14 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne

22 Aug 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.

It’s a seldom admitted bit of folklore that many goths have a great sense of humour, it seems the members of Stars and the Underground have a lighter side of the dark side. I come to this conclusion from the title of their single; Nosferatu Upon Tyne.

Referencing a northern English city shows homage to the Sisters of Mercy who hail from Leeds, but to put it into a pun on the city, in my opinion shows a modicum of humour.

The ‘a’ side has a classic late 80's goth sound, from the PCM (pitch code modulation) synth string melody which begins, before ‘chorus’ effected guitar chords continue.

Singer-guitarist John Mason’s voice reminds me of a cross between Andrew Eldritch and Carl McCoy.

Then there’s the other ‘a’ side, the Robots In Love remix (complete reworking) by Dunedin-based Darkwave genius Elenor Rayner. She takes the song by the throat, shakes it around, and puts the pieces back together in her own distinctive, and brilliant, style.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Stars and the Underground

Stars and the Underground is the solo project of Auckland based singer songwriter John Mason the music inhabits the Post punk and Shoegaze Dark Electronic genres.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stars and the Underground

Releases

Evolution Circle
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Reuben Hudson - Single Review: Baby Bedside
23 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are many things which can derail a musician’s career, although Reuben Hudson’s reasoning may be a little less common than most. He had kidney transplant surgery in 2020.
Read More...
Vann Dizon - Single/Video Review: Let You Go
08 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Wow. Beautifully written, lyrics with heart, the composition is top form, and the production sets this song as a potential chart topper.
Read More...
Jiahu Symbols - Single Review: Northern Exposure
17 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
An interesting song, Jiahu Symbols' Northern Exposure opens with a guitar swathed in chorus, maybe a little tremolo, with a couple of bars before the song crashes into life. The verse structure is played a couple of times, before Andrew Murray-Brown begins singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Veils @ Dive, Dunedin - 08/04/2021
10 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Purple Pilgrims take to the stage. There's a round of polite applause after their first song, and half way through their second, I start to hear a very 4AD sound; think Cocteau Twins, circa the Iceblink Luck period.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ Mornington Tap House, Dunedin - 25/03/2021
27 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
The opening act Marlin's Dreaming slide into a well-chosen opening number. Opening with gently strummed chords, and a drum machine, which the drummer synced with well when he came in.
Read More...
The Infinity Chamber - Single Review: No Honey (Anymore)
22 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
For those of you who aren’t amongst the 1340 subscribers to his YouTube, or the nearly 47,000 who follow his Facebook page, The Infinity Chamber is Dylan Paul Ware. PC, or Pre-Covid, he travelled in the true style of a troubadour, spending time in many countries across Europe, which is kind of documented in one of the lyrics in the song; "…it’s just my old guitar and me..
Read More...
Gig Review: Crowded House & Reb Fountain @ Dunedin Town Hall, Dunedin - 11/03/2021
12 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
The exquisite Reb Fountain opens up with Hawks and Doves, and it's game on right from the get go. Sliding into the second tune, Fountain's dramatic songwriting style really suits opening this sell-out show at Dunedin's Town Hall.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Mr. Slice
27 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Straight Outta Blenheim, noisy angular post-punk band Big Scout have released an addictive new song, Mr. Slice.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem