20 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jam Fish - Single Review: The Hermits Red Balloon

24 Aug 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

Jam Fish’s new single The Hermit’s Red Balloon was released on the 14th August 2020. This song can only be described through golfing metaphors, the experience of listening to this song was like playing a shot beyond the horizon and hoping you make the green. Much to your delight, as you pass the crest of the hill, you see your ball lying there on the glistening green merely a few feet from the hole.

I have always been that kind of music fan who used to only be attracted to music that perked up the ears instantaneously. I fear that kind of rhetoric only meant I missed out on so much goodness in this life. The Hermits Red Balloon is a song that I am glad I have heard now, during my musical evolution, rather than early on. I really like its vibe, it has a different feel to it unlike a lot of music being released at the moment, maybe it is the banging drum loops that are accompanied by some hard hitting guitar. Let me try and break down the song to make you listen to it, as that is my underlying principle to begin with.

This is a 5-minute and 23-second song, from start to finish I am gripped by its subtle changes in tempo and overall composition. It feels fresh all the way through, the sound quality is fantastic, the words are very endearing, and it invokes an emotional response, as should all good songs. I have always had a soft spot for hermits, having been a part of the freaks and geeks growing up (that was my affectionate term for my friends and I) and this soul searching number has poignant lyrics to ponder.

Once again, another high quality song from a New Zealand artist, I never get bored of proclaiming the goodness of the Kiwi musical spirit. It is something that needs to be constantly expressed. Jam Fish are certainly on my radar for the future and I am excited to see where that journey goes.

Go and have a listen and enjoy.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Jam Fish

Bursting with omega-3 and a sugary after taste, Jam Fish is ready to feed some nutritious sounds straight into your ear holes. Listening to his music you can expect energy, emotion, toast and a bit of DIY. A seasoned performer as the drummer/key’s player for Wellington rock band Pale Lady, Jam Fish now brings forth his solo project, giving you a look into the mind of the provider of jams.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jam Fish

Releases

There are no releases to display for Jam Fish.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Fornax Chemica - Album Review: Audio Vision
06 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Let’s get one thing straight right off the bat, creating, producing, and performing an album is a massive undertaking in itself. I am always impressed by any musician who is able to accomplish this, no matter the genre or the instruments they play (the more the better I say) this is why longevity within the music industry is not to be ignored when embracing all aspects of artists you love, and those you find hard to love.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: I'm Only Focused On You
15 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
Intense and full of bravado, as soon as the first piano chord hammered over my speakers, I jumped to attention like a well drilled private awaiting his first taste of action. Without any hesitation this private felt the need to start running towards the battle with no second thought for my own safety, willed on by the heavy baseline that accompanies the just as strong willed lyrical content.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Travelling Show
12 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
With a skip in my step, bounding my way through Trafalgar Square making my way to the center of the world as I knew it, London Town, this brand new single by Mini Simmons is, as they say in London, ruddy bloody good. I love songs that take me back to bygone days of freedom and an ignorance that only a young 20 year old called entangle into his swagger.
Read More...
Hummucide - Single Review: Reacher
25 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Picture a wonderfully blissful day, slow wanderings around the park as it blooms fully into the start of a new creation, beckoning good will and tidings to all that seek it. With that picture in mind, now listen to the new single from Hummucide Reacher and transcend the only way possible from the vibe that jazz music can only touch.
Read More...
Whaea Stylz - Single Review: North Star
11 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Whenever anyone makes the plunge into Reggae style music, you just know you are in for a treat, and there is no difference here with Whaea Stylz latest single North Star; an infused reggae beat that is guaranteed to get you moving even those muscles you never knew existed. I was really drawn in by the range of instruments, especially the piano, I thought its use really added to the song.
Read More...
Found Family - Single Review: Alive
27 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
Again, New Zealand music goes and surprises me, and in a good way. It reminds me of my trip to a well-known hot pool resort in the South Island; I arrived there with my little buddy that I mentor and saw the price of entrance.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single Review: Undercover
13 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was pleasantly surprised when I was reminded that I also reviewed Phil Stoodley's work 7 years ago. This was like a coming of age moment and having recently returned to the duties of music reviewing, I thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia of that memory.
Read More...
Terrence & The Optimistics - EP Review: Groovy Baby
07 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
As an eternal optimist, the chance to review a band with that term implanted into their vibe was an easy decision. Some would say that this is a recipe for bias reviewing, I would rather see it as a an extra brownie point before I had even cracked open the computer salivating in anticipation for some retro nostalgic soul grooves of the 60’s and 70;s, not that I was there in person, only in spirit.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem