25 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Whaea Stylz - Single Review: North Star

11 Jun 2020 // A review by Chris Chick
Whenever anyone makes the plunge into Reggae style music, you just know you are in for a treat, and there is no difference here with Whaea Stylz latest single North Star; an infused reggae beat that is guaranteed to get you moving even those muscles you never knew existed.

I was really drawn in by the range of instruments, especially the piano, I thought its use really added to the song. A good song also involves the ability to re-imagine life from a different angle, a song that has the ability to stop you dead in your tracks and become self-aware, is a ticket to goodness. This song certainly has the vibe and the lyrics to back it up, the picture of a rejuvenated person picking themselves up and following their inner sanctum, or North Star in this case, towards a soul infused justice filled world, (this is the vision I conjured up) that the reggae movement historically engaged.

I am very happy to see Reggae still getting the spotlight it deserves, much like blues music, its roots come from a powerful social voice within the collective conscience. Whaea Stylz should be proud of their accomplished number that brings together all the good things of the reggae genre. This is a definite buy for me, you can pick it up for $1 at Bandcamp, or go onto Spotify and check it out - your inner Bob Marley will thank you. Keep up the good work Whaea Stylz; I am very much looking forward to what you have to offer going forward.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Whaea Stylz

Whaea Stylz is a New Zealand reggae artist. She grew up in Whangaparaoa and her iwi is Ngati Tuwharetoa. Born a descendent of the German poet Johann Wolfgang von Goethe.

Starting piano at six years old she would also sing her own songs during long drives with the family. She fell in love with electronica after discovering her Nana's Casio and after buying a Yamaha keyboard she started playing with bands in Hamilton, upgrading to an Alesis after joining the reggae band Boil Up, providing keys and back up vocals.

Whaea Stylz studied Music at both Waikato and Victoria Universities gaining an Honors degree in Electronica, Composition & Film. During these years she won the Lilburn Trust Student Composition Award with her electroacoustic composition Mourning, later renamed The Innocent. She also got together with some friends and formed Spiralyrics which aimed to promote wahine songwriters by creating the CD compilation Wonder & hosting a performance night.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Whaea Stylz

Releases

There are no releases to display for Whaea Stylz.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Miles Calder - Single Review: Take Me Back To How It Was
19 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I think I just found the band that I really want to jam with; Miles Calder's new song Take Me Back To How It Was is a sound that really does what it says on the tin, it takes you back to the way it was. This late 60's and 70's psychedelic number really softens the soul and enables one to really re-live by gone days that many of us did not even have the opportunity to experience.
Read More...
Imperial April - Single Review: Release Me
08 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
Imperial April are releasing their new single Release Me on 9 October 2020, and by golly it's an absolute corker, and I will not let anyone else say different. This song has so much going for it, from its production, to the wonderfully enchanting singing, to the 80's summer vibe that will just keep the summer of 2020 a positive time considering the rest of the garbage we have all had to deal with.
Read More...
Turkey The Bird - Single Review: Everybody Needs A Little Sunshine
01 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was promised a happy little number when handed this assignment, and I was not let down, I think happy might be an understatement, elated, ecstatic, maybe even nirvanic, which I believe is a word I just made up. This is a timely release what with summer banging on the door, a great reminder to us all to put a smile on our faces, and be thankful for the simple things in life, like a little sunshine, especially if you are on the West Coast of the South Island, according to the rumours.
Read More...
Jam Fish - Single Review: The Hermits Red Balloon
24 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Jam Fish’s new single The Hermit’s Red Balloon was released on the 14th August 2020. This song can only be described through golfing metaphors, the experience of listening to this song was like playing a shot beyond the horizon and hoping you make the green.
Read More...
Fornax Chemica - Album Review: Audio Vision
06 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Let’s get one thing straight right off the bat, creating, producing, and performing an album is a massive undertaking in itself. I am always impressed by any musician who is able to accomplish this, no matter the genre or the instruments they play (the more the better I say) this is why longevity within the music industry is not to be ignored when embracing all aspects of artists you love, and those you find hard to love.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: I'm Only Focused On You
15 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
Intense and full of bravado, as soon as the first piano chord hammered over my speakers, I jumped to attention like a well drilled private awaiting his first taste of action. Without any hesitation this private felt the need to start running towards the battle with no second thought for my own safety, willed on by the heavy baseline that accompanies the just as strong willed lyrical content.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Travelling Show
12 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
With a skip in my step, bounding my way through Trafalgar Square making my way to the center of the world as I knew it, London Town, this brand new single by Mini Simmons is, as they say in London, ruddy bloody good. I love songs that take me back to bygone days of freedom and an ignorance that only a young 20 year old called entangle into his swagger.
Read More...
Hummucide - Single Review: Reacher
25 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Picture a wonderfully blissful day, slow wanderings around the park as it blooms fully into the start of a new creation, beckoning good will and tidings to all that seek it. With that picture in mind, now listen to the new single from Hummucide Reacher and transcend the only way possible from the vibe that jazz music can only touch.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem