12 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Beths - Gig Review: The Beths @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 11/07/2020

12 Jul 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The Beths truly showcased why they are so beloved by so many people. The way Elizabeth Stokes and her band, made up of Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair and Tristan Deck, commanded the stage so effortlessly was refreshing. In fact, the two-way communication that existed between the audience and the band was magical.

Opening with the first track off their latest album Jump Rope Gazers, the crowd immediately began to get right into. The opening guitars really set the show alight, as it does the album, and hit after hit, the band continued to deliver.

Sonically, I don't believe I have heard a band sound that good at The Powerstation before. Everything was perfectly mixed. The Beths sound is honest and brilliantly captured on their recordings that when you hear songs like Future Me Hates Me, or Dying To Believe live (just to name a few), you could almost imagine they were performed exactly like that and then cut into vinyl. The interactions between the band and the audience allow for more energy to come into their live sound, and yet, it's still all there in the recordings.

I was so happy to see the entire band having a good time with Ben and Tristan holding the rhythm section together ever so tightly while still moving around, smiling and having fun. Both Jonathan and Elizabeth showcased their guitar skills, with special mention to the two different timbres they had which worked perfectly together. The guitar solos were lively and performed with passion. It was all very contagious and the audience could feel the positivity. Even when Tristan started playing the wrong beat during the show, the band all had a laugh and the audience did too.

I had never seen The Beths perform live before, but I will absolutely be seeing them again soon. The group has a special chemistry with their fan base that is so humble and heart-warming which is really felt in their upbeat pop-rock music that reminded me of my youth with bands like Weezer and that whole indie/alternative sound. Each track was full of catchy melodies and sincere lyrics. All around me, people knew the words and were singing their hearts out. I couldn't help but feel happy and upbeat.

During the final song of the main set, Dying To Believe, they had Chloe Swarbrick up on stage promoting the Green Party, but more importantly, encouraging everyone to get out and vote. They even had a live rendition of the Orakei station soundbite performed live that appears in the track. After saying their goodbyes, they were quickly wooed back on stage for an encore with You Wouldn't Like Me before letting us return to the real world.

It was a truly fantastic show and one that proves just how much incredible NZ Music there is. It was nice to see The Beths paying it forward by allowing Phoebe Rings to be their opening act and yet it was only their second live show ever. Special mention goes to that group. They were brilliant and had a beautiful sound that was the perfect opening act for The Beths.

Bravo, The Beths. Well played! (Pun intended).

Photos courtesy of Nikita Weir / Antonia Pearl Photography

 

Releases

Warm Blood
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Black Man Running
30 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Black Man Running is the new single from InDuna. It is a personal illustration of InDuna's racial experiences both here in New Zealand and South Africa.
Read More...
Steffany Beck - Single Review: I Have A Dream
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track I Have a Dream from Steffany Beck is a wonderfully uplifting song that feels authentic and honest. The mix and overall sound of the track allow for the recording to feel natural and heart-warming.
Read More...
Lauren Gin - EP Review: Supernova
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The EP Supernova from Lauren Gin is subtle and done so elegantly. The opening track Need To Know showcases a more thoughtful and relaxed, almost conversational like vocal that bucks the trend for the big vocal you would typically expect from a track like this.
Read More...
And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • MY FUTURE
    Billie Eilish
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem