14 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hummucide - Single Review: Reacher

25 Jun 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

Picture a wonderfully blissful day, slow wanderings around the park as it blooms fully into the start of a new creation, beckoning good will and tidings to all that seek it. With that picture in mind, now listen to the new single from Hummucide Reacher and transcend the only way possible from the vibe that jazz music can only touch.

Jazz music has its own place in the music folklore for having something in its loins that no other genre can claim as their own. Okay, I might be over stepping my writing and reviewing credentials, but Hummucide do a wonderful job of creating a wonderful piece of music that tickles the taste buds for a musical revival of sorts. From its psychedelic start, to its raspy sax solo that gravitates through most of the song. If I have learnt something from my humble 40 years on this planet, is you cannot go wrong with some saxophone. Amazingly, there is some real funk to this song that should not go unnoticed, especially with the use of the keyboard in the middle, as it takes centre stage away from the sax.

Instrumental songs are very hit and miss in today’s world as song lyrics and the singer can add a lot to the production and overall quality of the song itself. I think the song carries itself very well and does not feel like it is dragging on at all even though it is four and half minutes long. The subtle changes in the vibe allow the song to continue to feel fresh all the way through. I really enjoyed this song, and it gave me a renewed want to investigate the jazz scene on a different level, well done chaps.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Hummucide

Born out of the thriving music scene in Te Aro, Wellington, Hummucide is a four-piece minimalist-rock-jazz group. From BadBadNotGood to Aphex Twin to Yussef Kamaal, their influences come from far and wide. Their goal is to get you dancing and feeling something special.

The band comprises of Toby Leman on saxophone (Dr. Reknaw, Revulva, General Vibe), Ben Stewart on keyboard and synths (Sky Canvas, Dr. Reknaw), Lennox Grootjans on drums (Dr. Reknaw) and Hugo Olsen-Smith on bass (O and the Mo, Evolving Wilds). They all started out at the prestigious Te Koki NZSM, before traveling their own musical roads and coming back together to form the Hummucide sound.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hummucide

Releases

There are no releases to display for Hummucide.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Mini Simmons - Single Review: Travelling Show
12 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
With a skip in my step, bounding my way through Trafalgar Square making my way to the center of the world as I knew it, London Town, this brand new single by Mini Simmons is, as they say in London, ruddy bloody good. I love songs that take me back to bygone days of freedom and an ignorance that only a young 20 year old called entangle into his swagger.
Read More...
Whaea Stylz - Single Review: North Star
11 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Whenever anyone makes the plunge into Reggae style music, you just know you are in for a treat, and there is no difference here with Whaea Stylz latest single North Star; an infused reggae beat that is guaranteed to get you moving even those muscles you never knew existed. I was really drawn in by the range of instruments, especially the piano, I thought its use really added to the song.
Read More...
Found Family - Single Review: Alive
27 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
Again, New Zealand music goes and surprises me, and in a good way. It reminds me of my trip to a well-known hot pool resort in the South Island; I arrived there with my little buddy that I mentor and saw the price of entrance.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single Review: Undercover
13 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was pleasantly surprised when I was reminded that I also reviewed Phil Stoodley's work 7 years ago. This was like a coming of age moment and having recently returned to the duties of music reviewing, I thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia of that memory.
Read More...
Terrence & The Optimistics - EP Review: Groovy Baby
07 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
As an eternal optimist, the chance to review a band with that term implanted into their vibe was an easy decision. Some would say that this is a recipe for bias reviewing, I would rather see it as a an extra brownie point before I had even cracked open the computer salivating in anticipation for some retro nostalgic soul grooves of the 60’s and 70;s, not that I was there in person, only in spirit.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Feel
14 Apr 2020 // by Chris Chick
Feel is the second single from Papercity since their debut track Plastic and this one is a rasper. I came into this review on a very neutral playing field and as soon as the song started I was hooked.
Read More...
Shady Brain Farm - EP Review: Orange to Red
13 Mar 2020 // by Chris Chick
Shady Brain Farm have played together as a group off and on for the last 20 years, with all the members living in the Northwest Auckland area of Kumeu, Waimauku and Muriwai Beach. The music they make reflects this West Coast beach vibe.
Read More...
Beacon Bloom - Single Review: Little Kingdom
15 Jan 2020 // by Chris Chick
The one aspect of music reviewing I love the most, is finding out about new musicians, the depth of talent that New Zealand has is astounding and very exciting. Beacon Bloom, I applaud you and your efforts, and that is not just because you are based in Christchurch, even though that gets extra brownie points.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem