7 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sean Bodley - Single Review: Sunday Drive

17 Jun 2020 // A review by Brendan McCarthy

In the world of lead guitar and instrumental offerings, Sean Bodley needs no introduction.

Over the last 10 years, Sean has established a catalogue of six albums that display his dedication to the Guitar as an instrument of creation and clearly highlight his talent; therefore, one could correctly state that his latest single Sunday Drive is not his first rodeo.

Set to an upbeat rock shuffle tempo, Sunday Drive feels exactly as it states. From the moment the song begins, I feel like I am raising the door on my garage to reveal a sports car of some considerable stature, jumping in and heading off into a beautiful sunny afternoon with the top down and the wind in my hair.

Writing instrumental music is not an easy task, as one does not have the emotion and poetry of lyrics to help mold the feel of the melody, thus assisting in developing the journey of the song. However, through subtle playing differences Sean is able to astutely structure the sections of his track to consistently offer the listener a little bit more while restating what has already been delivered. This is a skill learned via experience and one that I salute.

Sunday Drive is another excellent display of Sean's talent as a master Guitar player. The track is produced to a high modern standard and as such will appeal to any and all who have chosen the way of the axe.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sean Bodley

Solo instrumental guitarist, previous albums include:

Sean Bodley (1999)
Acoustic Soundscapes (2014)
Balance (2014)

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sean Bodley

Releases

Neon Daydreams
Year: 2020
Type: Album
I Am Human
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Genesis
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Pitch Black
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Acoustic Soundscapes
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Balance
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Sean Bodley
Year: 1999
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Brendan McCarthy

ShockOne x Lee Mvtthews - Single Review: Thinkin About
09 Jun 2022 // by Brendan McCarthy
If you are entrenched in and or familiar with the world of EDM (specifically Drum n Bass) then Lee Mvtthews will require no introduction, but for those of us that are perhaps not keeping up, here is the group summary in three sentences from a Kiwi perspective: A few years back in 2012, a couple of Auckland blokes named Graham Matthews and Tom Lee were knocking the top off a few beers while shooting the shizness about the music business. They found that they were both into the same stuff, right and decided to have a crack at making a few tunes on the computer.
Read More...
Goodspace - Single Review: Sit Down
05 May 2022 // by Brendan McCarthy
Goodspace are an Auckland 4-piece band in the style of what I want to call Glitch Dream Rock. A style that fuses together traditional songwriting styles with modern EDM soundscapes over Dream Pop vocal styles.
Read More...
Neil Beales - Single Review: Missing Words
13 Apr 2022 // by Brendan McCarthy
Missing Words is the latest solo offering from Wellington based songwriter Neil Beales who is also a member of the band Tower of Flints. The track was Recorded at the Outland Sessions, a week long songwriting collaboration event where Neil has been a regular attendee for the last few years.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crowded House @ Claudelands Arena, Hamilton - 23/03/2021
24 Mar 2021 // by Brendan McCarthy
The Crowded House To The Island tour strolled into Hamilton last night and took a seat at Claudelands Arena. A strong crowd of 4000 fans, comfortably arranged in a theatre style setting waited patiently for this long overdue performance from our favourite sons.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Waihi Beach Hotel, Waihi Beach - 04/01/2021
05 Jan 2021 // by Brendan McCarthy
The Jon Toogood Solo, Acoustic tour rolled into the Waihi Beach Hotel last night and I was indeed an eager attendee. Jon has been regularly performing in this format for the last few years but the stars have not always been aligned to allow me to catch the gig, so I wanted to make sure that I did not let this opportunity pass by again.
Read More...
Michael Morris - Single Review: Pseudoephedrine
20 Dec 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
Dunedin based Alternative Pop/Rock/Punk musician Michael Morris returns home following an extensive journey throughout Europe while based in France. The first single from his upcoming sophomore album is called Pseudoephedrine and is a nice example of what is shaping up to be a noteworthy body of work.
Read More...
Personal Igloo - EP Review: Phone-in Serotonin
17 Nov 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
For the last couple of days I have driven home with my windows down to allow the beautiful Bay of Plenty sunshine to stream into my life and for these journeys I have chilled to the most excellent musical sounds of Phone-in Serotonin by Personal Igloo. This has been perfect timing all round and a joyful reminder of how privileged we are as kiwis to live in paradise and be able to consume our own unique culture.
Read More...
Andy Snadden - Album Review: The River
27 May 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
The River is the debut album by Japan-based Kiwi singer/songwriter Andy Snadden. Displaying clear influences from some of the greats, one can instantly hear many hours of devotion to the likes of Lennon, McCartney, Dylan, Simon and Garfunkel have gone into the development of Andy's music.
Read More...
View All Articles By Brendan McCarthy

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem