28 Feb 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Geoff Ong - Gig Review: Geoff Ong @ Cassette Nine, Auckland - 24/07/2020

31 Jul 2020 // A review by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo

I said my bygones to the week behind me. The global climate is still heavy in the background of what we all miss doing and seeing. At least one thing we all know is universal and always growing; music! This gig set the weekend on fire with its energy. Our local Auckland artists and friends got together a fantastic line-up of talented musos for a stellar Friday night at Cassette Nine. The crew rocked us off our seats onto the dance floor; it was a night you didn’t want to miss! Celebrating the new single release of Into Into You (download here) by pop artist, songwriter and producer Geoff Ong. Geoff Ong and his band headlined, with Manuela and Max Earnshaw opening prior.

The show kicked-off at 9.10pm; the crowd welcomed Manuela; an Auckland-based pop artist and singer. Manuela is a Colombian-Kiwi songwriter with gorgeous vocals and a beckoning stage presence. She shared with us a few of her originals, showcasing her open and honest lyrics. Manuela has also collaborated with a few other artists on stage. On bass for Manuela was the legendary Mazbou Q, also known as Hugh Ozumba; NZ’s own Nigerian-Kiwi rapper, producer and all-round musician. He swooped in for a distinguishable rap verse, and then electrified the harmonies. Manuela stunned us all with her enchanting voice. Featured that night we also had Spanish covers, rap-duos, and a real selection of dance numbers. She played a collaborated song called Esta Noche that stuck out - that of hers and rapper/producer Kevin Posey, also featuring Mazbou Q.

Manuela rapped a verse of Posey’s which was an empowering and cool surprise! She nailed it! Her band is tight and performed well with Josh Johnston on drums and Luan on guitar. Another talent was singer Nia, who also featured in a few songs. Manuela performed a duet with artist George After James. This track was really special, the two harmonised brilliantly together. Particularly iconic was the song Te Vas, based on Latino drama, which Manuela played with might.

Max Earnshaw came on after Manuela. Max and his band sounded dynamic and upbeat. His songs are reminiscent of pop rock/indie rock bands like Arctic Monkeys, The Strokes, The Kooks or Harry Styles. The lads studied music together at The University of Auckland. They had a jazzy blues vibe at stages, and really drew in the crowd. I loved the indie boy band feel; it really brought me back to raw live music.

Lucky last came Geoff Ong at 11pm - at least 130 of a head count. His songs are all very catchy, have great hooks, genuine lyricism and a fun-loving aura. Ong writes, performs, mixes, and produces his own songs. He is a honed guitarist and makes clean, crafty beats. However, live, Geoff Ong’s band is another type of experience! Geoff himself is very impressionable, and he sings about genuine, personable and relatable topics; he knows how to draw in and capture an audience. The band consists of Geoff Ong on vocals, Joel Griffith on bass, Robert Picot on guitar, and Dean Rodriguez on drums.

The gig celebrated the release of Geoff’s new hit Into Into You which was played mid set. It’s a song about the thrills of a new relationship, the love and the high feelings. That night we also had well-known numbers including Fingerprints, Save Me The Weekend and All The Hours. The crowd popped-off and continued to dance as they played covers to Bruno Mars, Daft Punk, Backstreet Boys and Katy Perry. Epic drum solos and guitar solos were had, and the band had excellent delivery. What a great bunch of talented musicians!

 

About Geoff Ong

Geoff Ong wants to be a pop star for dorks. “I love all the sounds and melodies of pop music, but I never really felt like I was cool enough to relate to the people performing it,” he says. “I figure there must be other people out there who feel the same way – my music is for them.”

Geoff’s 2018 single, Fingerprints, a shimmering slice of soulful indie pop, was recorded in his bedroom in Kingsland, with production, mixing and mastering by Phil Levine of the illustrious Igloo Music Studios in Los Angeles, who won two Grammy Awards for their work on 2016’s box office hit, La La Land.

Fingerprints made an immediate impact, peaking at #3 on the Hot NZ Singles Chart and #25 on the overall Hot Singles Top 40 Chart. It was also featured on ZM, The Edge, The Edge TV, and Radio New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Geoff Ong

Releases

Maybe It'll Be Alright
Year: 2020
Type: Album
The Boston EP
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Streetlights
Year: 2014
Type: EP
The Snorlax Mixtape
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Pictures
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo

Gig Review: Six60 @ Waitangi Sports Ground, Waitangi - 16/01/2021
18 Jan 2021 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
The very start of the Six60 Summer Tour began in the heart of Waitangi, the birthplace of Aotearoa, on the land where it all began. January 16th marked a very special time; a time where no other country could host an event of this kind.
Read More...
James Hunter - Single Review: You
10 Dec 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
James Hunter is a singer songwriter based in Wellington. He’s been an enthusiastic musician for some time, writing songs throughout his childhood, and also having a big interest in acting and theatre.
Read More...
VÏKÆ - Single Review: Angry Girl
09 Dec 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Auckland based songwriter and vocalist VïKÆ was originally born in Ukraine, and post-Chernobyl sought refuge here in New Zealand. She has an interesting backstory and brings forth her unique life experience to give a voice to important themes surrounding mental health, growth and expression.
Read More...
Madie - EP Review: Modern Mind
18 Nov 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Wellington-based singer songwriter Madie is releasing her debut EP titled The Modern Mind. She has been passionate about music from a young age, and has finally released something with a lot of talent, and a lot of depth.
Read More...
Gig Review: Fat Freddy's Drop @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 7/11/2020
10 Nov 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
On November 7th, Fat Freddy’s Drop at Spark Arena was an ultimate highlight to the year of 2020, playing with opening act Avantdale Bowling Club. Avantdale Bowling Club kicks off with a symphony of percussion, keys, horns, and a big double bass.
Read More...
Treenurse - Single Review: Pyjamas
26 Oct 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
The new single release by Treenurse is here! Entitled Pyjamas, this is a snappy little indie/alt-rock number about giving life a full go; trying.
Read More...
Empress - Single Review: Sailing the Seas of Grease
19 Oct 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
Empress have just released their debut single Sailing the Seas of Grease, with an incredibly artistic music video that accompanies the track. Empress are a heavy two-piece band, originally from Auckland and Hamilton.
Read More...
Sola Rosa - Album Review: Chasing The Sun
25 Sep 2020 // by Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo
The architect of Sola Rosa is Andrew Spraggon, a musician/producer based in Auckland, New Zealand. Spraggon has created his next major chapter, Chasing The Sun, which took a decent stretch of time in the making.
Read More...
View All Articles By Gaby Ivanov-Giraldo

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem