28 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink

04 Aug 2020 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world.

Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.

Their sound, not their skin, shifting to match their influences, or if not their influences, then mine.

The Hole In Your Head was hard-hitting futurist punk from an alternate timeline where the principles of punk were high-production values, and tight performances.

Ok. Imposter Syndrome are a punk band.

Notion was like taking Shihad at their softest, but playing it like Shihad at their... Uh... Shihad-est.

Ok. No. Imposter Syndrome are a rock band.

My previously favourite track Mercury in Retrograde was a Pink Floyd The Wall era track if Roger Waters had isolated himself from the world in post 9/11 world.

Nope. Imposter Syndrome are a psychedelic rock band.

Then, just when I thought I had their sound down, they release The Shrink.

My new favourite, this song takes the punk of The Hole In Your Head, then layers that wibbly bass from A Perfect Circle’s The Doomed, Piano lines from Nine Inch Nail’s The Fragile era, and swelling atmospheric guitar and complex drum arrangements from Tool’s H and Aenima. It’s like putting on a mosaic tile floor made of my favourite 90’s alternative rock albums.

They say that when you’re happy you focus on the music, when you’re down the words. I’d comment on the lyrics, but at this point the song is too enjoyable. I can feel the disillusionment in vocalist Culleton’s voice, but for now, I can’t hear why. But I will. This track isn’t leaving my playlist any time soon.

Simultaneously delicate and destructive, The Shrink is Imposter Syndrome at their most pensive, and their hardest. The band are thinkers, experimenters, and explorers. They bear the bloodline of their now nostalgic forefather’s, without following their footprints into the world of tribute. They forge their own path.

I’m excited to see which path they take next.

Five of five stars.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Impostor Syndrome

Thursday September 17, 2020

A big congratulations to our drum wielder Scotty and his wife Caitlin on the arrival of their beautiful baby girl. If you know him, you know he was born for this job. Can't wait to meet her! In the meantime, we've been ticking away on new tracks. We have a pretty straight forward (for us anyway) rock song we're super excited about as well an acoustic track track that Ryan and Shannon conjured up on the spot and decided it needed to get the recording treatment. Super catchy and emotive that one. We're looking to do an NZ cover for the Radio New Zealand cover competition and then also a track that's pushing seven minutes, a piece Shannon has had brewing for the past 15 years. Sounds like an EP to us!
Impostor Syndrome is a platform to be ambitiously creative for vocalist Ryan Culleton, guitarist/synth player Shannon Coulomb, and drummer Scott Nicolson. The three Auckland musicians have been friends since secondary school and have been creating music with each other in one fashion or the other since. Shannon decided to call the project Impostor Syndrome in the initial period of the bands creation. While his attitude towards music does not represent impostor syndrome directly, he had been in musical situations previously where issues relating to impostor syndrome caused some frustrating setbacks. To name the project Impostor Syndrome was almost as a mind-hack - a reminder - to ensure nothing will get in the way of releasing music this time and so far it has been his most rewarding and productive project yet - why fix it? The trio have complete DIY roots which only helps them continue to grow as musicians, songwriters, audio engineering enthusiasts and perhaps one day as a tripped out live act.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Impostor Syndrome

Releases

There are no releases to display for Impostor Syndrome.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Mundivagrants
12 Oct 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Mundivagrants is a weird release. Probably one of the strangest I’ve had to review.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Single Review: 360
29 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Take some heartbreak. Write it down.
Read More...
Comf - Single Review: Do You Feat. Ilena
12 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Water, Clay, and Ceramic. If the sonic possibilities of these three textures are the question, then Comf’s triptych of EPs, The Texture Tapes, are the proposed hypothesis.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - EP Review: Vengeful Millennial
05 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
You’re sitting in an average suburban home. A family is sitting at the dinner table in front of you.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: Silence Speaks
24 Jul 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Hard to believe it’s been seven years since I heard my first Scalper track My Blood Your Blood. Harder to believe it was only last year I reviewed Scalper’s The Beast & The Beauty.
Read More...
Personal Igloo - Single Review: Material Girl
01 Jul 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
No. This is not a Madonna cover.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: NoMoreGaps
16 Mar 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
I sometimes wonder what would have happened if Kurt Cobain survived. Would he have kept making music and what would it sound like?
Read More...
You, Me, Everybody - Album Review: Southern Sky
16 Feb 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Deep within the matryoshka doll that is the country genre is a bluegrass doll in cosplay. Sitting on the fire escape of a rundown apartment building, dry buck wheat stem between its teeth, and a rock band shirt, progressive bluegrass is the genre that ran away from its home in the Appalachians and fell in with a different crowd.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem