14 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

She Loves You - Single Review: Devout

28 May 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.

The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus. Driven by melodic riffs, growling bass and solid drumming, the song develops into a true rock classic. The guitars aren't as driven as I am used to but it still works well, because vocalist Madeline Berry comes out strong with lyrics such as "Let go of your doubt, it's better when we make out" and "Once you're in, you want out".

One of the interesting things about this track is that the general vibe is quite dark and when listening I was wondering from which angle am I hearing this from. Is it a person who has a desire for someone and won't give up, or is it a love story where the protagonist is letting their lover know that they will always be there whatever happens. That is one of the interesting ideas and concepts with music; the general vibe can change the tone of the lyrics. And for me, I like that idea of getting to decide.

After hearing it a few times, I was sent back to my youth and was thinking about how much I loved Jem and Holograms, and then, of course, The Misfits. I was a big fan as a kid and this definitely made me smile when hearing this.

This is a great track that has an attitude where needed along with some tasty riffs and ideas that give nods to some of She Loves You's influences as listed in their biography.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About She Loves You

The Alt Rock mind child spawned out of the loins that are 2am screamers, late night wine-o's, drunken demos, Thai take out, and a deep appreciation for that questionable but lovable 2008 emo phase and you get the eclectic sound of these SLY babes.

She Loves You hail from New Zealand. A fast-talking all-action girl group that are changing everything you think you know about females playing rock & roll.

Inspired by late nights, wine, and a mutual love for the Arctic Monkeys, this electrical storm came together in early 2014 when founding members Madeline Berry, Jessie Booth and previous members, Tash Easey and Anna Loveys wanted to create a loud avenue of musical exploration and madness.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for She Loves You

Releases

There are no releases to display for She Loves You.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Steffany Beck - Single Review: I Have A Dream
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track I Have a Dream from Steffany Beck is a wonderfully uplifting song that feels authentic and honest. The mix and overall sound of the track allow for the recording to feel natural and heart-warming.
Read More...
Lauren Gin - EP Review: Supernova
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The EP Supernova from Lauren Gin is subtle and done so elegantly. The opening track Need To Know showcases a more thoughtful and relaxed, almost conversational like vocal that bucks the trend for the big vocal you would typically expect from a track like this.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Beths @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 11/07/2020
12 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The Beths truly showcased why they are so beloved by so many people. The way Elizabeth Stokes and her band, made up of Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair and Tristan Deck, commanded the stage so effortlessly was refreshing.
Read More...
And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem