25 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

InDuna - Single Review: Black Man Running

30 Jul 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Black Man Running is the new single from InDuna. It is a personal illustration of InDuna's racial experiences both here in New Zealand and South Africa.

InDuna mentions in the accompanying press release that there is an artistic direction that pays tribute to what Kendrick Lamar was doing with To Pimp A Butterfly, which is one of my personal favourite albums of last decade.  Effects like running, breathing, along with the general vibe definitely give respectful nods to Kendrick's style while still remaining original and fresh.

InDuna's cadence and delivery in the first verse sets up a strong set of images. By having a panting effect between couplets, this all helps to hear and see what is happening. Clear lyrical descriptions of being chased by the police all while having a sense of dread with the simplistic bell synth that stays haunting you in the background. At times, this sound is slowed right down and it becomes even more haunting.

I absolutely rate this song. It has a clear vision about what it wants to capture and present to the listen and it does it by keeping things simple, although there is enough to listen out for that should make anyone who appreciates the craft of songwriting nod their head in respect. The vocals have different timbres depending on the verse and chorus, the beat keeps things moving and overall, the vibe works well with the imagery of the song.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About InDuna

Afro-Kiwi self-taught artist and producer InDuna (in-Doo-nah) takes flavours straight from his homeland and incorporates them into his Afropop infused soul sound. Inspired by the likes of Brenda Fassie and Ladysmith Black Mambazo, InDuna expresses himself and his experiences of growing up in a third world society through his music.

Born in South Africa, he had a rough childhood spending much of his early years growing up in the slums of Johannesburg and Limpopo. After moving into an orphanage at the age of eight, he was given the opportunity at fourteen to move to New Zealand.

InDuna started his music journey when he fell in love with music for the first time after hearing Brenda Fassie’s Nomakanjani. “It felt like love at first sight, but with music.” However, he only took an interest in producing his own music after high school. For the most part, music production has been an effective therapy for him to vent his emotions and to help cope with his past and present experiences. “The reason I started doing music was because I needed a way to handle my emotions and regular therapy wasn’t doing it for me.”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for InDuna

Releases

There are no releases to display for InDuna.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem