25 Feb 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne

22 Aug 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.

It’s a seldom admitted bit of folklore that many goths have a great sense of humour, it seems the members of Stars and the Underground have a lighter side of the dark side. I come to this conclusion from the title of their single; Nosferatu Upon Tyne.

Referencing a northern English city shows homage to the Sisters of Mercy who hail from Leeds, but to put it into a pun on the city, in my opinion shows a modicum of humour.

The ‘a’ side has a classic late 80's goth sound, from the PCM (pitch code modulation) synth string melody which begins, before ‘chorus’ effected guitar chords continue.

Singer-guitarist John Mason’s voice reminds me of a cross between Andrew Eldritch and Carl McCoy.

Then there’s the other ‘a’ side, the Robots In Love remix (complete reworking) by Dunedin-based Darkwave genius Elenor Rayner. She takes the song by the throat, shakes it around, and puts the pieces back together in her own distinctive, and brilliant, style.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Stars and the Underground

Stars and the Underground is the solo project of Auckland based singer songwriter John Mason the music inhabits the Post punk and Shoegaze Dark Electronic genres.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stars and the Underground

Releases

Evolution Circle
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day
06 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand." It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.
Read More...
James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem