28 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New

30 Jul 2020 // A review by Paul Goddard

New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.

It is that person you meet at a party who walks up and is just immediately in your face saying look at me. Spinning around on the dancefloor alone, kicking up a storm and not giving a shit.

It demands to be heard from the off. There is no courtship going on, no easing in as the drums and bass drill into your ears at breakneck speed. The groove is deep solid and swirling as the vocals float in and out.

Those vocals are the space dust in this sonic maelstrom. Swirling around and fizzing, they push and pull as the music races along.

Nothing New is 2.43 of some of the most exciting, experimental mind-melting noise I have heard in a long time and it HAS to be played loud.

If you are lucky enough to go and see this performed live I guarantee when it is over you will stand there gobsmacked, completely floored and smiling.

Transistor are on (to) something.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Transistor

Conjuring up lush walls of bombastic sound, Wellington-based trio Transistor are one half-live band and one-half recording project. Infusing lucid guitar with fuzzed out grooves, washed-out vocals and melodic bass lines that interweave with relentless drumming.

The upcoming single Nothing New (Thursday, 23rd July) will be the band’s first release of new material since 2018’s Soft Burning Silver EP. Self-inflicted creative frustrations paired with propulsive rhythms and synthesisers, set the framework for Transistor’s Nothing New - pushing the group in a more sonically daring and fiery trajectory.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Transistor

Releases

There are no releases to display for Transistor.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

FRE3DOM - Single Review: On and On
20 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Who is pissed off right now? No?
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show - Single/Video Review: Love Song 4 Lucy
06 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes we need a distraction, and a reminder of the basic core reasons as to why we exist.Sometimes, perhaps now more than ever, we need to be reminded of the simple joy that comes with being who we are and of the love that we share with other people.
Read More...
Album Review: Thunderground
18 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Headphones in, let's go.So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer....
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: Back To The Beginning
12 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Looking back to move forward. Musicians have done this from the beginning.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern
21 Jan 2021 // by Paul Goddard
I like to be transported. Moved to a different place.
Read More...
Manzo - Single Review: Working Class Hero (John Lennon Cover)
05 Dec 2020 // by Paul Goddard
In 1946 John Lennon almost became a Kiwi. His estranged father took him to Blackpool with the intention of heading over with John to start a new life in NZ.
Read More...
The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills
05 Nov 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Do you miss anything at the moment?The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright.
Read More...
Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem