28 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Beths - Gig Review: The Beths @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 11/07/2020

12 Jul 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The Beths truly showcased why they are so beloved by so many people. The way Elizabeth Stokes and her band, made up of Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair and Tristan Deck, commanded the stage so effortlessly was refreshing. In fact, the two-way communication that existed between the audience and the band was magical.

Opening with the first track off their latest album Jump Rope Gazers, the crowd immediately began to get right into. The opening guitars really set the show alight, as it does the album, and hit after hit, the band continued to deliver.

Sonically, I don't believe I have heard a band sound that good at The Powerstation before. Everything was perfectly mixed. The Beths sound is honest and brilliantly captured on their recordings that when you hear songs like Future Me Hates Me, or Dying To Believe live (just to name a few), you could almost imagine they were performed exactly like that and then cut into vinyl. The interactions between the band and the audience allow for more energy to come into their live sound, and yet, it's still all there in the recordings.

I was so happy to see the entire band having a good time with Ben and Tristan holding the rhythm section together ever so tightly while still moving around, smiling and having fun. Both Jonathan and Elizabeth showcased their guitar skills, with special mention to the two different timbres they had which worked perfectly together. The guitar solos were lively and performed with passion. It was all very contagious and the audience could feel the positivity. Even when Tristan started playing the wrong beat during the show, the band all had a laugh and the audience did too.

I had never seen The Beths perform live before, but I will absolutely be seeing them again soon. The group has a special chemistry with their fan base that is so humble and heart-warming which is really felt in their upbeat pop-rock music that reminded me of my youth with bands like Weezer and that whole indie/alternative sound. Each track was full of catchy melodies and sincere lyrics. All around me, people knew the words and were singing their hearts out. I couldn't help but feel happy and upbeat.

During the final song of the main set, Dying To Believe, they had Chloe Swarbrick up on stage promoting the Green Party, but more importantly, encouraging everyone to get out and vote. They even had a live rendition of the Orakei station soundbite performed live that appears in the track. After saying their goodbyes, they were quickly wooed back on stage for an encore with You Wouldn't Like Me before letting us return to the real world.

It was a truly fantastic show and one that proves just how much incredible NZ Music there is. It was nice to see The Beths paying it forward by allowing Phoebe Rings to be their opening act and yet it was only their second live show ever. Special mention goes to that group. They were brilliant and had a beautiful sound that was the perfect opening act for The Beths.

Bravo, The Beths. Well played! (Pun intended).

Photos courtesy of Nikita Weir / Antonia Pearl Photography

 

Releases

Jump Rope Gazers
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Warm Blood
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
An Electric Heart - Album Review: Otiose Me
06 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As you press play, the prologue hits you hard and it is obvious that Luke Pell, known as An Electric Heart, has a great understanding on sonics and dynamics on his new album Otiose Me.Luke Pell describes the An Electric Heart sound as 'alternative pop'.
Read More...
Matt Bizzle - Single Review: Just Let Me Know with Kevin Posey Feat. Lily Jackson
05 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The reggaeton beat has been quite the staple in music trends for some time now, and with the new track Just Let Me Know from Matt Bizzle, it isn't the main feature. Instead, it is used in the right places to give this track a different vibe at the exact moment it is needed.
Read More...
Lester - Single Review: Sometimes Feat. Aunty Rae
29 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On Lester's latest track Sometimes, featuring Aunty Rae, the New Zealand Hip-Hop artist turns his focus inward and discusses the things that we miss when we are away from home; which in his case is a list of memories that make home what it is. And yet, the real meaning of home is blurred and put to question.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem