19 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lauren Gin - EP Review: Supernova

13 Jul 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The EP Supernova from Lauren Gin is subtle and done so elegantly. The opening track Need To Know showcases a more thoughtful and relaxed, almost conversational like vocal that bucks the trend for the big vocal you would typically expect from a track like this. It has a great beat with the build that leads us to a huge drop. Sonically, it is spacious and exciting. Hints of Jazz in the vocals really help to make this track stand out from others in the genre.

From there, the listener is taken on a journey through the mind of Lauren Gin who is well known for her DJing on Radio Burger Fuel as well as being a regular at venues around Auckland. Her experience as a DJ and Producer is evident here on this EP. With its Trap/Future Bass tunes, these four tracks really showcase what Lauren is capable of.

Go has to be one of the coolest tracks on the EP with its tasty chord progression with a few tricks up its sleeve. It is a simple track that sounds absolutely massive on a great set of speakers.

The final track, Last Time has a real Zedd vibe to it. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if Zedd was an influential producer of Lauren's. More importantly, Lauren brings her own flavour to what she does and approaches the craft of songwriting and producing in her own manner.

I would love to hear more from Lauren and look forward to a full-length release, alongside some further collaborations.

Supernova is now available on Spotify.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lauren Gin

Lauren Gin is an electronic producer/DJ from Auckland, New Zealand. Lauren started DJing when she was 20 years old and now has gone on to release Trap and Future Bass music. As well as beat-making, she's a prominent DJ in the New Zealand scene, with regular gigs in Auckland's nightlife as well as playing at big annual festivals. She's also played overseas in LA, Portland, Bali, and Mexico. 

Lauren Gin dropped her first single, Portland in 2019. This month of July 2020, she's released her debut EP called Supernova, available on all streaming platforms.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lauren Gin

Releases

Supernova
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
Swerve City @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 13/03/2021
14 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
It's a packed house. That's for sure.
Read More...
Keeley Shade - Single Review: On My Mind
11 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
On My Mind is a perfect example of how simple ideas can become fleshed out to provide the listener an experience worth repeating.Keeley Shade, a Canadian-born New Zealand-based singer-songwriter is releasing her debut single On My Mind.
Read More...
James Loan - EP Review: The Loan To Society
10 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
James Loan is a new young Rap/Drill artist that at only age 16 has just released his EP, The Loan To Society. I commend this effort.
Read More...
JAN - Single Review: Wud?
06 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Wud? is a new track from JAN featuring Anna Bennetto and Sam Higham.
Read More...
Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem