24 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Animal

27 May 2020 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

New Zealand alternative post-punk inspired (Or lovelorn vet nurse shadow-pop) songwriter Hannah Curwood from Hannah In The Wars has just released a new single Animal. A unique and totally enjoyable song, which is as bizarre as it is loveable.

What grabbed my attention first as I scrolled through up and coming new releases, was the in your face statement on the album (single) cover. It says "Time Is A Cunt". I tend to agree. Secondly I have reviewed Hannah In The Wars in the past and I have been impressed by the distinctive and unconventional style. With inspiration coming from the likes of P J Harvey and Nick Cave, Hannah has developed a gloriously moody, eclectic and dramatic sound.

The lyrics go something like “Treat me like you would your dog. Touch my face, be kind, be soft” I was left wondering where she was going with this. The song balances out the dark with the light. Hannah is a very talented and interesting songwriter as well as, in my opinion a stunning vocalist.

A touch of violin adds to the track, giving it a mystical jazzy/blues /alternative folk sound. Hard to pin point but hauntingly beautiful.

There have been collaborations in the past with the likes of Roger O’Donnell (The Cure), Shayne Carter (Dimmer, Straightjacket Fits) and Graeme Downs (The Verlaines) among many others. Currently Hannah (who is based in London), is writing her new album “whilst experiencing a year of magical thinking”.

There is a music video to accompany Animal, but I didn’t see a dog or any reference to time. Staring 16 year old Port Chalmers local Tane Elvis Cotton, it is poignant in its simplicity and adds further contrast between the statement on the album cover and the song itself. Genius.

I can’t take the credit for writing this line, but it sums up Animal perfectly and I love it! “This melodic, gentle pop anthem is ripe and rich, bursting with melodic vocal and violin hooks that will crawl under your skin and resonate within the confines of your skull for many days”.

Hannah In The Wars is one of my favourite female artists/band to come out of New Zealand. Never failing to impress me.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Hannah in the Wars

Songwriter Hannah Curwood originates from the stark, remote region of Central Otago in New Zealand.

Previously Hannah has released 2 records, Sky Above, Horse Below (2007) and The Blind Love EP (2009). Both received to resounding critical acclaim, tracks such as murder ballad It's Been Snowing All Winter brought attention to Hannah's use of dark lyrics, twisted imagery and ethereal melody to earn her a place as one of New Zealand's celebrated alternative writers.

Now based in London, Hannah has embarked on a new project, working side by side with Roger O'Donnell of The Cure and a handpicked group of musicians to breathe life into her latest body of work. O'Donnell has supported the band by offering up his country home as a recording base, as well as providing guidance with vocal performance, arrangements and his expertise in synth programming.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hannah in the Wars

Releases

Hannah In The Wars
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Anthony Coulter - Album Review: Memories
18 Jan 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga based singer, song writer and musician Anthony Coulter has just released his debut album Memories. Twelve tracks resplendent in smooth melodic vocal style and theatrical wonder.
Read More...
Iris Zhang - Single Review: Small Ache
14 Dec 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Iris Zhang is a lawyer by qualification, but a musician by heart. She is an incredibly talented young lady, not only academically but also in the musical arts.
Read More...
Jennifer K. Austin - Album Review: Journey
07 Dec 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
American born Kiwi singer Jennifer K. Austin has recently released her second studio album Journey, following on from the release of the first three singles (Shadow, Misery and Old Gin), this beautiful ten track album is highly influenced by her life story.
Read More...
Lady Larisa - Single Review: Four Walls
27 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aotearoa born jazz artist and songwriter Lady Larisa has just released Four Walls, her latest single from the yet to be released up and coming debut EP Honeychild. Currently based in Hawkes Bay, Lady Larissa has learned a lot from her time in LA, New Orleans and New York.
Read More...
Na Noise - Album Review: Waiting For You
24 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Low-fi Duo-wop group from Auckland Na Noise have just released their debut album Waiting For You, giving us an insight into their sonic, original approach to music. Described as the "Thelma and Louise of modern DIY guitar based music", they have created a sound which is a unique blend of organ, percussion, call and response vocals and a whole lot of fuzzy dark carnivalesque attitude.
Read More...
Album Review: Ida Lune
17 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
In 2013 Deanne Krieg (WHIM, Dawn Diver), Rose Blake (Blaek, Dawn Diver) and Anna Wooles formed Poneke/Wellington avant-folk trio Ida Lune, forming a strong bond over their shared love of harmony. The trio have released their self-titled debut album which promises to be a lush blend of three part harmonies, yet each bringing to the fore their own unique style of vocals.
Read More...
Emma Rose - Single Review: Happy
03 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Talented young native of Nelson, Emma Common (Emma Rose) has forged ahead with her music recently creating an EP of three songs for the final project in her degree in Bachelor of Commercial Music at Massey University. Happy is the opening track to her Elderflower EP, which due our early 2021.
Read More...
Bravo Bonez - EP Review: Love Blast Lounge
01 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based musician, songwriter, and producer Bravo Bonez has just released his latest lo-fi offering, reminiscent of old school lounge music which is ironic because the title of his five track EP is called Love Blast Lounge.With the intention of spreading a message of "music, hope and love", Bravo Bonez music is a mix of post-punk, ambient, shoegaze and perhaps dreampop.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem