27 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grant Haua - Single Review: This Is The Place

03 Sep 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland
Grant Haua is probably best known for being half of the two-man blues roots band Swamp Thing, but in January 2019 he made the decision to leave the band after 9 years, countless tours and numerous acclaimed albums. He locked himself away with producer and engineer Tim Julian from Colour Field Studios for several months, with the end result being the album Awa Blues. But I am getting rather ahead of myself as that will not be available until the beginning of 2021, and what I am listening to is the debut single from that album, This Is The Place.


I have been reviewing music for more than 30 years and have estimated that during that time I have written more than two million words. When asked what makes me keep doing this week after week, month after month, my answer is always the same “there is so much great music out there if people are just prepared to look”. I have always felt that if I can play some small part in acting as a conduit then I need to do just that, and there are also times when I come across something which makes everything totally worthwhile and fulfilling. This is one of those times.

This is one man’s story, his connection to his family, to those who have gone before, to the land and where he lives. From the first seconds of acoustic guitar and the waiata I was absolutely hooked, and by the end of the song I felt transformed. I have been playing it for the last few days, but in preparation for this I played it back to back more than a dozen times, and it pulls at my heart each and every time. Although there is a band in the background they stay just there, apart from electric guitarist Fred Chapellier who provides the perfect solo and later harmonies: this is all about the words and Grant’s acoustic guitar. The vocals are wonderful, with a great combination of rough edge blues and smooth soul, and amazingly this was the first take! During that session Grant apparently kept getting flashbacks of his mother, father, children, old friends etc, and one can hear it in his voice as he is keeping it together, but the emotion is palpable. It is incredibly personal, so much so that in the superb video we see Grant with his children, his marae, and even his mother’s grave.

When this single was released a few weeks ago it went straight into the NZ blues chart at #1, and while I normally do not even look at charts as the “music” they contain is often factory produced pap, this is the real deal and being at that position is the only one which makes sense to me. If we think of much modern music having the soul and heart of a piece of plastic, this is rich Kauri heartwood with a depth and link to the land.

When asked about the forthcoming album, Grant said “I want the listeners to feel like they're guests in my home and like the songs, my home is pretty simple but it's warm, cozy and friendly. You don't have to take your shoes off when you come in and you just help yourself to anything. The kettles just boiled or there's a cold beer in the fridge. There's my Nan's world-famous stew on the stove top and fresh baked bread in the oven. So welcome. This is my place. Kia ora koutou.”

The only reason I am giving this single 5 *’s is because that is the site limit, but I so wish I could give it more. To me this is the finest song I have heard in a very, very long time.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Grant Haua

Grant Haua
Foreword:

Grant is a “salt of the earth” kind of guy. When we put together a bio for him he said “Nah man. I am a just a guy with a guitar. You need to tell the story straight”. So who better than to tell his story than the man himself - the following is Grants bio, straight from the horse’s mouth. - DF Records

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grant Haua

Releases

There are no releases to display for Grant Haua.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Plum Green - Album Review: Somnambulist
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Born in a squat in England, raised in New Zealand, and presently residing in Melbourne, here we have the latest release from dream folk artist Plum Green. I have not previously come across any of her other albums, but somehow, I can see I need to undertake some investigations as this is a very special album indeed.
Read More...
Diehards of Deep Dish - Album Review: Traditional Speciality Guaranteed
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is a long history of band members using pseudonyms, with Ramones probably being the most famous, and here we have a band who use pseudonyms for their pseudonyms, so we have Cheese (Joey Provolone), Tomato (Ryley Base), Wheat (Beef Richards), Mushrooms (Mattzarella Gibson) and Herbs (Herbie Handcooked). I thought Cafe Fistfight had probably taken the foodie elements to the extreme with songs such as King Hit Quiche, but here we have six songs all aimed at the pizza lovers among us.
Read More...
Power The Light - Single Review: Snowing
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Power The Light is Max Roskilly, an 18-year-old musician who is based in Auckland , and has been self-releasing music for the last four years already, including the album Blueprints a while back. This is his second single in recent months, following on from Skys where he showed an interest more in krautrock than in is normal indie-jazz style.
Read More...
Single Review: Glass Throne
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Glass Throne are an Auckland-based power trio comprising Justin Robinson (lead vocals, bass, guitar), Owen McKibbin (guitar, organ, backing vocals) and Daniel Cutfield (drums, percussion, backing vocals). I have managed to catch them play live a few times over the last year, and what always strikes me is just how different they are to the rest of the local scene, coming through as a mix of classic Seventies hard rock, progressive and modern alt rock.
Read More...
On Tick - Single Review: Nothing New
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick is the brainchild of brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), and was formed from the ashes of their previous musical outfit, Evil Tomato, who began as a band in 2012. They came across 5-string bassist Matt Hammond when they heard the demoes for Black Sands, which he not only produced but played on, and he joined forces to work with them on the album and to allow them to play in the Ding Dong Battle of the Bands.
Read More...
Ravenhall - EP Review: The Coming Storm
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ravenhall were formed by guitarist Joe Ravenhall and singer Chris Brebner in 2015. They were both already veterans of the Auckland scene, and wanted to perform music which concentrated on the power of acoustic guitar, wonderful vocals, plus some gentle electronic backing, and that is certainly what we have here.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem