10 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Whaea Stylz - Single Review: North Star

11 Jun 2020 // A review by Chris Chick
Whenever anyone makes the plunge into Reggae style music, you just know you are in for a treat, and there is no difference here with Whaea Stylz latest single North Star; an infused reggae beat that is guaranteed to get you moving even those muscles you never knew existed.

I was really drawn in by the range of instruments, especially the piano, I thought its use really added to the song. A good song also involves the ability to re-imagine life from a different angle, a song that has the ability to stop you dead in your tracks and become self-aware, is a ticket to goodness. This song certainly has the vibe and the lyrics to back it up, the picture of a rejuvenated person picking themselves up and following their inner sanctum, or North Star in this case, towards a soul infused justice filled world, (this is the vision I conjured up) that the reggae movement historically engaged.

I am very happy to see Reggae still getting the spotlight it deserves, much like blues music, its roots come from a powerful social voice within the collective conscience. Whaea Stylz should be proud of their accomplished number that brings together all the good things of the reggae genre. This is a definite buy for me, you can pick it up for $1 at Bandcamp, or go onto Spotify and check it out - your inner Bob Marley will thank you. Keep up the good work Whaea Stylz; I am very much looking forward to what you have to offer going forward.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Whaea Stylz

Whaea Stylz is a New Zealand reggae artist. She grew up in Whangaparaoa and her iwi is Ngati Tuwharetoa. Born a descendent of the German poet Johann Wolfgang von Goethe.

Starting piano at six years old she would also sing her own songs during long drives with the family. She fell in love with electronica after discovering her Nana's Casio and after buying a Yamaha keyboard she started playing with bands in Hamilton, upgrading to an Alesis after joining the reggae band Boil Up, providing keys and back up vocals.

Whaea Stylz studied Music at both Waikato and Victoria Universities gaining an Honors degree in Electronica, Composition & Film. During these years she won the Lilburn Trust Student Composition Award with her electroacoustic composition Mourning, later renamed The Innocent. She also got together with some friends and formed Spiralyrics which aimed to promote wahine songwriters by creating the CD compilation Wonder & hosting a performance night.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Whaea Stylz

Releases

There are no releases to display for Whaea Stylz.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Hummucide - Single Review: Reacher
25 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Picture a wonderfully blissful day, slow wanderings around the park as it blooms fully into the start of a new creation, beckoning good will and tidings to all that seek it. With that picture in mind, now listen to the new single from Hummucide Reacher and transcend the only way possible from the vibe that jazz music can only touch.
Read More...
Found Family - Single Review: Alive
27 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
Again, New Zealand music goes and surprises me, and in a good way. It reminds me of my trip to a well-known hot pool resort in the South Island; I arrived there with my little buddy that I mentor and saw the price of entrance.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single Review: Undercover
13 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was pleasantly surprised when I was reminded that I also reviewed Phil Stoodley's work 7 years ago. This was like a coming of age moment and having recently returned to the duties of music reviewing, I thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia of that memory.
Read More...
Terrence & The Optimistics - EP Review: Groovy Baby
07 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
As an eternal optimist, the chance to review a band with that term implanted into their vibe was an easy decision. Some would say that this is a recipe for bias reviewing, I would rather see it as a an extra brownie point before I had even cracked open the computer salivating in anticipation for some retro nostalgic soul grooves of the 60’s and 70;s, not that I was there in person, only in spirit.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Feel
14 Apr 2020 // by Chris Chick
Feel is the second single from Papercity since their debut track Plastic and this one is a rasper. I came into this review on a very neutral playing field and as soon as the song started I was hooked.
Read More...
Shady Brain Farm - EP Review: Orange to Red
13 Mar 2020 // by Chris Chick
Shady Brain Farm have played together as a group off and on for the last 20 years, with all the members living in the Northwest Auckland area of Kumeu, Waimauku and Muriwai Beach. The music they make reflects this West Coast beach vibe.
Read More...
Beacon Bloom - Single Review: Little Kingdom
15 Jan 2020 // by Chris Chick
The one aspect of music reviewing I love the most, is finding out about new musicians, the depth of talent that New Zealand has is astounding and very exciting. Beacon Bloom, I applaud you and your efforts, and that is not just because you are based in Christchurch, even though that gets extra brownie points.
Read More...
Ghetto Sunrise Album Review
15 Jun 2014 // by Chris Chick
I was embellished into their music after their first release One Drop Love EP. The mix of reggae, dub, and ska was a delight to the ear.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem