22 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Torn Chorus - Single Review: Letting Go

27 Aug 2020 // A review by Mike Alexander

Franklin Davis doesn’t have a pure voice. It’s on the slightly brittle side of melodious, more the kind that would blend in well with others. Hence, perhaps unwittingly, the aptness of his musical moniker Torn Chorus.

His new single Letting Go – he has an extensive back catalogue worth dipping into – is a song for our times. It’s accompanied by a video and background story that opens with lines that might bristle a few feathers – "In the 60's New Zealand was a far flung colony virtually unknown to the rest of the world."

That presupposes that the rest of the world was ignorant of the fact New Zealand was the first country in the world to give women the vote, that a Kiwi Ernest Rutherford was the first to split the atom and that another Kiwi, Sir Edmund Hillary, was the first to conquer Mount Everest and that the ANZAC's, who fought in two world wars, were unheard of.

The video narrative though makes a pertinent point about the New Zealand government’s initiative during that decade to subsidise immigrant fares, which resulted in a “population” boom. Fast forward, and he sets the scene with the rejoinder: "But now Covid has isolated us again."

As Letting Go unfolds against a steady acoustic guitar and an electric guitar overlay it takes on the appearance of a cautionary tale.

The warning – the impact we have had on the natural world around us: "Now the world is suffering our planet’s deadly blows". Followed by the consequences of not heeding the warning: "We find ourselves alone again cut off from all we know."

It’s a narrative though that has a kernel of wisdom revealed in its chorus: "Letting go is nothing new, nothing really there to do. Slowing down our troubled lives, see the beauty that’s inside."

It reminded me of an insight offered in Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth ... "and our civilisation, which is lost in doing, knows nothing of Being. It asks: Being? What do you do with it?"

When we become over-dependent upon external circumstances for our sense of identity and purpose, events such as Covid can turn our worlds upside down and inside out. The purpose of life isn’t an outside job, it’s an inside one.

Torn Chorus is exploring inner space. It's a place we all probably need to become a lot more comfortable with.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Torn Chorus

Torn Chorus is the performing name of Franklin Davis, a songwriter, musician and photographer, based in the suburb of Mt Albert in Auckland, New Zealand.

Franklin plays acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bass guitar and keyboards and he records and mixes his own music.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Torn Chorus

Releases

Wake Up Call
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Lockdown Trilogy
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Arli Liberman - Soundtrack Review: Savage
17 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Arli Liberman is a natural fit for a movie score. As anyone who has listened to his three solo albums - Arli Liberman, Fata Morgana and Allegra will have noted, the Israel-born guitarist has a flair for visceral, beautifully textured and other-worldly soundscapes.
Read More...
Empasse - EP Review: Ultraviolet
13 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Ultraviolet has history – literally. As its composer Nick Johnston explains in the press release accompanying the EP, his first under the moniker Empasse , it is a “soundtrack to a story that is not well known in New Zealand outside the Waikato region where I live.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single Review: Feel This
01 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
It’s no surprise that Lou’ana has been nominated in three categories at the Pacific Music Awards. What would surprise is if she didn’t scoop up the two main ones – Best Soul/RnB artist and Best Female Artist.
Read More...
Echo Children - Single Review: Our Parents Fixed It All
01 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
With the beguiling This Was Our Fault EP and the bitter-sweetness of Flowers still lingering, Echo Children are proving as alluring as they are elusive to define on their latest single, Our Parents Fixed It All. That might be because of the melting pot of nationalities – Amanda Larsson (Sweden), Niamh O'Flynn (Canada) and Oliver Young (Scotland) – that gives them such a sense of other-worldiness, beautifully infused in songs that sparkle like rare pop gems tinged with the earthiness of country and folk.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Suffering
25 Aug 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Riqi Harawira has made his calling an open book that has dealt with his personal experience of addiction and mental health challenges. His latest single Suffering, is his most powerful statement yet, precisely and eloquently encapsulating aspects of the recovery journey.
Read More...
Lee Martin - Single/Video Review: Falling Down
20 Aug 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Now is the time Lee Martin was due to take a trip to the US.Covid has scuttled those plans and, instead, she’s released the stunning single Falling Down (and 360-degree music video) from her Lost Girl EP, which came out last year.
Read More...
Maciek Hrybowicz - Single Review: Mr Ponsonby
17 Aug 2020 // by Mike Alexander
As far as introductions go, Poland-born composer and guitarist Maciek Hrybowicz has left quite the impression with this calling card. Mr Ponsonby is taken from his 2019 album AWA, a collection of pieces inspired by the beauty of his adopted home land New Zealand.
Read More...
Chris Bates - Single Review: Find A Way Feat. Jarna
15 Aug 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Big ups to the multi-genre production team of EDY for this inventive, crisp and clear production take on contemporary RnB. They’ve already hit the sweet spot with rising star and recent university graduate Chris Bates, with Say The Word and have done it again on his latest single Find A Way, featuring Jarna.
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem