4 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jam Fish - Single Review: The Hermits Red Balloon

24 Aug 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

Jam Fish’s new single The Hermit’s Red Balloon was released on the 14th August 2020. This song can only be described through golfing metaphors, the experience of listening to this song was like playing a shot beyond the horizon and hoping you make the green. Much to your delight, as you pass the crest of the hill, you see your ball lying there on the glistening green merely a few feet from the hole.

I have always been that kind of music fan who used to only be attracted to music that perked up the ears instantaneously. I fear that kind of rhetoric only meant I missed out on so much goodness in this life. The Hermits Red Balloon is a song that I am glad I have heard now, during my musical evolution, rather than early on. I really like its vibe, it has a different feel to it unlike a lot of music being released at the moment, maybe it is the banging drum loops that are accompanied by some hard hitting guitar. Let me try and break down the song to make you listen to it, as that is my underlying principle to begin with.

This is a 5-minute and 23-second song, from start to finish I am gripped by its subtle changes in tempo and overall composition. It feels fresh all the way through, the sound quality is fantastic, the words are very endearing, and it invokes an emotional response, as should all good songs. I have always had a soft spot for hermits, having been a part of the freaks and geeks growing up (that was my affectionate term for my friends and I) and this soul searching number has poignant lyrics to ponder.

Once again, another high quality song from a New Zealand artist, I never get bored of proclaiming the goodness of the Kiwi musical spirit. It is something that needs to be constantly expressed. Jam Fish are certainly on my radar for the future and I am excited to see where that journey goes.

Go and have a listen and enjoy.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Jam Fish

Bursting with omega-3 and a sugary after taste, Jam Fish is ready to feed some nutritious sounds straight into your ear holes. Listening to his music you can expect energy, emotion, toast and a bit of DIY. A seasoned performer as the drummer/key’s player for Wellington rock band Pale Lady, Jam Fish now brings forth his solo project, giving you a look into the mind of the provider of jams.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jam Fish

Releases

There are no releases to display for Jam Fish.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies
08 Dec 2020 // by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem