20 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink

04 Aug 2020 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world.

Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.

Their sound, not their skin, shifting to match their influences, or if not their influences, then mine.

The Hole In Your Head was hard-hitting futurist punk from an alternate timeline where the principles of punk were high-production values, and tight performances.

Ok. Imposter Syndrome are a punk band.

Notion was like taking Shihad at their softest, but playing it like Shihad at their... Uh... Shihad-est.

Ok. No. Imposter Syndrome are a rock band.

My previously favourite track Mercury in Retrograde was a Pink Floyd The Wall era track if Roger Waters had isolated himself from the world in post 9/11 world.

Nope. Imposter Syndrome are a psychedelic rock band.

Then, just when I thought I had their sound down, they release The Shrink.

My new favourite, this song takes the punk of The Hole In Your Head, then layers that wibbly bass from A Perfect Circle’s The Doomed, Piano lines from Nine Inch Nail’s The Fragile era, and swelling atmospheric guitar and complex drum arrangements from Tool’s H and Aenima. It’s like putting on a mosaic tile floor made of my favourite 90’s alternative rock albums.

They say that when you’re happy you focus on the music, when you’re down the words. I’d comment on the lyrics, but at this point the song is too enjoyable. I can feel the disillusionment in vocalist Culleton’s voice, but for now, I can’t hear why. But I will. This track isn’t leaving my playlist any time soon.

Simultaneously delicate and destructive, The Shrink is Imposter Syndrome at their most pensive, and their hardest. The band are thinkers, experimenters, and explorers. They bear the bloodline of their now nostalgic forefather’s, without following their footprints into the world of tribute. They forge their own path.

I’m excited to see which path they take next.

Five of five stars.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Impostor Syndrome

Thursday September 17, 2020

A big congratulations to our drum wielder Scotty and his wife Caitlin on the arrival of their beautiful baby girl. If you know him, you know he was born for this job. Can't wait to meet her! In the meantime, we've been ticking away on new tracks. We have a pretty straight forward (for us anyway) rock song we're super excited about as well an acoustic track track that Ryan and Shannon conjured up on the spot and decided it needed to get the recording treatment. Super catchy and emotive that one. We're looking to do an NZ cover for the Radio New Zealand cover competition and then also a track that's pushing seven minutes, a piece Shannon has had brewing for the past 15 years. Sounds like an EP to us!
Impostor Syndrome is a platform to be ambitiously creative for vocalist Ryan Culleton, guitarist/synth player Shannon Coulomb, and drummer Scott Nicolson. The three Auckland musicians have been friends since secondary school and have been creating music with each other in one fashion or the other since. Shannon decided to call the project Impostor Syndrome in the initial period of the bands creation. While his attitude towards music does not represent impostor syndrome directly, he had been in musical situations previously where issues relating to impostor syndrome caused some frustrating setbacks. To name the project Impostor Syndrome was almost as a mind-hack - a reminder - to ensure nothing will get in the way of releasing music this time and so far it has been his most rewarding and productive project yet - why fix it? The trio have complete DIY roots which only helps them continue to grow as musicians, songwriters, audio engineering enthusiasts and perhaps one day as a tripped out live act.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Impostor Syndrome

Releases

There are no releases to display for Impostor Syndrome.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

The Sixteenth - EP Review: The 16th EP
22 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When you work as a data quality analyst, you need something to unwind. I chose animation.
Read More...
Torn Chorus - Single Review: Brave New World
14 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Lockdown was a true test of one’s fight-or-flight instinct, a show of one’s character. For some, it was an artist’s paradise.
Read More...
Michael Ferriss and Hedley Marks - Album Review: Interlude In The House Of Life
01 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When released, Ghosts I – IV was one of the more obscure Nine Inch Nails releases in an expansive discography. Instrumental and cinematic, lacking the abrasive angst and grit of all that came before, it felt out of step compared to their previous releases.
Read More...
Needless Cane - Album Review: The Red Masquerade
16 Apr 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Fan fiction.
Read More...
Horror Story - Album Review: Return of the Strange
29 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Following 20 years of providing an essential service to the New Zealand Punk scene, Horror Story are back with fresh fruit for rotting ear holes. Return of the Strange is another hard, fast, and heavy zombie-stomp into the Horror Punk genre.
Read More...
Wendyhouse - Album Review: Born To Be Alive and Killed By Death
01 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
For my next trick, I will be approaching Wendyhouse's album and zine, Born to be Alive and Killed by Death. To me, this is a novel concept.
Read More...
Album Review: Various Artists - Mansfield
18 Feb 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
As an English major, it is my duty to know Mansfield. She sits on my shelf, somewhere between Lawrence and Woolf.
Read More...
Government Pest - Album Review: Disengage
30 Jan 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
My favourite local album, in both a national and regional sense, is probably 2006’s Dawn of a Grey Winter. The compilation of $lave Recordings bands and beyond is a showcase of the best Palmy had to offer at that point in history.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem