27 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Beths - Gig Review: The Beths @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 11/07/2020

12 Jul 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The Beths truly showcased why they are so beloved by so many people. The way Elizabeth Stokes and her band, made up of Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair and Tristan Deck, commanded the stage so effortlessly was refreshing. In fact, the two-way communication that existed between the audience and the band was magical.

Opening with the first track off their latest album Jump Rope Gazers, the crowd immediately began to get right into. The opening guitars really set the show alight, as it does the album, and hit after hit, the band continued to deliver.

Sonically, I don't believe I have heard a band sound that good at The Powerstation before. Everything was perfectly mixed. The Beths sound is honest and brilliantly captured on their recordings that when you hear songs like Future Me Hates Me, or Dying To Believe live (just to name a few), you could almost imagine they were performed exactly like that and then cut into vinyl. The interactions between the band and the audience allow for more energy to come into their live sound, and yet, it's still all there in the recordings.

I was so happy to see the entire band having a good time with Ben and Tristan holding the rhythm section together ever so tightly while still moving around, smiling and having fun. Both Jonathan and Elizabeth showcased their guitar skills, with special mention to the two different timbres they had which worked perfectly together. The guitar solos were lively and performed with passion. It was all very contagious and the audience could feel the positivity. Even when Tristan started playing the wrong beat during the show, the band all had a laugh and the audience did too.

I had never seen The Beths perform live before, but I will absolutely be seeing them again soon. The group has a special chemistry with their fan base that is so humble and heart-warming which is really felt in their upbeat pop-rock music that reminded me of my youth with bands like Weezer and that whole indie/alternative sound. Each track was full of catchy melodies and sincere lyrics. All around me, people knew the words and were singing their hearts out. I couldn't help but feel happy and upbeat.

During the final song of the main set, Dying To Believe, they had Chloe Swarbrick up on stage promoting the Green Party, but more importantly, encouraging everyone to get out and vote. They even had a live rendition of the Orakei station soundbite performed live that appears in the track. After saying their goodbyes, they were quickly wooed back on stage for an encore with You Wouldn't Like Me before letting us return to the real world.

It was a truly fantastic show and one that proves just how much incredible NZ Music there is. It was nice to see The Beths paying it forward by allowing Phoebe Rings to be their opening act and yet it was only their second live show ever. Special mention goes to that group. They were brilliant and had a beautiful sound that was the perfect opening act for The Beths.

Bravo, The Beths. Well played! (Pun intended).

Photos courtesy of Nikita Weir / Antonia Pearl Photography

 

Releases

Jump Rope Gazers
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Future Me Hates Me
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Warm Blood
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz
15 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Oh man. I like this.
Read More...
Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired
10 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits
08 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses.
Read More...
2Fly Ty - Single Review: That Track Feat. Dilz
03 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
2FLY TY's newest track entitled That Track is out now and features bars from Dilz. Both Ty and Dilz perform well here with TY’s flow being delivered on a rather flat way; not hyped and not like he’s not trying.
Read More...
Goodlynx - Single/Video Review: Purple Blue
10 Aug 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting Purple Blue off with a real honest vibe is the sound of a major 7th on a guitar. This interval sets a tone and mood that allows Goodlynx to be direct and honest with his audience.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Resurrection Feat. He Ra
22 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz is real. He is authentic.
Read More...
Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King
21 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Ride The Wave Feat. Valle
26 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I’m a big fan of Hip-Hop - I teach it at school to my students. Hip-Hop is about being real and it has an honest vibe to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem