25 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Suffering

25 Aug 2020 // A review by Mike Alexander

Riqi Harawira has made his calling an open book that has dealt with his personal experience of addiction and mental health challenges.

His latest single Suffering, is his most powerful statement yet, precisely and eloquently encapsulating aspects of the recovery journey.

The song itself is a classic churning guitar rock anthem with a powerful vocal that sets out the narrative: "Some days I look inside and there I find some things I might not like coz I can feel, can feel my fear. It’s coming here There’s a place that I have been that I have found my suffering."

Although Harawira, reflects from the position of a recovering addict, his message is a timely one. We are all, in our own ways, addicted to something whether it be a substance, careers, money, status, sex, the unexamined thoughts and emotions that separate us from each other or anything that carries with it the underlying belief that our happiness is dependent upon something external to us.

There’s a soulful organ solo that precedes a poignant line – "but some days I’ll reach inside and I’ll survive on things I find there. I will not fear to see my fear that sometimes comes near" – which is a reminder that fear and it’s multiplicity of variations – sadness, anger, unhappiness, hatred etc – are not fixed states but often require our willingness to challenge and 'shed light', so to speak, on the underlying narratives and our emotional investment in them, in order to be free of them.

Suffering is ultimately a redemption song fashioned in the fires of one who has experienced it and found a way through it.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Riqi Harawira

He’s shared the stage with some of the biggest names in the business…
Anastasia, Guns ‘n’ Roses, Pearl Jam, Living Color and Faith No More just to name but a few.
He was previously the lead guitarist for New Zealand rock band Dead Flowers.
His 2006 project TRUREAL blended live music and vocals with DJing to create a funky house sound. TRUREAL’s performances in the United States received rave reviews for the innovation in their sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Riqi Harawira

Releases

Mauri
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Sound of the Long White Cloud
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Mahoney Harris - Single Review: The Shifting of the Light
19 Nov 2020 // by Mike Alexander
There's an evocative image conjured up early on in The Shifting of the Light that beautifully illustrates the underlying theme of letting go. In referring to "paradise ducks made for life returning to their bowers time after time" singer-songwriter Mahoney Harris might well be talking about 'soul-mates' or a similarly intimate relationship that felt as if it was meant to last but didn't.
Read More...
Eden Iris - Single Review: I Just Can't Turn It Off
12 Nov 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Having exorcised a few ghosts, so to speak, on her soul stirring 2018 EP Demons, Eden Iris is finally set to release her debut album next year. It’s been an age since the now LA-based, singer-songwriter first came to national attention through Mike Chunn’s Play It Strange competition.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Album Review: Moonlight Madness
29 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The official release date for Lou'ana's debut album is October 30. Whether by design or accident, it’s serendipitous.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Single Review: Good Things (All We Need)
22 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Feel-good grooves are part of Raw Collective’s DNA. The Wellington-based 10-piece have been sowing sunflower seeds of optimism and cheerfulness for many a year now and it seems the well of goodness never dries.
Read More...
Naircol - Album Review: Isolate
16 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Naircol is Tauranga-based synthesiser whizz Matt Hennessey. I like that it is an anagram of clarion because this is quite the impressive calling card.
Read More...
Bartells - EP Review: Let's Go
08 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Sam Bartells has a way with words. In an interview with Darryl Baser from Muzic.
Read More...
Stretch - Album Review: Our Dreams Are Changing
30 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Anthony Stretch’s debut album Bury All Horses was one of the most poignant, lyrically honest and captivating albums of 2017. It was a 'dark horse', so to speak, forged in loss and loneliness, and at times a sense of anguish as he contemplated the direction of his life beyond the clouds that seemed as if they would never lift.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Silver Cigarette Case
30 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
A defining moment for Mini Simmons occurred almost a year ago to the day when they performed a version of Benee’s Soaked at the 2019 Silver Scroll Awards. The New Zealand charting No 1 single made the cut when the 20 finalists were whittled down to five and, as has become tradition, it was covered by another artist on the night.
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem