26 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

She Loves You - Single Review: Devout

28 May 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.

The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus. Driven by melodic riffs, growling bass and solid drumming, the song develops into a true rock classic. The guitars aren't as driven as I am used to but it still works well, because vocalist Madeline Berry comes out strong with lyrics such as "Let go of your doubt, it's better when we make out" and "Once you're in, you want out".

One of the interesting things about this track is that the general vibe is quite dark and when listening I was wondering from which angle am I hearing this from. Is it a person who has a desire for someone and won't give up, or is it a love story where the protagonist is letting their lover know that they will always be there whatever happens. That is one of the interesting ideas and concepts with music; the general vibe can change the tone of the lyrics. And for me, I like that idea of getting to decide.

After hearing it a few times, I was sent back to my youth and was thinking about how much I loved Jem and Holograms, and then, of course, The Misfits. I was a big fan as a kid and this definitely made me smile when hearing this.

This is a great track that has an attitude where needed along with some tasty riffs and ideas that give nods to some of She Loves You's influences as listed in their biography.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About She Loves You

The Alt Rock mind child spawned out of the loins that are 2am screamers, late night wine-o's, drunken demos, Thai take out, and a deep appreciation for that questionable but lovable 2008 emo phase and you get the eclectic sound of these SLY babes.

She Loves You hail from New Zealand. A fast-talking all-action girl group that are changing everything you think you know about females playing rock & roll.

Inspired by late nights, wine, and a mutual love for the Arctic Monkeys, this electrical storm came together in early 2014 when founding members Madeline Berry, Jessie Booth and previous members, Tash Easey and Anna Loveys wanted to create a loud avenue of musical exploration and madness.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for She Loves You

Releases

There are no releases to display for She Loves You.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: Don’t Know For Sure
12 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ignatia : Rising are a 4-piece, occasional more piece, pop/rock group who crafted their style in the Wild West (Auckland, NZ) party and club circuit in the mid 90's. Their newest track, Don't Know For Sure brings about a sense of nostalgia.
Read More...
Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem