25 Feb 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grant Duncan - Album Review: Contemplate

07 Aug 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Grant Duncan is a well-seasoned singer-songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand, who’s just released his new 12 song album, Contemplate.

The album is available on Duncan’s Bandcamp page as is the modern way of doing things. Contemplate joins his extensive back catalogue.

Two up tempo numbers, It All Just Falls Into Place and That Rush of Blood open the album, and right from the outset it is apparent that Grant Duncan is a well skilled composer of guitar-based pop. There’s bounce and swagger enough to have toes tapping, heads nodding and songwriters thinking, ‘well played that man’.

Track three, The One We Leave Behind, is moody number, still in-keeping with Duncan’s indie-pop sensibilities, just slower, a ballad if you like. It’s the first of a few slower numbers scattered across the charming pop landscape of this excellent album.

It Won’t Mean Much Until It's Gone opens beautifully with a piano shifting chords; it’s another ballad, and the addition of piano brings another colour palate to the album.

The Greater The Obstacle is also a great tune with a simple but good ‘whatever doesn’t kill you makes your stronger’ message. When Will I See You Again? isn’t a cover of a 50’s or 60’s classic - it's another great original song.

To be honest I haven’t heard much of Grant's back catalogue, but after hearing this album I intend to.

In addition to his solo output Grant has also been the front-man for Tokyo based indie combo Pavement Candy since 2005.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Grant Duncan

Grant Duncan is a singer-songwriter based in Tokyo, Japan. His NZ/UK origins have certainly influenced his musical direction as the classic grooves of UK pop rock including The Kinks, The Kooks, The Beatles and the Stone Roses are often apparent in his song-writing. Grant writes melodic indie pop-styled tracks and his lyrics are often energizing and thought-provoking.

Grant is also the frontman for Tokyo-based indie pop combo Pavement Candy which perform regularly around the Tokyo live arena and he was also previously the songwriter/bassist and vocalist for NZ rock band The Audio Justice who were finalists in the NZ 2013 Battle of the Bands competition.

Grant wrote and produced a full length album Alliance which was released on Spotify and Amazon on March 25 2018. His follow-up Early Morning Rise will be released on November 1 2018.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grant Duncan

Releases

Contemplate
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Radiant Sublime
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Journey To The High Road
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Early Morning Rise
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Momura Demo Tapes - Volume 2
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Alliance
Year: 2018
Type: Album
On Solid Ground
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Momura Demo Tapes - Volume 1
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Regulate
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Either Way, Anyway
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Acoustic Demos 2011-2013
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Blinding Journey
Year: 2013
Type: Album
2009-2012 Collection
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Voices of A Thousand Years
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Two Birds, One Stone
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Stories from Cyber
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day
06 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand." It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.
Read More...
James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem