4 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Samuel Philip Cooper - Single Review: Broken Heart Recovery

27 Aug 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have Samuel Philip Cooper, a 25-year-old Wellington-based solo-pianist, who releases his first single, Broken Heart Recovery on Saturday 29th August. Cooper is planning to release this and one more tune as singles prior to the release of the album, Breaking The Silence, in November. It is unusual to find this style of music being released as a single, as solo piano pieces generally form part of a larger piece of work which tend to work better as albums.

This is certainly an interesting tune, which builds well, containing both bombastic elements and much quieter ones, putting a lot into 3:24. There are times when the music swirls like running water with lots of very fast repeats with the right hand, and there are a few times when he slightly loses control, but brings it back with strong use of chords, showing a strength and vitality which is quite removed from the slower and more sedate elements.

If I were to pick one musician as a point of reference, then it would be Rick Wakeman’s piano works, as the use of different attacks, timing and force are very much in the caped crusader’s territory. Over the last few years Cooper has been reading about mental health and suicide in New Zealand and feels that putting his own vulnerabilities into the music it helps in so many ways.

“At various points in our lives, we experience relationship break-ups, either with a partner, family or a friend, and that takes a tremendous mental toll,” he says. “This song is about my struggle in dealing with, and recovering from, a relationship break-up, and it remains a reminder to me, and others, that speaking up to close friends and family is important when experiencing sadness and despair.” All proceeds will be donated to the New Zealand Mental Health charity, Voices of Hope.

There is a brightness and flow within this piece which makes one look forward to the album release later in the year.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Samuel Philip Cooper

Samuel Cooper is a contemporary solo pianist/composer based in Wellington. Composing since 2017, Sam’s compositions are deep, healing, and aim to tell stories that reflect some tough periods he has experienced in his first 25 years of life to help raise awareness for mental health and make a difference. Through his compositions and accompanying messages, he encourages others to speak up about their mental health instead of suffering silently like too many do.

Samuel draws inspiration from a vast array of contemporary pianists like Brian Crain and Michele McLaughlin, as well as many others from around the world. He hopes that his playing uplifts and enlightens listeners, and most importantly brightens people’s days and puts smiles on faces.

The piano is an instrument ingrained in Samuel’s bloodline – being the great-nephew of the late Peter Cooper, a well-known 20th century New Zealand concert pianist and a war pianist in World War II.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Samuel Philip Cooper

Releases

There are no releases to display for Samuel Philip Cooper.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Finalists - Album Review: First
03 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
The Finalists may be currently based in Sydney, but ¾ of the guys are actually from prominent Auckland bands with guitarist Robert Young (Semi Lemon Kola), bassist Chris Familton (Fontanelle, Thorazine Shuffle) and drummer Matt Brown (Shaft, {SLK)) joining forces with singer/guitarist and songwriter Mark Tobin (Scarlet, Panic Syndrome, The Black Halo). The coming together of these musicians has resulted in jangly guitar-based indie rock, with elements of psychedelia, power pop, shoegaze and post-punk.
Read More...
Max Earnshaw - Single Review: Love It When You Hate Me
03 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Love It When You Hate Me is the latest single from young Auckland singer Max Earnshaw, who has already received from recognition and radio airplay for his last release, Lonely Love. What we have this time around is a pop/rock number which is incredibly infectious and annoyingly catchy.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - Single Review: King Hit Quiche
03 Dec 2020 // by Kev Rowland
For anyone who has yet to catch these guys in concert, they are probably best summed up by how they describe their debut single, "An oven baked heavy hitter packed full of protein and sprinkled with cheese." Here we have a band who refuse to take themselves or their music too seriously, yet are producing incredibly complex arrangements, and are a stunning live act.
Read More...
Stealphish - Single Review: Procidens
28 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
I was chatting with the guys from Cafe Fistfight before their recent gig at Ding Dong, when guitarist Josh Barker asked if I would be interested in his brand-new solo release, and I was definitely intrigued. Apart from classical pianist Caitlyn Abbot, and some assistance from Dan Barker who assisted in programming the hi hat rolls at the start and some of the fills, everything on this instrumental release is by Josh.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Today was set to be the launch party for the second album by Channeled, I Heard Penelope Sing, but unfortunately singer and songwriter Ben Ruegg was rushed into hospital on Tuesday, only being allowed home on the Friday itself. The thoughts of everyone at Muzic.
Read More...
The Solomon Cole Band - Single Review: Lucifer's Rising
26 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
The Solomon Cole Band comprise Solomon (vocals, guitar), Fonnie Jo Davies (vocals), Lee Catlin (bass) and Loujean (LJ) Philander (drums), and one has to ask the question as to when did Waiheke Island become part of the Deep South and go back in time? Their latest release, Lucifer’s Rising, is taken from their second album, A Little South Of Heaven, and takes us almost 100 years into the past and geographically into the Southern states of America.
Read More...
Samuel Philip Cooper - Album Review: Breaking The Silence
26 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
Young Wellington-based pianist Samuel Philip Cooper is now releasing his debut album, which contains both of his earlier singles, Broken Heart Recovery and Hope In Your Heart. One of the problems I had with Samuel’s work is that it was too short, but hearing the 18 songs on this album (47 minutes long) it makes far more sense as here the different songs become part of one much larger work.
Read More...
Album Review: It's Already Tomorrow
25 Nov 2020 // by Kev Rowland
This compilation is the brainchild of leading New Zealand composer, John Psathas, and past-student guitarist, electronic musician and composer, Jack Hooker. With everyone in bubbles around the world, the idea was to create a collaborative environment for New Zealand artists, where John and Jack created nuggets for others to amend and use as a base for their own musical adventures.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem