19 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Taylor Roche - Single Review: Never Like That

26 Aug 2020 // A review by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo

Emerging pop artist Taylor Roche has just released his latest single Never Like That. Roche is Auckland-based and full of flame. This catchy tune has some resonant and heavy hitting lyrical themes. Musically, it’s a real catch. Lyrically, it’s eye-opening and clever.

We often celebrate the new, hopeful beginnings of love, and pop usually helps us feel this playfulness from the inside out. We dance, laugh and sing along to the radio, and hope to be inspired by the fun, celebrant tracks made popular to listeners. This song may follow a catchy pop structure, but it resembles something that is often feared opening-up about. The lyricism in this track really begs repeat. Truth be told, our past romantic relationships can be deeper, more meaningful and healthier for us than the new endeavors we pursue. This ballad puts emphasis on this enlightenment. Roche created this track on a cruise ship one night in Mexico; he constructed his thought process with a keyboard, microphone, notebook and computer. His vocals are high-pitched, favourable, and really work well layered and emphasised. The backing beat and instrumentation are mixed well, has a real bounce and is musically uplifting. However, his songwriting skills embrace a more sorrowful theme. The song is crafted by the change we face in response to a break-up, touching on how we can completely change our personality and behaviours in order to escape the suffering from our past falling-outs.

Upon his return to Auckland, he made this demo into what it is now; co-produced with Sam Jones at BigPop Studios, and had it mixed by local engineer Jacob Rush. Never Like That is Taylor’s third single after the release of This Love Song and Over It. He is no newbie to the stage, having performed at events such as Coca Cola Christmas in the Park and Sparks in the Park. He was a music student, and after studying a year at university, Roche took on the courage to pursue music full-time. Now at 22, having also played music live in New Orleans, Miami and Mexico for a nine-piece pop party band as lead vocalist, Roche continues to make vibrant, full-bodied tracks with a fervour!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Taylor Roche

"Taylor Roche is a master of dream-pop melody and heartbreak bliss" - Happy Mag 2019.

Taylor Roche is an emerging Pop artist from Auckland, New Zealand. He found his love for music and the stage throughout his teenage years, performing at many televised events in New Zealand and featuring in the Brisbane City Bands festival in Australia.

A year into his music degree at university, he left to further pursue his love for songwriting, performing and to focus on his artistry. Now at 22, Taylor has spent the last year based in New Orleans, Miami and Mexico performing as the lead vocalist for a 9 piece Pop party band for the largest Cruise Line corporation in the world.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Taylor Roche

Releases

There are no releases to display for Taylor Roche.

Other Reviews By Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo

Festival Review: Good Vibes @ Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland - 7/08/2020
09 Aug 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
On Friday the 7th of August, Good Vibes, Pato Entertainment and Mai FM presented to us the best line-up our Auckland Winter has seen to date! The Good Vibes Winter Festival is here; brought to us on a chilly Winter's night with no delay in action.
Read More...
Konarucchi - EP Review: Stuck In Daydreams
31 Jul 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Konarucchi is a multi-genre solo artist and composer from Wainuiomata. He is talented at mixing and recording, and has many versatile skills he brings to the table.
Read More...
Gig Review: Geoff Ong @ Cassette Nine, Auckland - 24/07/2020
31 Jul 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
I said my bygones to the week behind me. The global climate is still heavy in the background of what we all miss doing and seeing.
Read More...
Oakley Grenell - Single Review: Chimbambaira (OG Remix)
14 Jul 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Melbourne-based Cantabrian producer Oakley Grenell has ignited the Shottaz’ (Zimbabwe born artists Max and Hlats) new release Chimbambaira, which also features Nutty O. From the 2019 EP afro dancehall project Chimbambaira Reloaded sees the dynamic Shottaz team pair-up with various artists, DJs and producers to make way for some glorious remixes and riddims, including this steaming track with Oakley Grenell.
Read More...
Sola Rosa - Single Review: Searching For Love Feat. Kiko Bun
23 Jun 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
If you love music, Sola Rosa is a Kiwi band that you really should know about. The founder of this powerhouse is Andrew Spraggon; the man behind the band’s "near 20-year labour of love".
Read More...
Kevin Posey - Album Review: Breathe
19 Jun 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
US-born producer, rapper, and singer-songwriter Kevin Posey has just released his latest album Breathe. Posey is an international artist who has recently been thriving in the Aotearoa music scene.
Read More...
Kevin Posey - Single Review: Your Shine Feat. Mazbou Q & Kirsten
11 Jun 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Kevin Posey is an international artist and native from Oklahoma, USA. Posey is a music producer, publisher and songwriter that has also graduated from an associates degree in Music Production from the Academy of Contemporary Music at the University of Central Oklahoma.
Read More...
Valere - Single Review: Like That
05 Jun 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Singer songwriter Shana Llorando, AKA Valere, has just released her latest single Like That. She brings blossom to our generation of music with her diversity and versatility of sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • SWEET & SOUR
    Jawsh 685 feat. Lauv And Tyga
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem