21 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

A Straw Assembly - Album Review: A Little More Life

28 Jul 2020 // A review by Darryl Baser

Right the get go this isn’t an album for the musically faint-hearted. The opening song A Saint Is Divided builds gently and beautifully into a maelstrom.

At 7:16 long, track two Seige is exactly that. It’s a monolith of a song with many instruments colliding and playing around each other.

By track 3, Creeping Hands, it’s pretty evident this album is no walk in the park. It’s fascinating and intriguing. Amongst the tags on the album’s Bandcamp page is the description and hashtag ‘prog’, and it is very fitting, as the instrumental work on this album is technically proficient and gloriously over the top.

Song 4 titled Rollcall is wonderfully frantic, a rollercoaster driven by percussion.

Lispenard St has almost a New Orleans vibe, reminding me of a traditional Creole funeral procession, except perhaps a wee bit faster.

Raincoats is a gloriously atmospheric piece, building gradually, before subsiding again.

I Crawled In Through A Buttonhole is my favourite track, both for its title, and I found it the most charming of the compositions.

If there’s one thing I love about the Bandcamp release of A Little More Life by A Straw Assembly, it’s that the words to all of the songs are written on each of the song’s pages, as M Lane’s vocals are swamped with many layers of effects, and they’re really nicely crafted lyrics, but the treatment does suit the album.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About A Straw Assembly

As M Lane’s voice seeks another sphere amid wrangling guitars, Joey M Bishop constructs a landscape for it to dwell in, here on earth, up there in the ether. From the cracks issue melodies which want to break free, songs which need to be surrounded. A world is born under the careful supervision of Patience and Industry, a world that would as soon dash you on the rocks as it would give you repose. Paying no mind to calm coastlines, A Straw Assembly sets its sights on open water.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for A Straw Assembly

Releases

A Little More Life
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ Pioneer Hall, Port Chalmers - 06/11/2020
07 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Bliss Point are a Dunedin based high school band with musical lineage including drummer Tane Cotton, son of audio engineer Dale Cotton, and nephew of Shayne P Carter. Bliss Point take to the end of the room which is used as a stage to a quarter full room of their parents, school pals and unfashionably early concert goers, your humble scribe included.
Read More...
Gig Review: Delaney Davidson @ ADJO, Dunedin - 3/11/2020
04 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Cantabrian entertainer Delaney Davidson is on a smaller venues tour which saw him play in Ophir this week, along with shows at Dunedin’s boutique venue ADJO and at The Galley in Port Chalmers. A mostly seated crowd of around 30 people waited, looking at the stage set up in the corner of ADJO, before Delaney Davidson swaggered his way through the crowd from the back area.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem