30 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lauren Gin - EP Review: Supernova

13 Jul 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The EP Supernova from Lauren Gin is subtle and done so elegantly. The opening track Need To Know showcases a more thoughtful and relaxed, almost conversational like vocal that bucks the trend for the big vocal you would typically expect from a track like this. It has a great beat with the build that leads us to a huge drop. Sonically, it is spacious and exciting. Hints of Jazz in the vocals really help to make this track stand out from others in the genre.

From there, the listener is taken on a journey through the mind of Lauren Gin who is well known for her DJing on Radio Burger Fuel as well as being a regular at venues around Auckland. Her experience as a DJ and Producer is evident here on this EP. With its Trap/Future Bass tunes, these four tracks really showcase what Lauren is capable of.

Go has to be one of the coolest tracks on the EP with its tasty chord progression with a few tricks up its sleeve. It is a simple track that sounds absolutely massive on a great set of speakers.

The final track, Last Time has a real Zedd vibe to it. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if Zedd was an influential producer of Lauren's. More importantly, Lauren brings her own flavour to what she does and approaches the craft of songwriting and producing in her own manner.

I would love to hear more from Lauren and look forward to a full-length release, alongside some further collaborations.

Supernova is now available on Spotify.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lauren Gin

Lauren Gin is an electronic producer/DJ from Auckland, New Zealand. Lauren started DJing when she was 20 years old and now has gone on to release Trap and Future Bass music. As well as beat-making, she's a prominent DJ in the New Zealand scene, with regular gigs in Auckland's nightlife as well as playing at big annual festivals. She's also played overseas in LA, Portland, Bali, and Mexico. 

Lauren Gin dropped her first single, Portland in 2019. This month of July 2020, she's released her debut EP called Supernova, available on all streaming platforms.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lauren Gin

Releases

Supernova
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.
Read More...
Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem