22 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

EJ Barrett - Single Review: Paint Me A Picture

06 Aug 2020 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
It didn’t take me long to warm to EJ Barrett and her sultry, husky vocals. The New Zealand musical artist based in New Plymouth has taken flight with the debut single Paint Me A Picture. It seems the world is ready to embrace the media content she creates, with nearly 3K Instagram followers gained in 6 months.

EJ Barrett has a soul/ bluesy/jazzy sound, accompanied by a loop station. I could hear the like of Kimbra, Regina Spektor and Joss Stone influencing her strong sound.

There is so much to love about this track. It is honest, sexy and raw with powerful lyrics which reflect her "adventures in polyamory as a queer, neurodivergent, millennial parent". The accompanying video is described as "Glam burlesque queer" and the overall sound has the essence of a dimly lit, smokey gin joint dispersing warm soulful blues and seductive jazz over an enthralled assemblage. The music is tempting and enticing covering what some may see as bold lyrics of a controversial topic.

I have only glimpsed the music video trailer to Paint Me A Picture, but I can see that it is going to be something special and EJ’s ten years training in circus arts is going to come in very handy.

There will be a second single to sink our teeth into soon alongside an EP (produced by Emily Riordan), which I really look forward to hearing.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About EJ Barrett

EJ Barrett writes soul/blues/jazz flavoured vocal loops for social reform. EJ’s debut EP to be released 2020 is about adventures in polyamory as a queer nuerodivergent millenial parent: a plight beyond settler-imposed sexuality/family structures to create mentally sustainable living solutions. With nearly 3k Instagram followers gained in the first 6 months of operation it is apparent that EJ creates media that an underrepresented community is calling out for.
Drawing on inspiration from artists like Joss Stone, Rising Appalachia, Kimbra, Regina Spektor, A Girl Named Mo and Julia Easterlin, EJ crafts soulful live looped tracks using only vocal techniques, body percussion and a Boss RC-505 loop station.



Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for EJ Barrett

Releases

Call Me EJ
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

John Martin - Album Review: Zealander
14 Sep 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Drummer/Singer and multi-instrumentalist; John Martin has just released his third album Zealander. His love of strong pop melodies and James Brown covers shine through on this album mingling with his uniquely upbeat sound.
Read More...
Disciple Pati - Single/Video Review: Serious
19 Aug 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland’s newest pop/RnB powerhouse Disciple Pati has just released her latest single Serious, along with a “revenge fantasy” style music video which the artist explains as “channeled my violent inner sadist for this moment so y’all don’t have to”. The video ultimately is about getting payback after a production meeting doesn’t go according to plan.
Read More...
Valentina - Album Review: Renaissance
10 Aug 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Transgressive vocalist and producer Valentina, has just released her debut album Renaissance. Described as a "Hyperpop album", it is filled with wonder, exploring a diverse range of genres such as Bubblegum Pop, UK Garage, Techno, 90's House with elements of Classical and Baroque.
Read More...
Compilation Review: Blood And Wires Volume Two
20 Jul 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Independent record label Tauranga based Blood And Wires have released Volume Two, the second instalment in a series of original electronic and experimental tracks which takes the listener on a journey through distorted synths through to serene ambient instrumentation. Blood And Wires Volume Two combines the talent of 8 talented New Zealand artists united by the idea of an experimental approach to creating music.
Read More...
Aanvi . S - Single Review: Music Is My Religion
22 Jun 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aanvi S is possibly New Zealand’s youngest singer / songwriter, who at just nine has released her debut single Music Is My Religion. Encouragement from her family and friends has seen her blossom into a prolific songwriter inspired by her poetry.
Read More...
EP Review: TOI
17 Jun 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Award winning seven-piece Wellington band TOI (Tunes of I), are releasing their highly anticipated self-titled EP. Accompanying the release is a four date nationwide tour of Wellington, Christchurch, Auckland and Raglan.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Tyre Tracks (In The Sky) – Acoustic Version
11 May 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative rock band from Dunedin, Saurian (meaning “lizard-like”), have recently re-released a new single of an old favourite, Tyre Tracks (In The Sky) as an acoustic version. Removing the loud distorted guitars, drums and big vocals, resulting in a restrained sound consisting of acoustic guitar, strings, percussion and softer vocals.
Read More...
Metrosideros - EP Review: Var.
30 Apr 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
From the south coast of Wellington, Metrosideros' Matt Dalzell and Ellie Rose have created somewhat of a cool and funky trip hop sound with swirling’s of dub and journeys into backbeats. Their latest EP, Var.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem