21 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lauren Gin - EP Review: Supernova

13 Jul 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The EP Supernova from Lauren Gin is subtle and done so elegantly. The opening track Need To Know showcases a more thoughtful and relaxed, almost conversational like vocal that bucks the trend for the big vocal you would typically expect from a track like this. It has a great beat with the build that leads us to a huge drop. Sonically, it is spacious and exciting. Hints of Jazz in the vocals really help to make this track stand out from others in the genre.

From there, the listener is taken on a journey through the mind of Lauren Gin who is well known for her DJing on Radio Burger Fuel as well as being a regular at venues around Auckland. Her experience as a DJ and Producer is evident here on this EP. With its Trap/Future Bass tunes, these four tracks really showcase what Lauren is capable of.

Go has to be one of the coolest tracks on the EP with its tasty chord progression with a few tricks up its sleeve. It is a simple track that sounds absolutely massive on a great set of speakers.

The final track, Last Time has a real Zedd vibe to it. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if Zedd was an influential producer of Lauren's. More importantly, Lauren brings her own flavour to what she does and approaches the craft of songwriting and producing in her own manner.

I would love to hear more from Lauren and look forward to a full-length release, alongside some further collaborations.

Supernova is now available on Spotify.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lauren Gin

Lauren Gin is an electronic producer/DJ from Auckland, New Zealand. Lauren started DJing when she was 20 years old and now has gone on to release Trap and Future Bass music. As well as beat-making, she's a prominent DJ in the New Zealand scene, with regular gigs in Auckland's nightlife as well as playing at big annual festivals. She's also played overseas in LA, Portland, Bali, and Mexico. 

Lauren Gin dropped her first single, Portland in 2019. This month of July 2020, she's released her debut EP called Supernova, available on all streaming platforms.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lauren Gin

Releases

Supernova
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: Don’t Know For Sure
12 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ignatia : Rising are a 4-piece, occasional more piece, pop/rock group who crafted their style in the Wild West (Auckland, NZ) party and club circuit in the mid 90's. Their newest track, Don't Know For Sure brings about a sense of nostalgia.
Read More...
Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem