6 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Marlin's Dreaming - Album Review: Quotidian

21 Aug 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Having been a reviewer of life and recorded music since the late 1980's, it is a rare and wonderful feeling to discover a band from my hometown who I haven’t heard of, until they drop a recording that takes my head clean off.

Dunedin band Marlin’s Dreaming have released Quotidian, and are about to (Covid willing) head off on a NZ tour in late September and early October.

Quotidian is a solid album, with layered guitars, flexing in and out with melodies weaving around each other like a small group of playing kittens.

The opening tune Cabbage Tree begins with what sounds like an early 1980's Casiotone drum machine before the guitars kick in, ahead of vocals and bass which join as they wish, adding depth and texture to the tune.

Sink or Swim is another brooding number, and on second, third, fourth listen, this album has both instant appeal and the longevity of songs which like onions reveal their texture over time.

Outristic, parts 1 and 2 are like different takes on the same theme as the title suggest.

Mr. Sun reminds me of a low key late period Beatles tune, kind of experimental, circa White album.

Moth Eyes begins where Mr. Sun left off, but builds up well into a hook-laden chorus.

As the album progresses, the very high production values become obvious. It is beautifully textured, and layered like a well cut head of hair.

At a shade over 42 minutes it’s a good length long player in this day and age of meme-driven youth, making 8 second Tik Tok videos. But I digress. Quotidian is a fantastic album with richly textured instruments. It’s got elements of shoegaze, and I swear I heard a nod to The Phoenix Foundation in there somewhere. It’s a bloody good album.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Marlin's Dreaming

Seeking inspiration from a dank eerie flat in Dunedin, steeped in the city’s rich musical history, Marlin’s Dreaming erupted onto the local scene in late 2017 with their debut album, Lizard Tears. The national & international success of the tasty indie-pop EP helped them escape the flat in favour of the road, with consecutive sold out tours across the country.

As the years went on, Marlin’s Dreaming’s sound grew with it, their 2018 EP Talk On/Commic retaining the wry humour of Lizard Tears, but donning a darker aesthetic, with 90’s fangs evoking many of the post-punk greats. Last year they took it on the road with the likes of Kirin J Callinan, The Chills and Ocean Alley, as well as their own sold-out Australian tours.

The band released Quotidian in April 2020, amidst the global lockdown, an accidentally prescient album about the claustrophobia of feeling stuck; directionless. Musically, it was a shift into more serious songwriting, and an exploration of the genre that garnered wide-ranging critical praise from mastheads like NME, American Songwriter, Brooklyn Vegan, and Atwood Magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Marlin's Dreaming

Releases

There are no releases to display for Marlin's Dreaming.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ Pioneer Hall, Port Chalmers - 06/11/2020
07 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Bliss Point are a Dunedin based high school band with musical lineage including drummer Tane Cotton, son of audio engineer Dale Cotton, and nephew of Shayne P Carter. Bliss Point take to the end of the room which is used as a stage to a quarter full room of their parents, school pals and unfashionably early concert goers, your humble scribe included.
Read More...
Gig Review: Delaney Davidson @ ADJO, Dunedin - 3/11/2020
04 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Cantabrian entertainer Delaney Davidson is on a smaller venues tour which saw him play in Ophir this week, along with shows at Dunedin’s boutique venue ADJO and at The Galley in Port Chalmers. A mostly seated crowd of around 30 people waited, looking at the stage set up in the corner of ADJO, before Delaney Davidson swaggered his way through the crowd from the back area.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Single Review: Same Boat
30 Oct 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Same Boat is Mecuzine’s first release in two years, showcasing a new direction for brothers Joseph and Tony Johns. Lyrically it reflects the global climate situation, "we’re all in the same boat and it’s sinking" from the chorus, spells it out pretty well.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem