19 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sunny Ray - Album Review: Sentient Compass

16 Jun 2020 // A review by Mike Alexander

The transformation in Sunny Ray has always seemed inevitable since she made her debut in 2010 with the delightfully visionary EP Mindlessness. Here was a voice that spoke to us of the journey of the soul and the process of its awakening. Now, in a time of still great global uncertainty, the butterfly has emerged from its cocoon with Sentient Compass.

An over-riding theme that runs through the album is the idea that if you want to change the world you need to be that change. That our thoughts do not have to think us and through becoming more mindful we can become more conscious and aware of how we choose to shape our experience of reality. That our emotions are always mirror reflections of our deepest, sometimes unconscious, beliefs and can illuminate where we have invested our energy.

The 12 stages of transformation, as it were, come with their own "grace notes" for the listener. So a track such as the earthy Beauty Way, with its interplay of didgeridoo and Native American flute and echoing vocal chant ís "based on the wisdom of the Navaho Beauty Way prayer, this song is an affirmation of a commitment to walking our highest path and cultivating beauty within and in the way we see and interact with everything".

The album is both personal and impersonal in the way it sets out to reveal universal truths where a track such as the profoundly moving and perceptive Responsible - "the heart knows direction the eyes cannot see", is an intimate experience of unconditional love that has universal applications.

What knits Sentient Compass together so well, aside from the amazingly intuitive electronic sound "gardens" created by producer Brother Beans, is that it is tuned to a specific frequency "to activate the listener's heart and empower the inner creator through empathic storytelling and enlightened perspective". The opening and title track unfolds on the sound of a Tibetan bowl resonating at 432hz.

For the curious minded, 432hz is the base tone or solfeggio frequency commonly used in music. The ancient mysteries schools and contemporary sound healing pioneers such as Jonathan Goldman postulate that the body and soul can be "re-tuned" to higher frequencies through exposure to these tones.

There's certainly no doubt that Ray's intention with Sentient Compass is to inspire a deeper sense of connection and well-being. She's a folk singer at heart but she's no ordinary folk. Her aspiration is an inspiration.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Sunny Ray

Sunny Ray grew up on the west coast of Auckland, in the Waitakere ranges. She began her music career at the tender age of 14 when she curved her rebellious teenage path into a deep and meaningful passion for song writing and and singing.

At 16 she was gracing stages at festivals throughout New Zealand and sharing her unique, heart warming and quirky songs.

In 2009 Sunny traveled across Thailand and India sharing music as she went and writing tales of the Rajastani deserts.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sunny Ray

Releases

Sentient Compass
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Arli Liberman - Soundtrack Review: Savage
17 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Arli Liberman is a natural fit for a movie score. As anyone who has listened to his three solo albums - Arli Liberman, Fata Morgana and Allegra will have noted, the Israel-born guitarist has a flair for visceral, beautifully textured and other-worldly soundscapes.
Read More...
Empasse - EP Review: Ultraviolet
13 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Ultraviolet has history – literally. As its composer Nick Johnston explains in the press release accompanying the EP, his first under the moniker Empasse , it is a “soundtrack to a story that is not well known in New Zealand outside the Waikato region where I live.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single Review: Feel This
01 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
It’s no surprise that Lou’ana has been nominated in three categories at the Pacific Music Awards. What would surprise is if she didn’t scoop up the two main ones – Best Soul/RnB artist and Best Female Artist.
Read More...
Echo Children - Single Review: Our Parents Fixed It All
01 Sep 2020 // by Mike Alexander
With the beguiling This Was Our Fault EP and the bitter-sweetness of Flowers still lingering, Echo Children are proving as alluring as they are elusive to define on their latest single, Our Parents Fixed It All. That might be because of the melting pot of nationalities – Amanda Larsson (Sweden), Niamh O'Flynn (Canada) and Oliver Young (Scotland) – that gives them such a sense of other-worldiness, beautifully infused in songs that sparkle like rare pop gems tinged with the earthiness of country and folk.
Read More...
Torn Chorus - Single Review: Letting Go
27 Aug 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Franklin Davis doesn’t have a pure voice. It’s on the slightly brittle side of melodious, more the kind that would blend in well with others.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Suffering
25 Aug 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Riqi Harawira has made his calling an open book that has dealt with his personal experience of addiction and mental health challenges. His latest single Suffering, is his most powerful statement yet, precisely and eloquently encapsulating aspects of the recovery journey.
Read More...
Lee Martin - Single/Video Review: Falling Down
20 Aug 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Now is the time Lee Martin was due to take a trip to the US.Covid has scuttled those plans and, instead, she’s released the stunning single Falling Down (and 360-degree music video) from her Lost Girl EP, which came out last year.
Read More...
Maciek Hrybowicz - Single Review: Mr Ponsonby
17 Aug 2020 // by Mike Alexander
As far as introductions go, Poland-born composer and guitarist Maciek Hrybowicz has left quite the impression with this calling card. Mr Ponsonby is taken from his 2019 album AWA, a collection of pieces inspired by the beauty of his adopted home land New Zealand.
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem