20 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

She Loves You - Single Review: Devout

28 May 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.

The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus. Driven by melodic riffs, growling bass and solid drumming, the song develops into a true rock classic. The guitars aren't as driven as I am used to but it still works well, because vocalist Madeline Berry comes out strong with lyrics such as "Let go of your doubt, it's better when we make out" and "Once you're in, you want out".

One of the interesting things about this track is that the general vibe is quite dark and when listening I was wondering from which angle am I hearing this from. Is it a person who has a desire for someone and won't give up, or is it a love story where the protagonist is letting their lover know that they will always be there whatever happens. That is one of the interesting ideas and concepts with music; the general vibe can change the tone of the lyrics. And for me, I like that idea of getting to decide.

After hearing it a few times, I was sent back to my youth and was thinking about how much I loved Jem and Holograms, and then, of course, The Misfits. I was a big fan as a kid and this definitely made me smile when hearing this.

This is a great track that has an attitude where needed along with some tasty riffs and ideas that give nods to some of She Loves You's influences as listed in their biography.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About She Loves You

The Alt Rock mind child spawned out of the loins that are 2am screamers, late night wine-o's, drunken demos, Thai take out, and a deep appreciation for that questionable but lovable 2008 emo phase and you get the eclectic sound of these SLY babes.

She Loves You hail from New Zealand. A fast-talking all-action girl group that are changing everything you think you know about females playing rock & roll.

Inspired by late nights, wine, and a mutual love for the Arctic Monkeys, this electrical storm came together in early 2014 when founding members Madeline Berry, Jessie Booth and previous members, Tash Easey and Anna Loveys wanted to create a loud avenue of musical exploration and madness.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for She Loves You

Releases

There are no releases to display for She Loves You.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

SKILAA - Album Review: Tiger In The River
04 Jul 2024 // by Ben Ruegg
SKILAA’s sound is a unique blend of RnB, alternative, progressive folk, and hip-hop. The band began writing together in late 2017 after meeting through Auckland University’s Jazz programme.
Read More...
Aotearoa Music Awards 2024
02 Jun 2024 // by Ben Ruegg
Thursday 30 May, 2024 was a wonderful night for our music industry. The Aotearoa Music Awards were being held for the first time at the Viaduct Event Centre, and for the first time in two years.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Album Review: Between The Brave, Bold and Given Up
30 May 2024 // by Ben Ruegg
The opening track of Dan Sharp's album named Between The Brave, Bold and Given Up sounds familiar in a good way. It's like coming home after a long day, with cold weather and rain, but opening a door to warmth and comfort.
Read More...
Tom Knowles - Album Review: Atarangi - Morning Sky
28 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Tom Knowles latest release Atarangi - Morning Sky is a must listen. Like, close this page now, go listen to the album, and then come back and read this.
Read More...
SuperMild - Single Review: Self Respect
21 Jun 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
SuperMild is a 3-piece genre-spanning band based in Auckland. Once cited in a review as spanning Reggae, Dub, Roots, RnB, Funk, Psychedelic, Rock, and Jazz, SuperMild is driven by a desire to not get stuck in one sound, and to bring banter, energy, a good time, and a great sound to as many stages as possible.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - SURVIVR6 - EP Review: Metahuman
11 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
This latest EP release, Metahuman, immerses listeners in a captivating cinematic journey from its very first note. With an infusion of sounds and concepts reminiscent of high-budget modern action films, the EP exudes an undeniable sense of intensity and potency that is instantly evident on the opening track, BBDO.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Mentality
03 May 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' latest track, Mentality, is a focused and polished work that showcases his unwavering dedication to his craft. The song's beat slowly develops, creating a sense of determination that is further reinforced by the lyrics, "Wake up in morning with a hustler mentality," in the first chorus.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Kingdom Come
13 Apr 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is a rising artist in the hip-hop scene, and his latest album Kingdom Come showcases his undeniable talent and passion for music. Produced in collaboration with Ten.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg
SELECT artists.ID as artist_id, artists.Name, sum(artists_stats.Count) as hitcount FROM artists, artists_stats WHERE artists_stats.Date > ('2024-07-19' - INTERVAL 14 DAY)-0 AND artists.ID = artists_stats.AID AND artists.Enabled = 'y' AND artists.Deleted = 'n' GROUP BY artists_stats.AID ORDER BY hitcount DESC, Name LIMIT 10

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem