4 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Infinity - Album Review: Icy Blue Planet

16 Jul 2020 // A review by Mike Alexander

Infinity suggests the probability of all possibilities and the possibility of all probabilities.

It's an apt name for this Hawke's Bay duo - multi instrumentalist Pateriki Hura and drummer Cameron Budge - who have now shown on two albums that their musical sweep is broad and astonishingly expansive for a duo.

In a similar vein to their self-titled debut album, Icy Blue Planet is a mixture of groove laden, dynamically textured and beautifully crafted instrumentals.

The nine tracks vary in length from the taut and edgy guitar blaze of Bucket at three minutes twenty three seconds to the towering nine minutes-plus Days On End 1,2 & 3 which has a lyrical saxophone melody and feel reminiscent of Weather Report at their most reflective and then morphs into a laid-back piano-primed interlude before switching gears into a rousing gnarly guitar workout.

There are elements of smooth jazz, specifically on the George Benson-styled The Phantom, gritty rock of the kind you'd expect from Neil Young's Crazy Horse, funk, the blues and even the occasional ambient hue.

The musicianship and production is impeccable, which makes this second serving from Infinity one to dine out on.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Infinity

Infinity are a NZ Instrumental Rock Band with a love of wide open spaces and exotica. Within our music every musical part is aware and respectful of every other parts role. We create the space which allows the musical parts to communicate their ideas freely.

We invite you into our world. If you're into a fresh approach and a unique blend of elements and style then this album is for you.

This is a no rap zone. There's no bling and fast cars. It's not an elevator or the pop music supermarket. It is a place which displays the joy of craftsmen at home in their work, exploring new form, taking some risks and loving it.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Infinity

Releases

Infinity
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Ben Hazlewood - Album Review: Bloodline
27 Jul 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Ben Hazlewood is a songwriter for those big moments that we all encounter when we fall in and out of love. For all the potential for joy, intimacy, belonging and fulfilment, when things fall apart there’s also the potential for deception, heartbreak, bewilderment and sadness.
Read More...
Gramsci - Album Review: Inheritance
06 Jul 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Paul McLaney has, metaphorically speaking, found his voice again. After a series of largely conceptual electronic albums as The Impending Adorations, he has rebooted Gramsci, the songwriting alias that has lain dormant since the release of Like Stray Voltage in 2005.
Read More...
Compilation Review: Home Alone: Winter 2020
02 Jul 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Wellington boutique label Home Alone has developed an exceptional roster of artists since it announced itself to the world in 2006. And while the creative backbone of the label has always been the triumvirate of Timothy Blackman, who actually launched the label in Dunedin with his debut EP, Lake South and French For Rabbits' Brooke Singer, it has expanded its repertoire and reach with such as internationalists Helena Massey and Shenondoah Davis.
Read More...
Sunny Ray - Album Review: Sentient Compass
16 Jun 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The transformation in Sunny Ray has always seemed inevitable since she made her debut in 2010 with the delightfully visionary EP Mindlessness. Here was a voice that spoke to us of the journey of the soul and the process of its awakening.
Read More...
Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: You Found Me Too
03 Jun 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The retooled Ignatia : Rising continue to surprise with their latest release - a quiet stunner, which is perhaps a reflection of these times when we have all been forced to look deep within ourselves. After three singles that made it almost impossible to pigeon-hole their style or swagger, You Found Me Too is an acoustic ballad "an ode to unconditional love".
Read More...
Levi Patel - Album Review: A Shifting Lightness
19 Mar 2020 // by Mike Alexander
There is a place within all of us where our darkness gives way to the light and our sorrows become our rejoicing. It is elusive but wearies not as we journey through life with all of its disappointments.
Read More...
Jackie Bristow - Single Review: Blue Moon Rising
11 Feb 2020 // by Mike Alexander
For those who have followed the career of Stateside-based, but born and bred in New Zealand, songwriter Jackie Bristow there's an unintentional (as far as I am aware) poignancy about the release of her latest single Blue Moon Rising. It signals a slight wind shift, a change in musical direction, bought about by the musical influences she's been surrounded by since moving from Austin, Texas, to Nashville, Tennessee, in 2017.
Read More...
Tom Ludvigson and Trevor Reekie - Album Review: Roto
20 Jan 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Technology without artifice is a rarity in music nowadays – any 'nerd' with an understanding of the various software programmes available for composing music can create something out of nothing without being compelled by an inner muse. Roto, by Tom Ludvigson and Trevor Reekie, is an exception to such mundaneness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • EXILE
    Taylor Swift feat. Bon Iver
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE 1
    Taylor Swift
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem