19 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat

02 Aug 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now. That’s not to say I think any less of other sub genres of Hip-Hop, but TheOpHilus captures the sort of Hip-Hop that I enjoy and I tip my hat to.

With a jazzy beat, TheOpHilus spills his heart out in what feels like a one-take recording. That gives it such incredible honesty. Speaking about his hardships, he also proclaims his gratitude for his little rugrat and his girl. This is a refreshing track - I could hear influences of HomeBrew in it and I applaud that. Kiwi Hip-Hop has a certain unique element and when we get artists like TheOpHilus just being themselves without trying to imitate others, there are these moments of pure clarity that come through.

I’m a big fan of this track. Great stuff. I would like to hear a lot more!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About TheOpHilus

TheOpHilus is a young Maori Rapper that just wants to be heard out.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for TheOpHilus

Releases

There are no releases to display for TheOpHilus.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
Swerve City @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 13/03/2021
14 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
It's a packed house. That's for sure.
Read More...
Keeley Shade - Single Review: On My Mind
11 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
On My Mind is a perfect example of how simple ideas can become fleshed out to provide the listener an experience worth repeating.Keeley Shade, a Canadian-born New Zealand-based singer-songwriter is releasing her debut single On My Mind.
Read More...
James Loan - EP Review: The Loan To Society
10 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
James Loan is a new young Rap/Drill artist that at only age 16 has just released his EP, The Loan To Society. I commend this effort.
Read More...
JAN - Single Review: Wud?
06 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Wud? is a new track from JAN featuring Anna Bennetto and Sam Higham.
Read More...
Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem