10 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sean Bodley - Single Review: Sunday Drive

17 Jun 2020 // A review by Brendan McCarthy

In the world of lead guitar and instrumental offerings, Sean Bodley needs no introduction.

Over the last 10 years, Sean has established a catalogue of six albums that display his dedication to the Guitar as an instrument of creation and clearly highlight his talent; therefore, one could correctly state that his latest single Sunday Drive is not his first rodeo.

Set to an upbeat rock shuffle tempo, Sunday Drive feels exactly as it states. From the moment the song begins, I feel like I am raising the door on my garage to reveal a sports car of some considerable stature, jumping in and heading off into a beautiful sunny afternoon with the top down and the wind in my hair.

Writing instrumental music is not an easy task, as one does not have the emotion and poetry of lyrics to help mold the feel of the melody, thus assisting in developing the journey of the song. However, through subtle playing differences Sean is able to astutely structure the sections of his track to consistently offer the listener a little bit more while restating what has already been delivered. This is a skill learned via experience and one that I salute.

Sunday Drive is another excellent display of Sean's talent as a master Guitar player. The track is produced to a high modern standard and as such will appeal to any and all who have chosen the way of the axe.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sean Bodley

Solo instrumental guitarist, previous albums include:

Sean Bodley (1999)
Acoustic Soundscapes (2014)
Balance (2014)

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sean Bodley

Releases

I Am Human
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Genesis
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Pitch Black
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Acoustic Soundscapes
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Balance
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Sean Bodley
Year: 1999
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Brendan McCarthy

Andy Snadden - Album Review: The River
27 May 2020 // by Brendan McCarthy
The River is the debut album by Japan-based Kiwi singer/songwriter Andy Snadden. Displaying clear influences from some of the greats, one can instantly hear many hours of devotion to the likes of Lennon, McCartney, Dylan, Simon and Garfunkel have gone into the development of Andy's music.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Feelers @ Bay Park Arena, Tauranga - 20/12/2019
22 Dec 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
An enthusiastic crowd of approx. 300 forty-somethings turned out to see Tauranga installment of The Feelers tour with Stellar* and Tablefox.
Read More...
B.A.D.S - EP Review: A.I.R 01
16 Oct 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
Wellington band B.A.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Album Review: Hustle Bustle
26 Sep 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
Reviewing an album is both a pleasure and a responsibility so I wanted to take my time to really listen to this body of work and ensure that I gave it my honest thoughts. The very act of listening to twelve tracks in a row from the same artist is not common behaviour for myself or conceivably any of us these days.
Read More...
Gig Review: James Reid @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 21/09/2019
23 Sep 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
A good size crowd of approximately 150 people resisted the temptation to sit at home and wait for the All Blacks to take over the nation, preferring to populate the magnificent Totara St venue for an intimate show by James Reid on the Tauranga section his solo Songbook Tour. With no need for support acts in this laid back style of event, James was onstage early at a very respectable 9pm and he immediately set the tone of the evening by tweaking with his guitar setup and making random jokes with the audience thus making everyone feel relaxed and welcome.
Read More...
Gig Review: Late Model European @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 26/07/2019
28 Jul 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
Earlier this year I had the pleasure of interviewing Late Model European and I was instantly attracted to their professionalism, their genuine love for music and the journey it takes us all on. Following along with the progress of the recording and production of their debut album It’s Time, I jumped at the opportunity to see them perform live.
Read More...
Gig Review: Toto with Jefferson Starship and Dragon @ ASB Baypark, Mount Maunganui - 09/01/2019
10 Jan 2019 // by Brendan McCarthy
The entertainment on offer in Tauranga in the summer of 2018/19 was lined up to be a significant upgrade to previous years when this gig was announced back in August 2017. With other established large events in the area catering to the Reggae and under 25 markets, this event was set to draw out the (genre alert) "Adult Contemporary Fans".
Read More...
Animalhead - Single Review: Rabbit Hole
13 Oct 2018 // by Brendan McCarthy
Having been a fan of Animalhead's first release The Devil Told Me So, it was an easy decision to sign on and give the new track a spin. Armed with first-hand knowledge of the massive live sound that these 3 lads from West Auckland can produce, I grabbed myself a beer, strapped into my computer chair and applied headphones.
Read More...
View All Articles By Brendan McCarthy

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem