27 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Torn Chorus - Single Review: Letting Go

27 Aug 2020 // A review by Mike Alexander

Franklin Davis doesn’t have a pure voice. It’s on the slightly brittle side of melodious, more the kind that would blend in well with others. Hence, perhaps unwittingly, the aptness of his musical moniker Torn Chorus.

His new single Letting Go – he has an extensive back catalogue worth dipping into – is a song for our times. It’s accompanied by a video and background story that opens with lines that might bristle a few feathers – "In the 60's New Zealand was a far flung colony virtually unknown to the rest of the world."

That presupposes that the rest of the world was ignorant of the fact New Zealand was the first country in the world to give women the vote, that a Kiwi Ernest Rutherford was the first to split the atom and that another Kiwi, Sir Edmund Hillary, was the first to conquer Mount Everest and that the ANZAC's, who fought in two world wars, were unheard of.

The video narrative though makes a pertinent point about the New Zealand government’s initiative during that decade to subsidise immigrant fares, which resulted in a “population” boom. Fast forward, and he sets the scene with the rejoinder: "But now Covid has isolated us again."

As Letting Go unfolds against a steady acoustic guitar and an electric guitar overlay it takes on the appearance of a cautionary tale.

The warning – the impact we have had on the natural world around us: "Now the world is suffering our planet’s deadly blows". Followed by the consequences of not heeding the warning: "We find ourselves alone again cut off from all we know."

It’s a narrative though that has a kernel of wisdom revealed in its chorus: "Letting go is nothing new, nothing really there to do. Slowing down our troubled lives, see the beauty that’s inside."

It reminded me of an insight offered in Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth ... "and our civilisation, which is lost in doing, knows nothing of Being. It asks: Being? What do you do with it?"

When we become over-dependent upon external circumstances for our sense of identity and purpose, events such as Covid can turn our worlds upside down and inside out. The purpose of life isn’t an outside job, it’s an inside one.

Torn Chorus is exploring inner space. It's a place we all probably need to become a lot more comfortable with.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Torn Chorus

Torn Chorus is the performing name of Franklin Davis, a songwriter, musician and photographer, based in the suburb of Mt Albert in Auckland, New Zealand.

Franklin plays acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bass guitar and keyboards and he records and mixes his own music.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Torn Chorus

Releases

Wake Up Call
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Lockdown Trilogy
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Mahoney Harris - Single Review: The Shifting of the Light
19 Nov 2020 // by Mike Alexander
There's an evocative image conjured up early on in The Shifting of the Light that beautifully illustrates the underlying theme of letting go. In referring to "paradise ducks made for life returning to their bowers time after time" singer-songwriter Mahoney Harris might well be talking about 'soul-mates' or a similarly intimate relationship that felt as if it was meant to last but didn't.
Read More...
Eden Iris - Single Review: I Just Can't Turn It Off
12 Nov 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Having exorcised a few ghosts, so to speak, on her soul stirring 2018 EP Demons, Eden Iris is finally set to release her debut album next year. It’s been an age since the now LA-based, singer-songwriter first came to national attention through Mike Chunn’s Play It Strange competition.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Album Review: Moonlight Madness
29 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The official release date for Lou'ana's debut album is October 30. Whether by design or accident, it’s serendipitous.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Single Review: Good Things (All We Need)
22 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Feel-good grooves are part of Raw Collective’s DNA. The Wellington-based 10-piece have been sowing sunflower seeds of optimism and cheerfulness for many a year now and it seems the well of goodness never dries.
Read More...
Naircol - Album Review: Isolate
16 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Naircol is Tauranga-based synthesiser whizz Matt Hennessey. I like that it is an anagram of clarion because this is quite the impressive calling card.
Read More...
Bartells - EP Review: Let's Go
08 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Sam Bartells has a way with words. In an interview with Darryl Baser from Muzic.
Read More...
Stretch - Album Review: Our Dreams Are Changing
30 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Anthony Stretch’s debut album Bury All Horses was one of the most poignant, lyrically honest and captivating albums of 2017. It was a 'dark horse', so to speak, forged in loss and loneliness, and at times a sense of anguish as he contemplated the direction of his life beyond the clouds that seemed as if they would never lift.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Silver Cigarette Case
30 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
A defining moment for Mini Simmons occurred almost a year ago to the day when they performed a version of Benee’s Soaked at the 2019 Silver Scroll Awards. The New Zealand charting No 1 single made the cut when the 20 finalists were whittled down to five and, as has become tradition, it was covered by another artist on the night.
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem