18 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Zero Plussed - EP Review: I'll Stay For One More Song And Then It's Bedtime

30 Jun 2020 // A review by Adrian Drew

Zero Plussed's I'll Stay For One More Song And Then It's Bedtime is the first EP from newly created Aotearoa DIY electronic label, Acoldplace.

Arguably one of NZ's best outdoor festivals was The Gathering, where you could wander aimlessly around a forest in the dark and stumble upon a clearing of fellow Gatherers. Illuminated by some mind-bending visual arts installation, the aural accompaniment could easily be Zero Plussed.

From the first three bottomless bass notes of the opening track Tired of Being An Icon, I am instantly transported into a dystopian sci-fi movie. The atmosphere is thick and heavy, almost clawing as the arrhythmic beating pulse sets the scene. It's all about atmosphere and space, minimalist without being empty. The constant thrum providing a spine for samples and break beats, reminding me of my early days playing around in the studio with Leftfield and Orbital on CART and DAT machines.

Coming in at just under 11 minutes, it's best listened to in its entirety to fully immerse yourself into the world. electronic music's ability to invoke emotion is much easier than narrative, but Zero Plussed manages to tick both boxes. The final track, It's A Dance Flaw, I'm Just Not Feeling It, builds with impending doom for almost a minute and a half. The heavy breathing and the repeated vox sample "What really bothers me, is to think of those people out there", put me in the first person, possibly in the toilets at a gig, as I witnessed something sordid and debauched. When the intensity kicks in, I am blurred in my surroundings, preferring to listen through the wall from the safety of my stall.

DIY can so often go horribly wrong, but this EP shows the talent and diversity this country has to offer. Typical of kiwi artists to borrow from here and pay homage there, but in doing so, create something all of their own.

It's a strong start for Zero Plussed and I look forward their next instalment... or perhaps I might just stumble through the dark into a clearing and I'll Stay For One More Song And Then It's Bedtime.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Zero Plussed

Other Reviews By Adrian Drew

Crystalator - Single Review: Sludge
18 Mar 2022 // by Adrian Drew
I have the pleasure of introducing THE new rock act hailing from Auckland, Crystalator. I'm listening to their debut single Sludge.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - Single Review: Too Much Touch
07 Dec 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Right from the off Too Much Touch roars into life, Pass The Peas are back with a big sound and massive hooks... I'm hooked.
Read More...
Neverwoz - EP Review: The Elysian EP
18 Nov 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Neverwoz - The Elysian EP, is the follow up to the 2018 Minor Words and Major Thirds album. The album was recorded towards the end of 2019 and the beginning of 2020 on the Kapiti Coast by Karl and Charlie Wootton (Merrin).
Read More...
Underscore - Single Review: Never Coming Back
02 Aug 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Never Coming Back is the second single release from Auckland alternative rock band, Underscore. The relatively new band in town consists of; Jonathan Meyer - guitars/vocals, Hon Manawangphiphat - bass and Josh Johnston - drums.
Read More...
Jason Kerrison - Single Review: The Timing
22 Jun 2021 // by Adrian Drew
Jason Kerrison, the prodigal pop rock son returns with the lead single from his upcoming debut solo album, The Timing. This is four years in the making and the (ahem) timing couldn't be better, released the day after becoming the inaugural winner of the Masked Singer NZ.
Read More...
The Jordan Luck Band - Gig Review: Jordan Luck Band with Ekko Park @ The Mangawhai Tavern, Mangawhai - 19/06/2021
20 Jun 2021 // by Adrian Drew
I'll start with an admission; I was well up for this gig! A Kiwi icon, at an iconic venue, with a superstar rock opening act...
Read More...
Cut Off Your Hands - Album Review: HLLH (Higher Lows Lower Highs)
19 Oct 2020 // by Adrian Drew
Cut Off Your Hands long awaited third and final album HLLH (Higher Lows Lower Highs) is exactly that; full of highs and lows. Throughout the listen, I found myself wanting to both; hate and love somebody for everything this album is about.
Read More...
Your Indigo - Single Review: Higher
01 Oct 2020 // by Adrian Drew
Christchurch based alt-pop band Your Indigo  have released their new single Higher. After releasing their debut EP December 2019, Your Indigo explores new ideas with Higher, wrapping their 'rich tapestry' of sound around a pulsating kick drum in this thought-provoking club track.
Read More...
View All Articles By Adrian Drew

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem