20 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hadees Drudge - Album Review: On Your Knees

23 Aug 2020 // A review by Kev Rowland

Hadees Drudge came together in Wellington in 2018, after a covers band featuring guitarist/songwriter Jason Keeler and drummer Jordan Hotton (previously in Bloodshot) disbanded. Hotton liked the songs he heard from Keeler, so they reached out on social media to find some musicians to form a new band and convinced singer Duane Frew (who had previously released some albums as Nort) and bassist Chris Ewers to come along for the ride. All four musicians are now 100% focused on Hadees Drudge, as can be seen by the release of their debut album in quite a short time frame. When speaking to Keeler about the musical influences on the band I was somewhat surprised to hear he loves Eighties pop as much as he does metal, and he has used this to assist him with building concise song structures, and lists Phil Collins alongside the more expected names of Metallica, Rush, Slayer, Led Zeppelin and Parkway Drive.

Interestingly the band I feel they have the most in common is not contained in that list, namely Sepultura. But whereas the likes of Alien Weaponry are more influenced by the early years, this is much more similar to the more recent times where the Seps have been producing heavy groove metal with less of the ethnic influences. The band have been gigging as much as possible, and it shows in just how tight they are throughout this, they really are a strong unit.

Like all good metal bands, they build from the back, and Hotton provides loads of fills, yet what really caught my ear was the way he often uses some very delicate cymbals to provide a perfect counterbalance to what is happening in the rest of the music. This is something he does at different places within the album, and each time it adds a touch of class without ever making it seem repetitive. With just one guitarist in the band, Ewers has to move between holding down the bottom and providing additional melodies, something he does with ease, providing good depth to the sound. Guitarist Keeler can pick gently when he feels the need, but for the most part it is when he crunches the riffs that he really gets it going, and it is when the band is at full blast that Frew also has the opportunity to shine. He can provide a harshness, and when he mixes it up such as on For You that the band has the most impact. Here he switches between a couple of different musical styles while for most of the song the rest of the guys are playing at a more medium pace, and it is his vocals which are providing the force.

It is when they are there at their heaviest that the band really comes across well. They often switch dynamics within a single piece, and that contrast works well when it is a quieter section against a heavier piece, while Wait For What is the other way around and does not have the same energy and passion. But when the band are in full flight then they are a beast to behold, and one which I am sure becomes even angrier and more brutal onstage. Overall, this is a very interesting album, and a great example of groove metal being taken as a starting point and then polished. Mind you, get to Self Preservation and one can be forgiven for thinking the Ramones had a part to play: the punk energy in most of this song certainly made me smile.

Comment must be made on the production as well, as all the instruments are very well defined indeed, with strong clear sounds. For a self-released debut this is a solid album, and I certainly look forward to catching up with them when they next play Auckland. One for metalheads to investigate.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Hadees Drudge

Hadees Drudge ... This band appeared on the Wellington music scene in late 2018.
They have been rigorous in their promotion since then, including frequent gigs around North and South Islands.

The aspect that listeners notice immediately is that this is a 4 piece band of guitar, bass, drums and vocals. That breaks the norm of so many bands in this genre that have 2 guitars.
Beyond that, the interplay of drums, bass and guitar across the rhythmic structures produces their point of difference.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hadees Drudge

Releases

On Your Knees
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Perception
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
As I have said previously, 2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled, as Ben Ruegg recorded the second album and formed an operational live band to make it more than just a studio project. They made it through to the final of the Ding Dong Lounge Battle of the Bands and set up a headline show at the same venue with Cafe Fistfight and Mariner as support to celebrate the release of I Heard Penelope Sing, but then disaster struck with Ben being rushed to hospital following a Grand Mal seizure.
Read More...
Empress - EP Review: Trash Dynasty
10 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Empress were formed by guitarist/singer Lora Thompson and drummer Craig Gilliver after the demise of their previous project, Cheshire Grimm with whom they toured the length of NZ, played with international acts and local superstars, as well as releasing material along the way. The lead track from this EP, Sailing the Seas of Grease, was actually released towards the end of 2020 but it has taken until now for their six-track 23-minute-long debut EP to made available.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem