20 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Suffering

25 Aug 2020 // A review by Mike Alexander

Riqi Harawira has made his calling an open book that has dealt with his personal experience of addiction and mental health challenges.

His latest single Suffering, is his most powerful statement yet, precisely and eloquently encapsulating aspects of the recovery journey.

The song itself is a classic churning guitar rock anthem with a powerful vocal that sets out the narrative: "Some days I look inside and there I find some things I might not like coz I can feel, can feel my fear. It’s coming here There’s a place that I have been that I have found my suffering."

Although Harawira, reflects from the position of a recovering addict, his message is a timely one. We are all, in our own ways, addicted to something whether it be a substance, careers, money, status, sex, the unexamined thoughts and emotions that separate us from each other or anything that carries with it the underlying belief that our happiness is dependent upon something external to us.

There’s a soulful organ solo that precedes a poignant line – "but some days I’ll reach inside and I’ll survive on things I find there. I will not fear to see my fear that sometimes comes near" – which is a reminder that fear and it’s multiplicity of variations – sadness, anger, unhappiness, hatred etc – are not fixed states but often require our willingness to challenge and 'shed light', so to speak, on the underlying narratives and our emotional investment in them, in order to be free of them.

Suffering is ultimately a redemption song fashioned in the fires of one who has experienced it and found a way through it.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Riqi Harawira

He’s shared the stage with some of the biggest names in the business…
Anastasia, Guns ‘n’ Roses, Pearl Jam, Living Color and Faith No More just to name but a few.
He was previously the lead guitarist for New Zealand rock band Dead Flowers.
His 2006 project TRUREAL blended live music and vocals with DJing to create a funky house sound. TRUREAL’s performances in the United States received rave reviews for the innovation in their sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Riqi Harawira

Releases

Mauri
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Sound of the Long White Cloud
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Naircol - Album Review: Isolate
16 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Naircol is Tauranga-based synthesiser whizz Matt Hennessey. I like that it is an anagram of clarion because this is quite the impressive calling card.
Read More...
Bartells - EP Review: Let's Go
08 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Sam Bartells has a way with words. In an interview with Darryl Baser from Muzic.
Read More...
Stretch - Album Review: Our Dreams Are Changing
30 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Anthony Stretch’s debut album Bury All Horses was one of the most poignant, lyrically honest and captivating albums of 2017. It was a 'dark horse', so to speak, forged in loss and loneliness, and at times a sense of anguish as he contemplated the direction of his life beyond the clouds that seemed as if they would never lift.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Silver Cigarette Case
30 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
A defining moment for Mini Simmons occurred almost a year ago to the day when they performed a version of Benee’s Soaked at the 2019 Silver Scroll Awards. The New Zealand charting No 1 single made the cut when the 20 finalists were whittled down to five and, as has become tradition, it was covered by another artist on the night.
Read More...
Social Shun - Album Review: 7/10 of A Fridge
29 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
It’s always eye-opening when you come across an artist for the first time and discover that they already have a body of work that’s never been on your radar. Such is the case with Waikato-based sound explorer and experimentalist Jason Longhurst aka Social Shun, who has released a steady stream of albums – five in all – since The Garden of Sweden in 2014.
Read More...
Ravenhall - Single Review: Wild Hearts
23 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
It’s slightly surprising that Ravenhall have been so exacting of their own standards, dating back to the release of their 2015 debut single Everything To Me, given that vocalist Chris Brebner and guitarist Joe Ravenhall are seasoned musicians, who had already shown they’ve got what it takes. Wild Hearts is a classic, edgy, muscular rock song – that’s about seven singles on the trot now – that’s ripped in all the right places.
Read More...
Arli Liberman - Soundtrack Review: Savage
17 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Arli Liberman is a natural fit for a movie score. As anyone who has listened to his three solo albums - Arli Liberman, Fata Morgana and Allegra will have noted, the Israel-born guitarist has a flair for visceral, beautifully textured and other-worldly soundscapes.
Read More...
Empasse - EP Review: Ultraviolet
13 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Ultraviolet has history – literally. As its composer Nick Johnston explains in the press release accompanying the EP, his first under the moniker Empasse , it is a “soundtrack to a story that is not well known in New Zealand outside the Waikato region where I live.
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem