26 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

She Loves You - Single Review: Devout

28 May 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.

The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus. Driven by melodic riffs, growling bass and solid drumming, the song develops into a true rock classic. The guitars aren't as driven as I am used to but it still works well, because vocalist Madeline Berry comes out strong with lyrics such as "Let go of your doubt, it's better when we make out" and "Once you're in, you want out".

One of the interesting things about this track is that the general vibe is quite dark and when listening I was wondering from which angle am I hearing this from. Is it a person who has a desire for someone and won't give up, or is it a love story where the protagonist is letting their lover know that they will always be there whatever happens. That is one of the interesting ideas and concepts with music; the general vibe can change the tone of the lyrics. And for me, I like that idea of getting to decide.

After hearing it a few times, I was sent back to my youth and was thinking about how much I loved Jem and Holograms, and then, of course, The Misfits. I was a big fan as a kid and this definitely made me smile when hearing this.

This is a great track that has an attitude where needed along with some tasty riffs and ideas that give nods to some of She Loves You's influences as listed in their biography.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About She Loves You

The Alt Rock mind child spawned out of the loins that are 2am screamers, late night wine-o's, drunken demos, Thai take out, and a deep appreciation for that questionable but lovable 2008 emo phase and you get the eclectic sound of these SLY babes.

She Loves You hail from New Zealand. A fast-talking all-action girl group that are changing everything you think you know about females playing rock & roll.

Inspired by late nights, wine, and a mutual love for the Arctic Monkeys, this electrical storm came together in early 2014 when founding members Madeline Berry, Jessie Booth and previous members, Tash Easey and Anna Loveys wanted to create a loud avenue of musical exploration and madness.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for She Loves You

Releases

There are no releases to display for She Loves You.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
An Electric Heart - Album Review: Otiose Me
06 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As you press play, the prologue hits you hard and it is obvious that Luke Pell, known as An Electric Heart, has a great understanding on sonics and dynamics on his new album Otiose Me.Luke Pell describes the An Electric Heart sound as 'alternative pop'.
Read More...
Matt Bizzle - Single Review: Just Let Me Know with Kevin Posey Feat. Lily Jackson
05 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The reggaeton beat has been quite the staple in music trends for some time now, and with the new track Just Let Me Know from Matt Bizzle, it isn't the main feature. Instead, it is used in the right places to give this track a different vibe at the exact moment it is needed.
Read More...
Lester - Single Review: Sometimes Feat. Aunty Rae
29 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On Lester's latest track Sometimes, featuring Aunty Rae, the New Zealand Hip-Hop artist turns his focus inward and discusses the things that we miss when we are away from home; which in his case is a list of memories that make home what it is. And yet, the real meaning of home is blurred and put to question.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem