6 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grant Haua - Single Review: This Is The Place

03 Sep 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland
Grant Haua is probably best known for being half of the two-man blues roots band Swamp Thing, but in January 2019 he made the decision to leave the band after 9 years, countless tours and numerous acclaimed albums. He locked himself away with producer and engineer Tim Julian from Colour Field Studios for several months, with the end result being the album Awa Blues. But I am getting rather ahead of myself as that will not be available until the beginning of 2021, and what I am listening to is the debut single from that album, This Is The Place.


I have been reviewing music for more than 30 years and have estimated that during that time I have written more than two million words. When asked what makes me keep doing this week after week, month after month, my answer is always the same “there is so much great music out there if people are just prepared to look”. I have always felt that if I can play some small part in acting as a conduit then I need to do just that, and there are also times when I come across something which makes everything totally worthwhile and fulfilling. This is one of those times.

This is one man’s story, his connection to his family, to those who have gone before, to the land and where he lives. From the first seconds of acoustic guitar and the waiata I was absolutely hooked, and by the end of the song I felt transformed. I have been playing it for the last few days, but in preparation for this I played it back to back more than a dozen times, and it pulls at my heart each and every time. Although there is a band in the background they stay just there, apart from electric guitarist Fred Chapellier who provides the perfect solo and later harmonies: this is all about the words and Grant’s acoustic guitar. The vocals are wonderful, with a great combination of rough edge blues and smooth soul, and amazingly this was the first take! During that session Grant apparently kept getting flashbacks of his mother, father, children, old friends etc, and one can hear it in his voice as he is keeping it together, but the emotion is palpable. It is incredibly personal, so much so that in the superb video we see Grant with his children, his marae, and even his mother’s grave.

When this single was released a few weeks ago it went straight into the NZ blues chart at #1, and while I normally do not even look at charts as the “music” they contain is often factory produced pap, this is the real deal and being at that position is the only one which makes sense to me. If we think of much modern music having the soul and heart of a piece of plastic, this is rich Kauri heartwood with a depth and link to the land.

When asked about the forthcoming album, Grant said “I want the listeners to feel like they're guests in my home and like the songs, my home is pretty simple but it's warm, cozy and friendly. You don't have to take your shoes off when you come in and you just help yourself to anything. The kettles just boiled or there's a cold beer in the fridge. There's my Nan's world-famous stew on the stove top and fresh baked bread in the oven. So welcome. This is my place. Kia ora koutou.”

The only reason I am giving this single 5 *’s is because that is the site limit, but I so wish I could give it more. To me this is the finest song I have heard in a very, very long time.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Grant Haua

Grant Haua
Foreword:

Grant is a “salt of the earth” kind of guy. When we put together a bio for him he said “Nah man. I am a just a guy with a guitar. You need to tell the story straight”. So who better than to tell his story than the man himself - the following is Grants bio, straight from the horse’s mouth. - DF Records

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grant Haua

Releases

There are no releases to display for Grant Haua.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Finalists - Album Review: First
03 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
The Finalists may be currently based in Sydney, but ¾ of the guys are actually from prominent Auckland bands with guitarist Robert Young (Semi Lemon Kola), bassist Chris Familton (Fontanelle, Thorazine Shuffle) and drummer Matt Brown (Shaft, {SLK)) joining forces with singer/guitarist and songwriter Mark Tobin (Scarlet, Panic Syndrome, The Black Halo). The coming together of these musicians has resulted in jangly guitar-based indie rock, with elements of psychedelia, power pop, shoegaze and post-punk.
Read More...
Max Earnshaw - Single Review: Love It When You Hate Me
03 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Love It When You Hate Me is the latest single from young Auckland singer Max Earnshaw, who has already received from recognition and radio airplay for his last release, Lonely Love. What we have this time around is a pop/rock number which is incredibly infectious and annoyingly catchy.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - Single Review: King Hit Quiche
03 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
For anyone who has yet to catch these guys in concert, they are probably best summed up by how they describe their debut single, "An oven baked heavy hitter packed full of protein and sprinkled with cheese." Here we have a band who refuse to take themselves or their music too seriously, yet are producing incredibly complex arrangements, and are a stunning live act.
Read More...
Stealphish - Single Review: Procidens
28 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
I was chatting with the guys from Cafe Fistfight before their recent gig at Ding Dong, when guitarist Josh Barker asked if I would be interested in his brand-new solo release, and I was definitely intrigued. Apart from classical pianist Caitlyn Abbot, and some assistance from Dan Barker who assisted in programming the hi hat rolls at the start and some of the fills, everything on this instrumental release is by Josh.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Today was set to be the launch party for the second album by Channeled, I Heard Penelope Sing, but unfortunately singer and songwriter Ben Ruegg was rushed into hospital on Tuesday, only being allowed home on the Friday itself. The thoughts of everyone at Muzic.
Read More...
The Solomon Cole Band - Single Review: Lucifer's Rising
26 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
The Solomon Cole Band comprise Solomon (vocals, guitar), Fonnie Jo Davies (vocals), Lee Catlin (bass) and Loujean (LJ) Philander (drums), and one has to ask the question as to when did Waiheke Island become part of the Deep South and go back in time? Their latest release, Lucifer’s Rising, is taken from their second album, A Little South Of Heaven, and takes us almost 100 years into the past and geographically into the Southern states of America.
Read More...
Samuel Philip Cooper - Album Review: Breaking The Silence
26 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Young Wellington-based pianist Samuel Philip Cooper is now releasing his debut album, which contains both of his earlier singles, Broken Heart Recovery and Hope In Your Heart. One of the problems I had with Samuel’s work is that it was too short, but hearing the 18 songs on this album (47 minutes long) it makes far more sense as here the different songs become part of one much larger work.
Read More...
Album Review: It's Already Tomorrow
25 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
This compilation is the brainchild of leading New Zealand composer, John Psathas, and past-student guitarist, electronic musician and composer, Jack Hooker. With everyone in bubbles around the world, the idea was to create a collaborative environment for New Zealand artists, where John and Jack created nuggets for others to amend and use as a base for their own musical adventures.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem