17 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Samuel Philip Cooper - Single Review: Broken Heart Recovery

27 Aug 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have Samuel Philip Cooper, a 25-year-old Wellington-based solo-pianist, who releases his first single, Broken Heart Recovery on Saturday 29th August. Cooper is planning to release this and one more tune as singles prior to the release of the album, Breaking The Silence, in November. It is unusual to find this style of music being released as a single, as solo piano pieces generally form part of a larger piece of work which tend to work better as albums.

This is certainly an interesting tune, which builds well, containing both bombastic elements and much quieter ones, putting a lot into 3:24. There are times when the music swirls like running water with lots of very fast repeats with the right hand, and there are a few times when he slightly loses control, but brings it back with strong use of chords, showing a strength and vitality which is quite removed from the slower and more sedate elements.

If I were to pick one musician as a point of reference, then it would be Rick Wakeman’s piano works, as the use of different attacks, timing and force are very much in the caped crusader’s territory. Over the last few years Cooper has been reading about mental health and suicide in New Zealand and feels that putting his own vulnerabilities into the music it helps in so many ways.

“At various points in our lives, we experience relationship break-ups, either with a partner, family or a friend, and that takes a tremendous mental toll,” he says. “This song is about my struggle in dealing with, and recovering from, a relationship break-up, and it remains a reminder to me, and others, that speaking up to close friends and family is important when experiencing sadness and despair.” All proceeds will be donated to the New Zealand Mental Health charity, Voices of Hope.

There is a brightness and flow within this piece which makes one look forward to the album release later in the year.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Samuel Philip Cooper

Samuel Cooper is a contemporary solo pianist/composer based in Wellington. Composing since 2017, Sam’s compositions are deep, healing, and aim to tell stories that reflect some tough periods he has experienced in his first 25 years of life to help raise awareness for mental health and make a difference. Through his compositions and accompanying messages, he encourages others to speak up about their mental health instead of suffering silently like too many do.

Samuel draws inspiration from a vast array of contemporary pianists like Brian Crain and Michele McLaughlin, as well as many others from around the world. He hopes that his playing uplifts and enlightens listeners, and most importantly brightens people’s days and puts smiles on faces.

The piano is an instrument ingrained in Samuel’s bloodline – being the great-nephew of the late Peter Cooper, a well-known 20th century New Zealand concert pianist and a war pianist in World War II.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Samuel Philip Cooper

Releases

Breaking The Silence
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
Lorenzo Hazelwood - Single Review: Same Mistake
28 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Lorenzo Hazlewood is probably best known as front man for Auckland hard rock band Close To The Bone, but he also released some solo singles last year in slightly different fashion, and now he has returned with his first for 2021, Same Mistake. This is reminiscent in some ways of classic ballad-style grunge like good Alice In Chains or Soundgarden, with his vocals very much to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem