6 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

PRINS - EP Review: Magnetic

03 Aug 2020 // A review by Mike Alexander

If 2019 was the year when BENEE ruled the New Zealand pop charts, then 2020 could well be the year of another emerging talent, PRINS.

It’s would be a bit cute to add an -ess, as in PRINC-ess, but, nevertheless, the Christchurch based singer and songwriter has the style and substance to wear the mantle of dance pop princess and wear it well.

The five-track EP Magnetic is her first full-length outing after a couple of ear-catching singles, most notably Notion. It’s bold, self-assured, lyrically honest and heartfelt and, given the thrust of the subject matter – the breakdown of a relationship – could so easily have been self-indulgent if not for the nuanced power and clarity in her vocal delivery.

As a songwriter, she is direct and uncomplicated, but uses her voice to channel both obvious and implicit emotions such as frustration, loss of trust, compulsion, anger, anxiety, unmet expectations and disappointment in a way that is constructive. A case in point is I Tried, which speeds along on a crisp, fat beat and a throbbing synthesiser line that emphases the constant push and pull of attraction and “detraction”, succinctly self-revealed in the lyric “only time can tell if I should have listened to my gut feeling, because I thought you were the one, I see what you have become and this really isn’t fun”.

Stay Away, the title track and the funky-as Little Too Late, show different perspectives on a relationship that has served its usefulness, nicely diced and spiced with mammoth, looping beats and high voltage electronics by Sachi’s Nick Chrisp and Will Thomas and Wulfie aka Timothy Heeringa.

Despite the different degrees of separation she goes through, Magnetic comes across as a purge of sorts, an emotional and mental cleansing, an affirmation of intent. This is where I’ve been, this is what I felt and now it’s time to put it behind me.

In the aforementioned I Tried, PRINS sings “there’s got to be more to us than this”. On the evidence of the impressive Magnetic, we know there is going to be more to her than this. Stay tuned.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About PRINS

PRINS kicked off 2020 with a bang playing in The Edge NYE Festival in Hagley Park, Christchurch with a record audience of 22,000 people. Recently returning from Auckland where she played alongside International acts in Highlife’s sold out Sunsetters Festival, she’s gearing up for her much anticipated dance-pop EP which shows a brand new side to the PRINS we’ve already seen.

This Auckland born singer/songwriter, dancer, actor and model has spent the past few years establishing herself with live performance experience in New Zealand and has no intention of leaving the industry any time soon. A sultry powerhouse described as a mix between Duo Lipa and Amy Winehouse, PRINS is one to watch out for in 2020.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for PRINS

Releases

Magnetic
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Mahoney Harris - Single Review: The Shifting of the Light
19 Nov 2020 // by Mike Alexander
There's an evocative image conjured up early on in The Shifting of the Light that beautifully illustrates the underlying theme of letting go. In referring to "paradise ducks made for life returning to their bowers time after time" singer-songwriter Mahoney Harris might well be talking about 'soul-mates' or a similarly intimate relationship that felt as if it was meant to last but didn't.
Read More...
Eden Iris - Single Review: I Just Can't Turn It Off
12 Nov 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Having exorcised a few ghosts, so to speak, on her soul stirring 2018 EP Demons, Eden Iris is finally set to release her debut album next year. It’s been an age since the now LA-based, singer-songwriter first came to national attention through Mike Chunn’s Play It Strange competition.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Album Review: Moonlight Madness
29 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The official release date for Lou'ana's debut album is October 30. Whether by design or accident, it’s serendipitous.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Single Review: Good Things (All We Need)
22 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Feel-good grooves are part of Raw Collective’s DNA. The Wellington-based 10-piece have been sowing sunflower seeds of optimism and cheerfulness for many a year now and it seems the well of goodness never dries.
Read More...
Naircol - Album Review: Isolate
16 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Naircol is Tauranga-based synthesiser whizz Matt Hennessey. I like that it is an anagram of clarion because this is quite the impressive calling card.
Read More...
Bartells - EP Review: Let's Go
08 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Sam Bartells has a way with words. In an interview with Darryl Baser from Muzic.
Read More...
Stretch - Album Review: Our Dreams Are Changing
30 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Anthony Stretch’s debut album Bury All Horses was one of the most poignant, lyrically honest and captivating albums of 2017. It was a 'dark horse', so to speak, forged in loss and loneliness, and at times a sense of anguish as he contemplated the direction of his life beyond the clouds that seemed as if they would never lift.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Silver Cigarette Case
30 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
A defining moment for Mini Simmons occurred almost a year ago to the day when they performed a version of Benee’s Soaked at the 2019 Silver Scroll Awards. The New Zealand charting No 1 single made the cut when the 20 finalists were whittled down to five and, as has become tradition, it was covered by another artist on the night.
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem