26 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

EJ Barrett - Single Review: Paint Me A Picture

06 Aug 2020 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
It didn’t take me long to warm to EJ Barrett and her sultry, husky vocals. The New Zealand musical artist based in New Plymouth has taken flight with the debut single Paint Me A Picture. It seems the world is ready to embrace the media content she creates, with nearly 3K Instagram followers gained in 6 months.

EJ Barrett has a soul/ bluesy/jazzy sound, accompanied by a loop station. I could hear the like of Kimbra, Regina Spektor and Joss Stone influencing her strong sound.

There is so much to love about this track. It is honest, sexy and raw with powerful lyrics which reflect her "adventures in polyamory as a queer, neurodivergent, millennial parent". The accompanying video is described as "Glam burlesque queer" and the overall sound has the essence of a dimly lit, smokey gin joint dispersing warm soulful blues and seductive jazz over an enthralled assemblage. The music is tempting and enticing covering what some may see as bold lyrics of a controversial topic.

I have only glimpsed the music video trailer to Paint Me A Picture, but I can see that it is going to be something special and EJ’s ten years training in circus arts is going to come in very handy.

There will be a second single to sink our teeth into soon alongside an EP (produced by Emily Riordan), which I really look forward to hearing.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About EJ Barrett

EJ Barrett writes soul/blues/jazz flavoured vocal loops for social reform. EJ’s debut EP to be released 2020 is about adventures in polyamory as a queer nuerodivergent millenial parent: a plight beyond settler-imposed sexuality/family structures to create mentally sustainable living solutions. With nearly 3k Instagram followers gained in the first 6 months of operation it is apparent that EJ creates media that an underrepresented community is calling out for.
Drawing on inspiration from artists like Joss Stone, Rising Appalachia, Kimbra, Regina Spektor, A Girl Named Mo and Julia Easterlin, EJ crafts soulful live looped tracks using only vocal techniques, body percussion and a Boss RC-505 loop station.



Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for EJ Barrett

Releases

There are no releases to display for EJ Barrett.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Seralynne - Album Review: What Love Is
21 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based singer-songwriter Seralynne has just released a sleek new nine-track album What Love Is. This is a surprisingly heartfelt and mature mix of haunting yet beautifully written pop ballads.
Read More...
Researchintospeed - Single Review: Anode
15 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Papaioea’s own proponent of live electronic dance music Researchintospeed has just dropped a new track and accompanying video, Anode. As part of the stand-alone electronic work of Craig Black, Anode was added to his expanding electro catalog over lock down.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: Boomers In Disguise
10 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Cantabrian, disillusioned architect and sausage roll enthusiast Harry Platt who goes under the pseudonym Hazza Making Noise, has just released a new single called Boomers In Disguise. Cross a football chant with a rock opera and inject it with punk-rave then you will have a fair idea about the unique concept which Harry describes as having "an early Arctic Monkeys – Brianstormesque nature to it".
Read More...
Mirrors - Single Review: Got This Feeling
09 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally starting out as a covers band in 2017, Christchurch based acoustic pop duo Mirrors expanded their repertoire this year during lockdown, taking the opportunity to write and record seven original songs in their home studio. Got This Feeling is their catchy brand-new second single release.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Album Review: How Humans Think
04 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
The first thing I noticed when I was blessed with a physical copy of Julie Lamb Outfit’s brand new eight track album How Humans Think, was the outstanding amount of work and love which has gone into the packaging of the CD. It is a creative thing of beauty to which I will elaborate further on.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Album Review: #Second Selfie
31 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
In true Darryl Baser fashion, his latest album has taken a few years to develop. Following on from his 2016 LP Raw Selfie, the album #Second Selfie has taken flight, once again from his Dunedin based living room.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Single/Video Review: Pipz
05 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Something Zesty is a Whanganui based musical artist who captured my attention first by the bold claim that the latest offering is "an unmistakable dance-floor hit" and secondly by the vibrant and appropriately spaced out animated video which turned out to be the perfect accompaniment to his latest release; Pipz. The music video is the second animated adventure for two curious looking characters, Chambzy and Zestro, following on from Something Zesty’s first single Mad About It.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - EP Review: Cider
30 Jul 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Napier’s young singer-songwriter Danica Bryant showcases powerful vocals on her debut 4 track EP, Cider. Currently based in Wellington, this is one lady who is not afraid to express herself through strong powerful lyrics and fierce emotion, and boy…does she have the lungs to pull it off.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem