12 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat

02 Aug 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now. That’s not to say I think any less of other sub genres of Hip-Hop, but TheOpHilus captures the sort of Hip-Hop that I enjoy and I tip my hat to.

With a jazzy beat, TheOpHilus spills his heart out in what feels like a one-take recording. That gives it such incredible honesty. Speaking about his hardships, he also proclaims his gratitude for his little rugrat and his girl. This is a refreshing track - I could hear influences of HomeBrew in it and I applaud that. Kiwi Hip-Hop has a certain unique element and when we get artists like TheOpHilus just being themselves without trying to imitate others, there are these moments of pure clarity that come through.

I’m a big fan of this track. Great stuff. I would like to hear a lot more!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About TheOpHilus

TheOpHilus is a young Maori Rapper that just wants to be heard out.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for TheOpHilus

Releases

There are no releases to display for TheOpHilus.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Black Man Running
30 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Black Man Running is the new single from InDuna. It is a personal illustration of InDuna's racial experiences both here in New Zealand and South Africa.
Read More...
Steffany Beck - Single Review: I Have A Dream
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track I Have a Dream from Steffany Beck is a wonderfully uplifting song that feels authentic and honest. The mix and overall sound of the track allow for the recording to feel natural and heart-warming.
Read More...
Lauren Gin - EP Review: Supernova
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The EP Supernova from Lauren Gin is subtle and done so elegantly. The opening track Need To Know showcases a more thoughtful and relaxed, almost conversational like vocal that bucks the trend for the big vocal you would typically expect from a track like this.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Beths @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 11/07/2020
12 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The Beths truly showcased why they are so beloved by so many people. The way Elizabeth Stokes and her band, made up of Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair and Tristan Deck, commanded the stage so effortlessly was refreshing.
Read More...
And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • MY FUTURE
    Billie Eilish
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem