24 Oct 2020

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ryan Fisherman - Album Review: Vibe

26 May 2020 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch musician and singer-writer Ryan Chin, goes under the name of Ryan Fisherman. He has just released his first album Vibe. The album is a stunning alt-country affair featuring over 20 musicians including Motte, Marlon Williams and Adam Hattaway.

Ryan is a multi-talented musician, who started out as a drummer, but diversified to learn other instruments to help with his music. Adding bass guitar, synth, lap steel and vocals to his repertoire Ryan has been a support to other musicians as well as working on his own projects.

I became quickly absorbed in this album from the get go, the subset tag of county-alt or alt-country is very fitting for Vibe. It has a clean modern country music sound which is wonderfully alternative and fresh. I fell in love with the sound Ryan has created from the start.

With a new found passion for modern country music artists and a penchant for Midland and Cowboy Junkies, I snapped up the opportunity to review this album as soon as I heard it. Not all country music is created equal; sometimes it can be darn right painful to listen to. This is definitely not the case here. Superb from track one through to ten.

All ten songs on Vibe have been written by Ryan Fisherman. The album art is a retro collage of family photos.

Starting with the first track Bailed, melancholic lyrics wind their way through each track. With a slow moving gentle amble, Bailed is perfect country music material, a break up song. Boy leaves girl. Ryan has a wonderfully clear deep voice that conveys warmth and depth easily. The appealing lyrics are honest.

Moving on to track two Observation and the pace picks up somewhat into a livelier number. Wonderful rich vocals infused with that country sound, guitars, banjo and violin creating a catchy rhythm.

This album just keeps getting better when track three, How Cool, incorporates piano and vocals by Indira Fare and synth bass and banjo by Josh Petrie. Each addition of musicians creates gorgeous layers of sound and lush textures.

Eloquent and soulful stories burst forth track after track. Tantalizing the listener with rich tones and divine profundity.

My personal preference and stand out track is Waiting For What. Desolate, stunning vocals from Anita Clark (violin) add to the eerily bewitching lyrics “Waiting, waiting for what. Waiting for something the one thing I forgot. And it’s pacing around in my mind. Anticipating a call down the line”. Accompanying Ryan Fisherman (Rhythm, Acoustic, Piano, Synth & Vocals) on this track are: Joseph McCallum (Drums & Percussion), Symon Palmer (Upright Bass) and Simon Gregory (Lead & Rhythm Guitars).

The success of this album owes as much to the production quality as it does to the song writing, performance and musicianship of this very successful mixed bag of songs.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )

About Ryan Fisherman

Ryan Fisherman is "Chiwi" born musician from Christchurch, New Zealand.

As an advocate of Kiwi music Ryan has performed with many local bands such as Doprah, Nakey, Fran/Bar Group, Fraser Ross, Blair Parkes, Sand Fly Bay, Rickshaw, Golden Orange, Sister Something, Sabine Wojnar & Asian Tang.

Originally a drummer, Ryan decided to learn various instruments to help hone his skill as a song writer & musician. He records most of his music from home which is available via Bandcamp & Spotify.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ryan Fisherman


Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Gareth Thomas - Single Review: Wake Up
07 Oct 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Kiwi artist, Gareth Thomas well known for his past endeavours with iconic New Zealand band Goodshirt, has released his latest single following on from My Dog on the upcoming 2021 album Bits. Wake Up is described as the "morning anthem for sleepyheads everywhere".
Threat.Meet.Protocol - Single/Video Review: The Witch Trials
02 Oct 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lurking in the shadows since 2011, Tauranga based Threat.Meet.
Valere - Album Review: Colours
01 Oct 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based songwriter and producer Shana Llorando is electro-pop, RnB musical artist Valere. Recently releasing her luscious debut 13 track original album Colours, full of delightfully fresh and funky tracks, each one flowing harmoniously with warmth and honesty.
Seralynne - Album Review: What Love Is
21 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based singer-songwriter Seralynne has just released a sleek new nine-track album What Love Is. This is a surprisingly heartfelt and mature mix of haunting yet beautifully written pop ballads.
Researchintospeed - Single Review: Anode
15 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Papaioea’s own proponent of live electronic dance music Researchintospeed has just dropped a new track and accompanying video, Anode. As part of the stand-alone electronic work of Craig Black, Anode was added to his expanding electro catalog over lock down.
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: Boomers In Disguise
10 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Cantabrian, disillusioned architect and sausage roll enthusiast Harry Platt who goes under the pseudonym Hazza Making Noise, has just released a new single called Boomers In Disguise. Cross a football chant with a rock opera and inject it with punk-rave then you will have a fair idea about the unique concept which Harry describes as having "an early Arctic Monkeys – Brianstormesque nature to it".
Mirrors - Single Review: Got This Feeling
09 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally starting out as a covers band in 2017, Christchurch based acoustic pop duo Mirrors expanded their repertoire this year during lockdown, taking the opportunity to write and record seven original songs in their home studio. Got This Feeling is their catchy brand-new second single release.
Julie Lamb - Album Review: How Humans Think
04 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
The first thing I noticed when I was blessed with a physical copy of Julie Lamb Outfit’s brand new eight track album How Humans Think, was the outstanding amount of work and love which has gone into the packaging of the CD. It is a creative thing of beauty to which I will elaborate further on.
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
    Fleetwood Mac
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
    Pop Smoke
    Ritt Momney
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem