8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lauren Gin - EP Review: Supernova

13 Jul 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The EP Supernova from Lauren Gin is subtle and done so elegantly. The opening track Need To Know showcases a more thoughtful and relaxed, almost conversational like vocal that bucks the trend for the big vocal you would typically expect from a track like this. It has a great beat with the build that leads us to a huge drop. Sonically, it is spacious and exciting. Hints of Jazz in the vocals really help to make this track stand out from others in the genre.

From there, the listener is taken on a journey through the mind of Lauren Gin who is well known for her DJing on Radio Burger Fuel as well as being a regular at venues around Auckland. Her experience as a DJ and Producer is evident here on this EP. With its Trap/Future Bass tunes, these four tracks really showcase what Lauren is capable of.

Go has to be one of the coolest tracks on the EP with its tasty chord progression with a few tricks up its sleeve. It is a simple track that sounds absolutely massive on a great set of speakers.

The final track, Last Time has a real Zedd vibe to it. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if Zedd was an influential producer of Lauren's. More importantly, Lauren brings her own flavour to what she does and approaches the craft of songwriting and producing in her own manner.

I would love to hear more from Lauren and look forward to a full-length release, alongside some further collaborations.

Supernova is now available on Spotify.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lauren Gin

Lauren Gin is an electronic producer/DJ from Auckland, New Zealand. Lauren started DJing when she was 20 years old and now has gone on to release Trap and Future Bass music. As well as beat-making, she's a prominent DJ in the New Zealand scene, with regular gigs in Auckland's nightlife as well as playing at big annual festivals. She's also played overseas in LA, Portland, Bali, and Mexico. 

Lauren Gin dropped her first single, Portland in 2019. This month of July 2020, she's released her debut EP called Supernova, available on all streaming platforms.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lauren Gin

Releases

Supernova
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
Taiotims - EP Review: Thank You For Your Patience
22 Nov 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats.
Read More...
Eliezer - Single Review: Certified Professional Dreamer
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is back after a little while with his new track Certified Professional Dreamer. Produced with long-time collaborator Ten Oh, the track continues to show why Eliezer is name you need to stay aware of.
Read More...
Teazse - Single Review: Love, Money Or Drugs
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Teazse, an independent rap artist from Auckland, brings a lot of what people like about modern hip hop and brings it into his own world, while still acknowledging the sound of those that came before. For example, the sampled pitched voice works well when used well, and it's done here well.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: I'm Life Feat Nawazish Ali Khan
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental.
Read More...
Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem