1 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Animal

27 May 2020 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

New Zealand alternative post-punk inspired (Or lovelorn vet nurse shadow-pop) songwriter Hannah Curwood from Hannah In The Wars has just released a new single Animal. A unique and totally enjoyable song, which is as bizarre as it is loveable.

What grabbed my attention first as I scrolled through up and coming new releases, was the in your face statement on the album (single) cover. It says "Time Is A Cunt". I tend to agree. Secondly I have reviewed Hannah In The Wars in the past and I have been impressed by the distinctive and unconventional style. With inspiration coming from the likes of P J Harvey and Nick Cave, Hannah has developed a gloriously moody, eclectic and dramatic sound.

The lyrics go something like “Treat me like you would your dog. Touch my face, be kind, be soft” I was left wondering where she was going with this. The song balances out the dark with the light. Hannah is a very talented and interesting songwriter as well as, in my opinion a stunning vocalist.

A touch of violin adds to the track, giving it a mystical jazzy/blues /alternative folk sound. Hard to pin point but hauntingly beautiful.

There have been collaborations in the past with the likes of Roger O’Donnell (The Cure), Shayne Carter (Dimmer, Straightjacket Fits) and Graeme Downs (The Verlaines) among many others. Currently Hannah (who is based in London), is writing her new album “whilst experiencing a year of magical thinking”.

There is a music video to accompany Animal, but I didn’t see a dog or any reference to time. Staring 16 year old Port Chalmers local Tane Elvis Cotton, it is poignant in its simplicity and adds further contrast between the statement on the album cover and the song itself. Genius.

I can’t take the credit for writing this line, but it sums up Animal perfectly and I love it! “This melodic, gentle pop anthem is ripe and rich, bursting with melodic vocal and violin hooks that will crawl under your skin and resonate within the confines of your skull for many days”.

Hannah In The Wars is one of my favourite female artists/band to come out of New Zealand. Never failing to impress me.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Hannah in the Wars

Songwriter Hannah Curwood originates from the stark, remote region of Central Otago in New Zealand.

Previously Hannah has released 2 records, Sky Above, Horse Below (2007) and The Blind Love EP (2009). Both received to resounding critical acclaim, tracks such as murder ballad It's Been Snowing All Winter brought attention to Hannah's use of dark lyrics, twisted imagery and ethereal melody to earn her a place as one of New Zealand's celebrated alternative writers.

Now based in London, Hannah has embarked on a new project, working side by side with Roger O'Donnell of The Cure and a handpicked group of musicians to breathe life into her latest body of work. O'Donnell has supported the band by offering up his country home as a recording base, as well as providing guidance with vocal performance, arrangements and his expertise in synth programming.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hannah in the Wars

Releases

Hannah In The Wars
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Valere - Album Review: Colours
01 Oct 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based songwriter and producer Shana Llorando is electro-pop, RnB musical artist Valere. Recently releasing her luscious debut 13 track original album Colours, full of delightfully fresh and funky tracks, each one flowing harmoniously with warmth and honesty.
Read More...
Seralynne - Album Review: What Love Is
21 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based singer-songwriter Seralynne has just released a sleek new nine-track album What Love Is. This is a surprisingly heartfelt and mature mix of haunting yet beautifully written pop ballads.
Read More...
Researchintospeed - Single Review: Anode
15 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Papaioea’s own proponent of live electronic dance music Researchintospeed has just dropped a new track and accompanying video, Anode. As part of the stand-alone electronic work of Craig Black, Anode was added to his expanding electro catalog over lock down.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: Boomers In Disguise
10 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Cantabrian, disillusioned architect and sausage roll enthusiast Harry Platt who goes under the pseudonym Hazza Making Noise, has just released a new single called Boomers In Disguise. Cross a football chant with a rock opera and inject it with punk-rave then you will have a fair idea about the unique concept which Harry describes as having "an early Arctic Monkeys – Brianstormesque nature to it".
Read More...
Mirrors - Single Review: Got This Feeling
09 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally starting out as a covers band in 2017, Christchurch based acoustic pop duo Mirrors expanded their repertoire this year during lockdown, taking the opportunity to write and record seven original songs in their home studio. Got This Feeling is their catchy brand-new second single release.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Album Review: How Humans Think
04 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
The first thing I noticed when I was blessed with a physical copy of Julie Lamb Outfit’s brand new eight track album How Humans Think, was the outstanding amount of work and love which has gone into the packaging of the CD. It is a creative thing of beauty to which I will elaborate further on.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Album Review: #Second Selfie
31 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
In true Darryl Baser fashion, his latest album has taken a few years to develop. Following on from his 2016 LP Raw Selfie, the album #Second Selfie has taken flight, once again from his Dunedin based living room.
Read More...
EJ Barrett - Single Review: Paint Me A Picture
06 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
It didn’t take me long to warm to EJ Barrett and her sultry, husky vocals. The New Zealand musical artist based in New Plymouth has taken flight with the debut single Paint Me A Picture.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem