home is pretty simple but it's warm, cozy and friendly. You don't have to take your shoes off when you come in and you just help yourself to anything. The kettles just boiled or there's a cold beer in the fridge. There's my Nan's world-famous stew on the stove top and fresh baked bread in the oven. So welcome. This is my place. Kia ora koutou.”

The only reason I am giving this single 5 *’s is because that is the site limit, but I so wish I could give it more. To me this is the finest song I have heard in a very, very long time.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Grant Haua

Grant Haua
Foreword:

Grant is a “salt of the earth” kind of guy. When we put together a bio for him he said “Nah man. I am a just a guy with a guitar. You need to tell the story straight”. So who better than to tell his story than the man himself - the following is Grants bio, straight from the horse’s mouth. - DF Records

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grant Haua

Releases

There are no releases to display for Grant Haua.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Cafe Fistfight - Single Review: Pocket Change
16 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Cafe Fistfight describe themselves as New Zealand's premiere Acoustic-driven Progressive Rock band, with their music fitting in somewhere between John Mayer/Six60 and Incubus/Tool. To be honest, that is probably as good a description as any, but before someone expects to see the latest Yes, Genesis or Pink Floyd clone, be aware that when they describe themselves as progressive, they mean it in the true sense of the word, in that they are blending and mixing  genres and pushing the music in unusual directions.
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Interpretation
05 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled. Instead of just being a studio project, multi-instrumentalist Ben Ruegg was convinced to turn it into a full operational live band which quickly gelled into an incredibly tight unit which grew with experience and confidence each time they gigged.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Planet B
04 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is the ninth album from David, and while he wrote all the songs, he was assisted in the performances by his son Joseph, and between them we get plenty of keyboards, electronic drums, acoustic, bass, Stratocaster, harmonica and vocals. The result is something that does not really sound like a multi-instrumentalist performance, but rather a band, and even before putting it on I had to smile as while the CD booklet itself is low key, I cannot remember before seeing a track listing for Side A and Side B for a CD, plus the album is less than 45 minutes long so it really is harkening back to the 70’s.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dragon @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 3/02/21
04 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When The Biggest Pub Gig In The World took place at the end of last year, I truly felt there was a band missing from the bill who would have made the line-up complete, Dragon. Not only are they an  iconic New Zealand band, with countless hit singles and songs to their name, but they have been a solid gigging unit since their rebirth around bassist Todd Hunter in 2006.
Read More...
Festival Review: Auckland Folk Festival 2021 - 31/01/2021
02 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The final day of the Auckland Folk Festival 2021 started up, and I headed over in time to catch Being. at Midday.
Read More...
Festival Review: Auckland Folk Festival 2021 - 30/01/2021
01 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The last folk festival I went to prior to this one was when I flew to the other side of the world, attending Fairport Convention’s 50th Anniversary Cropredy Festival in 2017, but for some reason I had never been just down the road to Kumeu to attend the Auckland Folk Festival, which has been running for a great many years. However, based on this weekend’s experience, I know I will be back.
Read More...
WHITE NØISE MAFIA - Gig Review: White Noise Mafia @ The Thirsty, Auckland - 28/01/2021
29 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
So, it was back to The Thirsty, who are starting to put on more metal gigs, and if they are all like this one then I am sure they are going to be deemed to be a raging success. Tonight, it was a three-band bill and a sensible finishing time, which made something of a pleasant change, especially as many of us would be working on the Friday.
Read More...
Gig Review: The First Child @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 22/01/2021
24 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When I sent Mariner the review of their gig the previous week, singer Adam told me they were playing Ding Dong again on the Friday, so I thought to myself why not? So, for the second consecutive Friday I made my way into central Auckland to everyone’s favourite rock dive.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem