6 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne

22 Aug 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.

It’s a seldom admitted bit of folklore that many goths have a great sense of humour, it seems the members of Stars and the Underground have a lighter side of the dark side. I come to this conclusion from the title of their single; Nosferatu Upon Tyne.

Referencing a northern English city shows homage to the Sisters of Mercy who hail from Leeds, but to put it into a pun on the city, in my opinion shows a modicum of humour.

The ‘a’ side has a classic late 80's goth sound, from the PCM (pitch code modulation) synth string melody which begins, before ‘chorus’ effected guitar chords continue.

Singer-guitarist John Mason’s voice reminds me of a cross between Andrew Eldritch and Carl McCoy.

Then there’s the other ‘a’ side, the Robots In Love remix (complete reworking) by Dunedin-based Darkwave genius Elenor Rayner. She takes the song by the throat, shakes it around, and puts the pieces back together in her own distinctive, and brilliant, style.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Stars and the Underground

Stars and the Underground is the solo project of Auckland based singer songwriter John Mason the music inhabits the Post punk and Shoegaze Dark Electronic genres.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stars and the Underground

Releases

Evolution Circle
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ Pioneer Hall, Port Chalmers - 06/11/2020
07 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Bliss Point are a Dunedin based high school band with musical lineage including drummer Tane Cotton, son of audio engineer Dale Cotton, and nephew of Shayne P Carter. Bliss Point take to the end of the room which is used as a stage to a quarter full room of their parents, school pals and unfashionably early concert goers, your humble scribe included.
Read More...
Gig Review: Delaney Davidson @ ADJO, Dunedin - 3/11/2020
04 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Cantabrian entertainer Delaney Davidson is on a smaller venues tour which saw him play in Ophir this week, along with shows at Dunedin’s boutique venue ADJO and at The Galley in Port Chalmers. A mostly seated crowd of around 30 people waited, looking at the stage set up in the corner of ADJO, before Delaney Davidson swaggered his way through the crowd from the back area.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Single Review: Same Boat
30 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Same Boat is Mecuzine’s first release in two years, showcasing a new direction for brothers Joseph and Tony Johns. Lyrically it reflects the global climate situation, "we’re all in the same boat and it’s sinking" from the chorus, spells it out pretty well.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem