19 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ben Hazlewood - Album Review: Bloodline

27 Jul 2020 // A review by Mike Alexander

Ben Hazlewood is a songwriter for those big moments that we all encounter when we fall in and out of love.

For all the potential for joy, intimacy, belonging and fulfilment, when things fall apart there’s also the potential for deception, heartbreak, bewilderment and sadness.

On his debut album Bloodline, he’s certainly not afraid to wear his heart on his sleeve. A song such as the sweetly touching first single Lay Me Down typifies his openness and honesty.

It opens gently enough with a lovely guitar melody and a steady drum beat under-pinning the almost yearning lyric "holding out for everything that I have missed, the pull is strong, surrendering into it./ Reaching out and aiming true to be with you is my only desire". Then it deftly turns into a power pop anthem with a rousing chorus echoing around the sentiment of the song "I need a night, I need a night of whispers, come lay me down". The chorus echoes around Hazlewood’s plaintive multi-layered vocals, giving it an additional emotional surge.

Lover and The Way You Do are also fully charged 'love' songs to let your thoughts and feelings get lost in. They might idealise the object of their affection but it’s that common touch, with his own unique perspective that gives them, and the pumping but thoughtfully reflective Damned, their appeal.

Hazlewood, who cites David Bowie, Stevie Nicks, Jim Morrison and Janis Joplin among his influences, also throws up some insightful lyrics into 'the human condition' particularly on the stunning Fear Is Catching, which wouldn’t sound out of place in a U2 concert.

The lyric "I fall, I break like anyone else" is suggestive enough but the real pause for thought moment is in the line "I know the strength it takes to win the fight against myself". It’s always difficult to face up to ourselves and the choices we keep making, particularly when we find ourselves falling into the same old patterns and mistakes. It is that tiny spark of self-honesty that fires up Fear Is Catching into a song that could so easily have wallowed in self-centredness but, instead, turns into something cathartic.

Bloodline is a bold and refreshing opening statement that has commercial appeal in aces. If Hazlewood was a poker player, you could argue that he’s easy to read but perhaps that’s just the confidence of knowing that you are holding a winning hand.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Ben Hazlewood

Ben Hazlewood is the rare artist with a voice dynamic enough to captivate almost completely on its own.

As an anthemic alt-pop artist, raised on artists like Jim Morrison, David Bowie, Stevie Nicks, and Janis Joplin, his music channels an outrageous vocal strength and an emotive soul filled force. a force matched only by his magnetic stage presence and glam-rock-inspired fashion sensibilities.

His debut album Bloodline is the culmination of years of hard work. A journey that started near Wellington, New Zealand, then ventured to London for three years, where Ben fronted a rock band, before relocating to Australia, where Ben now calls Melbourne home.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ben Hazlewood

Releases

Bloodline
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Album Review: Blood & Wires Volume One
13 May 2021 // by Mike Alexander
It’s still very much a brave new world when it comes to releasing music with its ever diminishing returns for physical product and the pecuniary stranglehold the major streaming services have on the industry. That’s why Tauranga-based boutique label Blood & Wires deserves a huge thumbs-up for its innovative and down-to-earth but wildly musically ambitious launch.
Read More...
Metanoia - Single Review: Sonder
13 May 2021 // by Mike Alexander
It’s always handy for a reviewer to have a bit of background information about an artist to get a creative context of where they have come from and where they might be heading. Metanoia is a bit of a mystery in this respect.
Read More...
Mark de Clive-Lowe - EP Review: Midnight Snacks Vol.1
16 Apr 2021 // by Mike Alexander
Mark de Clive-Lowe’s musical palette has always been so refreshing engaging and diverse that each new release is like receiving a care package – you don’t know what’s inside but you know you’ll find comfort in it. The Los Angeles-based Kiwi musician, DJ and night club and record label owner has been particularly busy in the last few years with albums and EPs ranging from the chillingly melodious jazz quartet outing Live At The Blue Whale, the steamingly funky club party Church Sessions with various cohorts and the conceptual Heritage I and II, which celebrated his bi-cultural heritage (he is half-Japanese).
Read More...
Serpent Dream - EP Review: Nova
11 Apr 2021 // by Mike Alexander
Serpent Dream's Nova is the debut release on Blood & Wires. The Tauranga-based boutique label was founded by Scott Brown last year with the express aim of raising the “profile of New Zealand based electronic and experimental artists.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Single Review: Blue Skies
15 Mar 2021 // by Mike Alexander
The slim-line edition of Mecuzine - brothers Joseph and Tony Johns – seems to have gained more than it might have seemingly lost. Blues Skies is the second single released since five became two and it’s another brooding, sonic masterpiece with an but almost tragically self-effacing punch line: “She wanted him to stay/Instead she got me/What an unlucky break”.
Read More...
Ant Tarrant - Single Review: Candle Lights
09 Mar 2021 // by Mike Alexander
Ant Tarrant has served his apprenticeship and it shows. Now back in New Zealand after following his muse to Central America and the US, where he was mentored in the art of song-writing and production, he’s settled in Kare Kare and opened up a music studio.
Read More...
Naircol - Single Review: Turbo Outrun
04 Feb 2021 // by Mike Alexander
In an interview with Naircol, following the release of his debut album Isolate late last year, he put collaborative ventures at the top of his wish list. It seems Santa Claus came calling in the form of Canadian producer Tokyo Rat, the result of which is the dynamic driving anthem Turbo Outrun.
Read More...
Claire Cowan - Composition Review: Hansel and Gretel
16 Dec 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The Brothers Grimm fairy tale Hansel and Gretel is, ah, rather 'grim' to say the least. It’s the story of a brother and sister who get lost in the woods and are befriended by a cannibalistic witch who lives in a house made out of sweet things, most notably gingerbread.
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • I N T E R L U D E
    J. Cole
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem