10 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sunny Ray - Album Review: Sentient Compass

16 Jun 2020 // A review by Mike Alexander

The transformation in Sunny Ray has always seemed inevitable since she made her debut in 2010 with the delightfully visionary EP Mindlessness. Here was a voice that spoke to us of the journey of the soul and the process of its awakening. Now, in a time of still great global uncertainty, the butterfly has emerged from its cocoon with Sentient Compass.

An over-riding theme that runs through the album is the idea that if you want to change the world you need to be that change. That our thoughts do not have to think us and through becoming more mindful we can become more conscious and aware of how we choose to shape our experience of reality. That our emotions are always mirror reflections of our deepest, sometimes unconscious, beliefs and can illuminate where we have invested our energy.

The 12 stages of transformation, as it were, come with their own "grace notes" for the listener. So a track such as the earthy Beauty Way, with its interplay of didgeridoo and Native American flute and echoing vocal chant ís "based on the wisdom of the Navaho Beauty Way prayer, this song is an affirmation of a commitment to walking our highest path and cultivating beauty within and in the way we see and interact with everything".

The album is both personal and impersonal in the way it sets out to reveal universal truths where a track such as the profoundly moving and perceptive Responsible - "the heart knows direction the eyes cannot see", is an intimate experience of unconditional love that has universal applications.

What knits Sentient Compass together so well, aside from the amazingly intuitive electronic sound "gardens" created by producer Brother Beans, is that it is tuned to a specific frequency "to activate the listener's heart and empower the inner creator through empathic storytelling and enlightened perspective". The opening and title track unfolds on the sound of a Tibetan bowl resonating at 432hz.

For the curious minded, 432hz is the base tone or solfeggio frequency commonly used in music. The ancient mysteries schools and contemporary sound healing pioneers such as Jonathan Goldman postulate that the body and soul can be "re-tuned" to higher frequencies through exposure to these tones.

There's certainly no doubt that Ray's intention with Sentient Compass is to inspire a deeper sense of connection and well-being. She's a folk singer at heart but she's no ordinary folk. Her aspiration is an inspiration.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Sunny Ray

Sunny Ray grew up on the west coast of Auckland, in the Waitakere ranges. She began her music career at the tender age of 14 when she curved her rebellious teenage path into a deep and meaningful passion for song writing and and singing.

At 16 she was gracing stages at festivals throughout New Zealand and sharing her unique, heart warming and quirky songs.

In 2009 Sunny traveled across Thailand and India sharing music as she went and writing tales of the Rajastani deserts.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sunny Ray

Releases

Sentient Compass
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Gramsci - Album Review: Inheritance
06 Jul 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Paul McLaney has, metaphorically speaking, found his voice again. After a series of largely conceptual electronic albums as The Impending Adorations, he has rebooted Gramsci, the songwriting alias that has lain dormant since the release of Like Stray Voltage in 2005.
Read More...
Compilation Review: Home Alone: Winter 2020
02 Jul 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Wellington boutique label Home Alone has developed an exceptional roster of artists since it announced itself to the world in 2006. And while the creative backbone of the label has always been the triumvirate of Timothy Blackman, who actually launched the label in Dunedin with his debut EP, Lake South and French For Rabbits' Brooke Singer, it has expanded its repertoire and reach with such as internationalists Helena Massey and Shenondoah Davis.
Read More...
Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: You Found Me Too
03 Jun 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The retooled Ignatia : Rising continue to surprise with their latest release - a quiet stunner, which is perhaps a reflection of these times when we have all been forced to look deep within ourselves. After three singles that made it almost impossible to pigeon-hole their style or swagger, You Found Me Too is an acoustic ballad "an ode to unconditional love".
Read More...
Levi Patel - Album Review: A Shifting Lightness
19 Mar 2020 // by Mike Alexander
There is a place within all of us where our darkness gives way to the light and our sorrows become our rejoicing. It is elusive but wearies not as we journey through life with all of its disappointments.
Read More...
Jackie Bristow - Single Review: Blue Moon Rising
11 Feb 2020 // by Mike Alexander
For those who have followed the career of Stateside-based, but born and bred in New Zealand, songwriter Jackie Bristow there's an unintentional (as far as I am aware) poignancy about the release of her latest single Blue Moon Rising. It signals a slight wind shift, a change in musical direction, bought about by the musical influences she's been surrounded by since moving from Austin, Texas, to Nashville, Tennessee, in 2017.
Read More...
Tom Ludvigson and Trevor Reekie - Album Review: Roto
20 Jan 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Technology without artifice is a rarity in music nowadays – any 'nerd' with an understanding of the various software programmes available for composing music can create something out of nothing without being compelled by an inner muse. Roto, by Tom Ludvigson and Trevor Reekie, is an exception to such mundaneness.
Read More...
Tattletale Saints - Album Review: Under The Dogwoods
20 Jan 2020 // by Mike Alexander
There has always been a simple charm to Tattletale Saints ever since they announced themselves with the release of their debut album How Red Is The Blood in 2013. That album deservedly took out a Tui for best Folk Album at the New Zealand Music Awards the following year and while the duo of Cy Winstanley and Vanessa McGowan no longer call New Zealand home – they are based in Nashville, Tennessee – their OE has certainly broadened their musical horizons and palette.
Read More...
EP Review: Your Indigo
17 Dec 2019 // by Mike Alexander
What a great surprise and start to a new decade. Your Indigo has all the makings of a 'super group' with three very distinctive talents in their own right – 'electric' electro producer Joshua Holmes and songwriting maidens (they do bear bouquets  in their hair on the video to Glass Cloud),  Amiria Grenell (Autumn and Three Feathers) and Bryony Matthews (Little Queen).
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem