20 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grant Duncan - Album Review: Contemplate

07 Aug 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Grant Duncan is a well-seasoned singer-songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand, who’s just released his new 12 song album, Contemplate.

The album is available on Duncan’s Bandcamp page as is the modern way of doing things. Contemplate joins his extensive back catalogue.

Two up tempo numbers, It All Just Falls Into Place and That Rush of Blood open the album, and right from the outset it is apparent that Grant Duncan is a well skilled composer of guitar-based pop. There’s bounce and swagger enough to have toes tapping, heads nodding and songwriters thinking, ‘well played that man’.

Track three, The One We Leave Behind, is moody number, still in-keeping with Duncan’s indie-pop sensibilities, just slower, a ballad if you like. It’s the first of a few slower numbers scattered across the charming pop landscape of this excellent album.

It Won’t Mean Much Until It's Gone opens beautifully with a piano shifting chords; it’s another ballad, and the addition of piano brings another colour palate to the album.

The Greater The Obstacle is also a great tune with a simple but good ‘whatever doesn’t kill you makes your stronger’ message. When Will I See You Again? isn’t a cover of a 50’s or 60’s classic - it's another great original song.

To be honest I haven’t heard much of Grant's back catalogue, but after hearing this album I intend to.

In addition to his solo output Grant has also been the front-man for Tokyo based indie combo Pavement Candy since 2005.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Grant Duncan

Grant Duncan is a singer-songwriter based in Tokyo, Japan. His NZ/UK origins have certainly influenced his musical direction as the classic grooves of UK pop rock including The Kinks, The Kooks, The Beatles and the Stone Roses are often apparent in his song-writing. Grant writes melodic indie pop-styled tracks and his lyrics are often energizing and thought-provoking.

Grant is also the frontman for Tokyo-based indie pop combo Pavement Candy which perform regularly around the Tokyo live arena and he was also previously the songwriter/bassist and vocalist for NZ rock band The Audio Justice who were finalists in the NZ 2013 Battle of the Bands competition.

Grant wrote and produced a full length album Alliance which was released on Spotify and Amazon on March 25 2018. His follow-up Early Morning Rise will be released on November 1 2018.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grant Duncan

Releases

Contemplate
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Radiant Sublime
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Journey To The High Road
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Early Morning Rise
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Momura Demo Tapes - Volume 2
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Alliance
Year: 2018
Type: Album
On Solid Ground
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Momura Demo Tapes - Volume 1
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Regulate
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Either Way, Anyway
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Acoustic Demos 2011-2013
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Blinding Journey
Year: 2013
Type: Album
2009-2012 Collection
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Voices of A Thousand Years
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Two Birds, One Stone
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Stories from Cyber
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
Marlin's Dreaming - Album Review: Quotidian
21 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Having been a reviewer of life and recorded music since the late 1980's, it is a rare and wonderful feeling to discover a band from my hometown who I haven’t heard of, until they drop a recording that takes my head clean off. Dunedin band Marlin’s Dreaming have released Quotidian, and are about to (Covid willing) head off on a NZ tour in late September and early October.
Read More...
A Straw Assembly - Album Review: A Little More Life
28 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Right the get go this isn’t an album for the musically faint-hearted. The opening song A Saint Is Divided builds gently and beautifully into a maelstrom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020
25 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.
Read More...
Phil and Lana Doublet - Album Review: Play Nice
12 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Multi award winning Christchurch based musicians Phil and Lana Doublet have teamed up to write, record, and release the stunning album Play Nice. The pair wrote all but one of the songs on the album.
Read More...
Mojo Crow - EP Review: The Badlands
15 Jun 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Auckland’s Mojo Crow have been around since 2012 in one form or another, and have just released their brand new EP, The Badlands. Right from the start of the opening track, High Plains Drifter, Mojo Crew’s up tempo country sound is to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem