1 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Animal

27 May 2020 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

New Zealand alternative post-punk inspired (Or lovelorn vet nurse shadow-pop) songwriter Hannah Curwood from Hannah In The Wars has just released a new single Animal. A unique and totally enjoyable song, which is as bizarre as it is loveable.

What grabbed my attention first as I scrolled through up and coming new releases, was the in your face statement on the album (single) cover. It says "Time Is A Cunt". I tend to agree. Secondly I have reviewed Hannah In The Wars in the past and I have been impressed by the distinctive and unconventional style. With inspiration coming from the likes of P J Harvey and Nick Cave, Hannah has developed a gloriously moody, eclectic and dramatic sound.

The lyrics go something like “Treat me like you would your dog. Touch my face, be kind, be soft” I was left wondering where she was going with this. The song balances out the dark with the light. Hannah is a very talented and interesting songwriter as well as, in my opinion a stunning vocalist.

A touch of violin adds to the track, giving it a mystical jazzy/blues /alternative folk sound. Hard to pin point but hauntingly beautiful.

There have been collaborations in the past with the likes of Roger O’Donnell (The Cure), Shayne Carter (Dimmer, Straightjacket Fits) and Graeme Downs (The Verlaines) among many others. Currently Hannah (who is based in London), is writing her new album “whilst experiencing a year of magical thinking”.

There is a music video to accompany Animal, but I didn’t see a dog or any reference to time. Staring 16 year old Port Chalmers local Tane Elvis Cotton, it is poignant in its simplicity and adds further contrast between the statement on the album cover and the song itself. Genius.

I can’t take the credit for writing this line, but it sums up Animal perfectly and I love it! “This melodic, gentle pop anthem is ripe and rich, bursting with melodic vocal and violin hooks that will crawl under your skin and resonate within the confines of your skull for many days”.

Hannah In The Wars is one of my favourite female artists/band to come out of New Zealand. Never failing to impress me.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Hannah in the Wars

Songwriter Hannah Curwood originates from the stark, remote region of Central Otago in New Zealand.

Previously Hannah has released 2 records, Sky Above, Horse Below (2007) and The Blind Love EP (2009). Both received to resounding critical acclaim, tracks such as murder ballad It's Been Snowing All Winter brought attention to Hannah's use of dark lyrics, twisted imagery and ethereal melody to earn her a place as one of New Zealand's celebrated alternative writers.

Now based in London, Hannah has embarked on a new project, working side by side with Roger O'Donnell of The Cure and a handpicked group of musicians to breathe life into her latest body of work. O'Donnell has supported the band by offering up his country home as a recording base, as well as providing guidance with vocal performance, arrangements and his expertise in synth programming.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hannah in the Wars

Releases

Hannah In The Wars
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Compilation Review: Blood And Wires Volume Two
20 Jul 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Independent record label Tauranga based Blood And Wires have released Volume Two, the second instalment in a series of original electronic and experimental tracks which takes the listener on a journey through distorted synths through to serene ambient instrumentation. Blood And Wires Volume Two combines the talent of 8 talented New Zealand artists united by the idea of an experimental approach to creating music.
Read More...
Aanvi . S - Single Review: Music Is My Religion
22 Jun 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aanvi S is possibly New Zealand’s youngest singer / songwriter, who at just nine has released her debut single Music Is My Religion. Encouragement from her family and friends has seen her blossom into a prolific songwriter inspired by her poetry.
Read More...
EP Review: TOI
17 Jun 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Award winning seven-piece Wellington band TOI (Tunes of I), are releasing their highly anticipated self-titled EP. Accompanying the release is a four date nationwide tour of Wellington, Christchurch, Auckland and Raglan.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Tyre Tracks (In The Sky) – Acoustic Version
11 May 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative rock band from Dunedin, Saurian (meaning “lizard-like”), have recently re-released a new single of an old favourite, Tyre Tracks (In The Sky) as an acoustic version. Removing the loud distorted guitars, drums and big vocals, resulting in a restrained sound consisting of acoustic guitar, strings, percussion and softer vocals.
Read More...
Metrosideros - EP Review: Var.
30 Apr 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
From the south coast of Wellington, Metrosideros' Matt Dalzell and Ellie Rose have created somewhat of a cool and funky trip hop sound with swirling’s of dub and journeys into backbeats. Their latest EP, Var.
Read More...
Eden Iris - Album Review: The Fuchsia & The Grey
07 Apr 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
LA based New Zealand musical artist Eden Iris has just released her debut album The Fuchsia &The Grey; an evocative eleven track album of beautifully crafted indie-folk songs, which "showcases the evolution of an artist who is highly dedicated to her craft". Eden has been growing her fanbase with a steady release of singles in between major projects, ever since moving to Los Angeles when she was nineteen.
Read More...
wells* - EP Review: Tape 3
24 Mar 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based singer, song writer and producer Wells* (Josh Naley) has just released the latest and final instalment in a three part series of mini EPs. Tape 3 concludes his unique personal project.
Read More...
SHAYNA - Single Review: Alchemy Feat. Rei
26 Feb 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch singer-songwriter SHAYNA has teamed up with Wellingtonian hip-hop artist Rei to create a slick new single Alchemy. Described as "Pop & RnB hooks over a progressive bass line & glittery high-level production", this is a track which flows seamlessly.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem