19 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Whaea Styles - Single Review: North Star

11 Jun 2020 // A review by Chris Chick
Whenever anyone makes the plunge into Reggae style music, you just know you are in for a treat, and there is no difference here with Whaea Stylz latest single North Star; an infused reggae beat that is guaranteed to get you moving even those muscles you never knew existed.

I was really drawn in by the range of instruments, especially the piano, I thought its use really added to the song. A good song also involves the ability to re-imagine life from a different angle, a song that has the ability to stop you dead in your tracks and become self-aware, is a ticket to goodness. This song certainly has the vibe and the lyrics to back it up, the picture of a rejuvenated person picking themselves up and following their inner sanctum, or North Star in this case, towards a soul infused justice filled world, (this is the vision I conjured up) that the reggae movement historically engaged.

I am very happy to see Reggae still getting the spotlight it deserves, much like blues music, its roots come from a powerful social voice within the collective conscience. Whaea Stylz should be proud of their accomplished number that brings together all the good things of the reggae genre. This is a definite buy for me, you can pick it up for $1 at Bandcamp, or go onto Spotify and check it out - your inner Bob Marley will thank you. Keep up the good work Whaea Stylz; I am very much looking forward to what you have to offer going forward.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Whaea Styles

Whaea Styles is a New Zealand reggae artist. She grew up in Whangaparaoa and her iwi is Ngati Tuwharetoa. Born a descendent of the German poet Johann Wolfgang von Goethe.

Starting piano at six years old she would also sing her own songs during long drives with the family. She fell in love with electronica after discovering her Nana's Casio and after buying a Yamaha keyboard she started playing with bands in Hamilton, upgrading to an Alesis after joining the reggae band Boil Up, providing keys and back up vocals.

Whaea Styles studied Music at both Waikato and Victoria Universities gaining an Honors degree in Electronica, Composition & Film. During these years she won the Lilburn Trust Student Composition Award with her electroacoustic composition Mourning, later renamed The Innocent. She also got together with some friends and formed Spiralyrics which aimed to promote wahine songwriters by creating the CD compilation Wonder & hosting a performance night.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Whaea Styles

Releases

There are no releases to display for Whaea Styles.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies
08 Dec 2020 // by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.
Read More...
Miles Calder - Single Review: Take Me Back To How It Was
19 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I think I just found the band that I really want to jam with; Miles Calder's new song Take Me Back To How It Was is a sound that really does what it says on the tin, it takes you back to the way it was. This late 60's and 70's psychedelic number really softens the soul and enables one to really re-live by gone days that many of us did not even have the opportunity to experience.
Read More...
Imperial April - Single Review: Release Me
08 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
Imperial April are releasing their new single Release Me on 9 October 2020, and by golly it's an absolute corker, and I will not let anyone else say different. This song has so much going for it, from its production, to the wonderfully enchanting singing, to the 80's summer vibe that will just keep the summer of 2020 a positive time considering the rest of the garbage we have all had to deal with.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem