25 Feb 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Marlin's Dreaming - Album Review: Quotidian

21 Aug 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Having been a reviewer of life and recorded music since the late 1980's, it is a rare and wonderful feeling to discover a band from my hometown who I haven’t heard of, until they drop a recording that takes my head clean off.

Dunedin band Marlin’s Dreaming have released Quotidian, and are about to (Covid willing) head off on a NZ tour in late September and early October.

Quotidian is a solid album, with layered guitars, flexing in and out with melodies weaving around each other like a small group of playing kittens.

The opening tune Cabbage Tree begins with what sounds like an early 1980's Casiotone drum machine before the guitars kick in, ahead of vocals and bass which join as they wish, adding depth and texture to the tune.

Sink or Swim is another brooding number, and on second, third, fourth listen, this album has both instant appeal and the longevity of songs which like onions reveal their texture over time.

Outristic, parts 1 and 2 are like different takes on the same theme as the title suggest.

Mr. Sun reminds me of a low key late period Beatles tune, kind of experimental, circa White album.

Moth Eyes begins where Mr. Sun left off, but builds up well into a hook-laden chorus.

As the album progresses, the very high production values become obvious. It is beautifully textured, and layered like a well cut head of hair.

At a shade over 42 minutes it’s a good length long player in this day and age of meme-driven youth, making 8 second Tik Tok videos. But I digress. Quotidian is a fantastic album with richly textured instruments. It’s got elements of shoegaze, and I swear I heard a nod to The Phoenix Foundation in there somewhere. It’s a bloody good album.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Marlin's Dreaming

Seeking inspiration from a dank eerie flat in Dunedin, steeped in the city’s rich musical history, Marlin’s Dreaming erupted onto the local scene in late 2017 with their debut album, Lizard Tears. The national & international success of the tasty indie-pop EP helped them escape the flat in favour of the road, with consecutive sold out tours across the country.

As the years went on, Marlin’s Dreaming’s sound grew with it, their 2018 EP Talk On/Commic retaining the wry humour of Lizard Tears, but donning a darker aesthetic, with 90’s fangs evoking many of the post-punk greats. Last year they took it on the road with the likes of Kirin J Callinan, The Chills and Ocean Alley, as well as their own sold-out Australian tours.

The band released Quotidian in April 2020, amidst the global lockdown, an accidentally prescient album about the claustrophobia of feeling stuck; directionless. Musically, it was a shift into more serious songwriting, and an exploration of the genre that garnered wide-ranging critical praise from mastheads like NME, American Songwriter, Brooklyn Vegan, and Atwood Magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Marlin's Dreaming

Releases

Quotidian
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day
06 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand." It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.
Read More...
James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem