24 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lauren Gin - EP Review: Supernova

13 Jul 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The EP Supernova from Lauren Gin is subtle and done so elegantly. The opening track Need To Know showcases a more thoughtful and relaxed, almost conversational like vocal that bucks the trend for the big vocal you would typically expect from a track like this. It has a great beat with the build that leads us to a huge drop. Sonically, it is spacious and exciting. Hints of Jazz in the vocals really help to make this track stand out from others in the genre.

From there, the listener is taken on a journey through the mind of Lauren Gin who is well known for her DJing on Radio Burger Fuel as well as being a regular at venues around Auckland. Her experience as a DJ and Producer is evident here on this EP. With its Trap/Future Bass tunes, these four tracks really showcase what Lauren is capable of.

Go has to be one of the coolest tracks on the EP with its tasty chord progression with a few tricks up its sleeve. It is a simple track that sounds absolutely massive on a great set of speakers.

The final track, Last Time has a real Zedd vibe to it. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if Zedd was an influential producer of Lauren's. More importantly, Lauren brings her own flavour to what she does and approaches the craft of songwriting and producing in her own manner.

I would love to hear more from Lauren and look forward to a full-length release, alongside some further collaborations.

Supernova is now available on Spotify.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lauren Gin

Lauren Gin is an electronic producer/DJ from Auckland, New Zealand. Lauren started DJing when she was 20 years old and now has gone on to release Trap and Future Bass music. As well as beat-making, she's a prominent DJ in the New Zealand scene, with regular gigs in Auckland's nightlife as well as playing at big annual festivals. She's also played overseas in LA, Portland, Bali, and Mexico. 

Lauren Gin dropped her first single, Portland in 2019. This month of July 2020, she's released her debut EP called Supernova, available on all streaming platforms.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lauren Gin

Releases

Supernova
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz
15 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Oh man. I like this.
Read More...
Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired
10 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits
08 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses.
Read More...
2Fly Ty - Single Review: That Track Feat. Dilz
03 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
2FLY TY's newest track entitled That Track is out now and features bars from Dilz. Both Ty and Dilz perform well here with TY’s flow being delivered on a rather flat way; not hyped and not like he’s not trying.
Read More...
Goodlynx - Single/Video Review: Purple Blue
10 Aug 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting Purple Blue off with a real honest vibe is the sound of a major 7th on a guitar. This interval sets a tone and mood that allows Goodlynx to be direct and honest with his audience.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Resurrection Feat. He Ra
22 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz is real. He is authentic.
Read More...
Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King
21 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Ride The Wave Feat. Valle
26 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I’m a big fan of Hip-Hop - I teach it at school to my students. Hip-Hop is about being real and it has an honest vibe to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem