24 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Oscar LaDell - Album Review: Gone Away

29 Jul 2020 // A review by Kerry Monaghan

Gone Away is the debut album of electric blues up and coming Dunedinite, Oscar LaDell.

Despite his twenty one years of age, he’s a second generation bluesman and knows his way around a fretboard or two. In fact, it sounds like he was born with a guitar in his hands.

With a naturally rich deep voice, Oscar sounds very much like a man wise beyond his years. His vocal cadence is hauntingly captivating and remind me a lot of Chicago bluesman, Jake La Botz. Oscar’s sound has a little bit of everything from electric blues, ragtime, country and folk that he executes with a finesses I haven’t heard in a long time.

From opening titular track, Gone Away and its harmonic lead, it’s impossible to not get caught up in the toe tapping riffs. Further along on track three, Stone Man is stunning. It has such a gentle tone, highly emotive. Definitely one of my favourite tracks.

This album is most definitely not background music, it's music made to be heard and if you’re like me and yet to experience this brilliance live, this is the next best thing. Just close your eyes and let it take you on a journey.

I can’t wait to see what the future holds for Oscar LaDell, but one thing I do know is, he’ll be going far.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Oscar LaDell

Oscar LaDell, 21, was born in the US and raised in Purakaunui, Dunedin. The second-generation bluesman started out playing blues standards in nightclubs around Dunedin, featuring songs by Muddy Waters, BB King and Guitar Slim. Over the years, funk, rock, soul and more have found their way into Oscar’s music.

In the space of one of LaDell’s original songs, the sound can range from a gentle slow dance to explosive and hypnotic guitar solos. Oscar’s powerful and expressive guitar playing and soulful singing act as one to create a sound that is both reminiscent of the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s and fresh.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Oscar LaDell

Releases

Gone Away
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kerry Monaghan

TOOMS - Single Review: Dead Birds
04 Aug 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
TOOMS is possible the most unique two piece I have recently had the pleasure of reviewing. With a nebulous genre that seems to fit where things aren’t supposed to fit, I like it a lot and so should you.
Read More...
Lakius - Single/Video Review: Here We Are Still
05 Jul 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Post-Industrial Metal duo Lakius have another explosive single, this time directly in reference to our country’s marijuana legislation falling short by a 2% margin last year.Here We Are Still is another assault to the senses.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Moving Pictures
23 May 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
If the name of Swerve City sounds familiar to you, you’re probably right in thinking that yes, it is in fact borrowed from a Deftones song. You might also recognize some of the line-up of Swerve City that were formally of/currently in bands like Fire at Will, Saints of Taboo and Armed in Advance (or for those that can remember way back, AKA, Stitches) Having just had the pleasure of reviewing Swerve City’s recent third single, Moving Pictures, I can tell listeners are in for a treat, especially if you’re a fan of alternative rock, metal undertones and pop sensibilities.
Read More...
East York - Single Review: Damned Anthem
29 Mar 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
East York are back with their third single, Damned Anthem. With two singles firmly under belt, East York continue to go from strength to strength with their creativity and musicality.
Read More...
Scorn Of Creation - Album Review: Annihilation Cult
11 Mar 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Following the success of their debut album released in 2018, Scorn of Creation are back with another explosive piece of their unforgettable doom death metal with an edge, Annihilation Cult. With ten tracks full of creativity, guttural screams and intensity there is no mistaking the high energy chaos that descends upon your ears and sends you into oblivion.
Read More...
Etheran - EP Review: Doppelganger
26 Jan 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Etheran is a funky metal rock hybrid hailing from Christchurch. Formed in 2016, they officially started touring in 2018 and this is their first EP, released at the beginning of the month.
Read More...
Hateseeker - Album Review: Let's Talk About Death
13 Dec 2020 // by Kerry Monaghan
Formed in 2013 in New Plymouth, Hateseeker is a hybrid punk rock metal outfit with a twist. While they have been described as sounding a bit like Motorhead and The Ramones they are uniquely their own and bring their versions of hard and heavy riffs with a relentless energy.
Read More...
East York - Single Review: Outsiders
08 Nov 2020 // by Kerry Monaghan
Comprised of three Kiwis, Zane Rosanoski (drums) Tarquin Keys (vocals) Daz Coppins (guitar), and a Canadian, Eric Boucher (bass). Formed in Melbourne during pandemic times comes the Rock quartet, East York.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kerry Monaghan

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem