20 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming

07 Aug 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.

Hand picked beats from a range of producers and beat makers allows Will McClean to focus on his vocals and lyrics that tell his stories. At times though, some of these didn't make a lot of sense to me. And that's fine. I don't have to understand everything and I don't believe that it's my place to discredit anything he does artistically. To even things out, there are plenty of tracks here where he spills his heart out through rhyme and poetry. It is worth mentioning that his flow and delivery is solid. I hear a lot of influences, one being Home Brew's Tom Scott.

The authentic delivery, not over hyped or yelling deserves credit. And still, when it's required he's not afraid to go there. There are softer songs with guest artists to allow that side to show. The selection of his beats are fantastic and showcases an artist that is capable of hearing something and figuring out how to approach it. An example of this is the track Healing.

A solid release worthy of your attention. I like the diversity here and the thoughtfulness of his lyrics when they describe in detail his life and feelings. Dream/Cold Coffee is a perfect example of this. There is a lot to love here and I have a lot of respect for any artist who puts their heart out on their sleeve.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Will McClean

Born and raised with the perfect balance of city and coastal living, Will McClean has been grinding in a basement working out his place in this world with the help of a pen and some words.

With three EP’s released in 2019 on Soundcloud, and one in January 2020. Will has been busy working on his craft.

Taking inspiration from artists such as Mac Miller, J Cole and Tom Scott to name a few; his laid back style is intertwined with message to spread peace and love to other humans and to this earth.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Will McClean

Releases

Can't Sleep, I'm Dreaming
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
Swerve City @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 13/03/2021
14 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
It's a packed house. That's for sure.
Read More...
Keeley Shade - Single Review: On My Mind
11 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
On My Mind is a perfect example of how simple ideas can become fleshed out to provide the listener an experience worth repeating.Keeley Shade, a Canadian-born New Zealand-based singer-songwriter is releasing her debut single On My Mind.
Read More...
James Loan - EP Review: The Loan To Society
10 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
James Loan is a new young Rap/Drill artist that at only age 16 has just released his EP, The Loan To Society. I commend this effort.
Read More...
JAN - Single Review: Wud?
06 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Wud? is a new track from JAN featuring Anna Bennetto and Sam Higham.
Read More...
Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem