10 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Known Associates - Album Review: Ride the Wave

26 May 2020 // A review by Callum Wagstaff
Known Associates have had a successful 2019 opening for big acts like Living Colour, The Feelers and The Jordan Luck Band. Ride the Wave is their second full length outing, following Penny Love and the Rebound EP. It contains their classic twin guitar sound and combines it with a great bunch of new songs.

Standout track Rockstar has an infectious and beguiling bass line that I couldn't help but follow throughout the song. I also really gravitated towards what sounded like a nice low cello outro.

Some of the solo work in Dream Baby is
syrupy and attractive, doing something to my inner ear that feels like either being drunk or bathing in hot chocolate. Wear It is a light and tuneful gallivanting experience.

The attention grabbing progression and soap-box blues of Satin Love is like a finger click in an empty bar; you can't help but follow the sound and see what's going on. I have a hot-take on this one: I would have liked to see it open the album. I feel like it would have made a spicier first impression and an intriguing suggestion. Almost a flirtation. Terror Beach sounded great following Satin Love but it's also an awesome album closer, so I'm conflicted about my earlier call on the track order. It has a super affecting chord change going into the chorus and a few twists and turns in the third act including a surprising switch to some classic punk smash sounds.

I get the sense that these guys are having a lot of fun playing the music they were born to play. If you're into bands like The Rolling Stones or Guns n' Roses you might enjoy giving these guys a listen. Songs like Paradise, Someone Still and Deep Sea Diver also bleed hints of a pastiche of influences from Bob Dylan and Pink Floyd to Boston, Kansas and Rush to Led Zeppelin and even Red Hot Chilli Peppers in the title track. There's a moment in Wear It that's almost reminiscent of girl group sensation B*witched.

Ride the Wave is a pretty damn appropriate album name. I can't really sum it up without sounding like I'm basically saying the title. It's a ride. And after everything I've been through I encourage you to have a listen. Like a drug peddling, trench coat wearing vagrant I invite you to experience the classic twin guitar shower that is Known Associates.
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Known Associates

Known Associates are a New Zealand indie rock band hailing from Auckland.

Tapping into a classic twin guitar vibe, they swagger from alt country to snarling rock n roll.

The bands second album Ride the Wave was released in March 2020. Previous releases include the debut album Penny Love and subsequent EP Rebound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Known Associates

Releases

Ride the Wave
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Rebound
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Penny Love
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Callum Wagstaff

Internet Death - Album Review: Not Your Dog!
09 Jul 2020 // by Callum Wagstaff
Mild mannered billionaire journalist (citation needed) 17-year-old Christchurch musician by day, Finlay Anderson dons the Internet Death undies by night to slap us in the ass-face with the cyber hardcore anti-hero anarchist justice of Not Your Dog!Christchurch in 2020 is a Petri dish of physical isolation and the chaos of the entire world being beamed directly into the brains of the population potentially 24/7.
Read More...
Screw Jack - EP Review: Back in the Saddle
02 Jul 2020 // by Callum Wagstaff
Screw-Jack is a musical duo separated by the cook straight and brought together by the wonders of modern technology. The inciting incident that brought Matt Schobs and Mark Tupuhi together happened back in 2007 and somewhere along the way the post-pop electro freakbeat sounds of Screw-Jack were conceived.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Single Review: Mad About It
24 Jun 2020 // by Callum Wagstaff
'All Zest, No Stress' is the catchphrase for Whanganui-based one-man cartoon band Something Zesty. If it were on a cereal box it would be the bit written in a big spiked speech balloon.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: Secrets of the Universe
04 Jun 2020 // by Callum Wagstaff
From a world of bottomless resilience and optimism comes Marshmellow's Secrets of the Universe. A Eurovision wet dream forged in environmental hope and poverty-stricken despair with a solid gold, true-love center.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Flung
30 May 2020 // by Callum Wagstaff
At times dizzying and sometimes catastrophically frenetic, Flung descends into chaos.Flung is the first of four singles set for release over the coming months from Blenheim's guitar bashing wastrels Big Scout.
Read More...
Goodspace - Album Review: Under the Loquat Tree
14 May 2020 // by Callum Wagstaff
Goodspace started life in 2017 as a more grunge influenced band called Restless Electric before refining their line-up and reconvening their efforts in a more lo-fi indie Britpop capacity. In 2019 they emerged as Goodspace, dedicated to helping listeners feel present and providing a more connected experience; "from our goodspace to yours".
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Last Chances
13 May 2020 // by Callum Wagstaff
Repairs are kind of like the band next door. I get the same bro-hang vibes from their mission statement as I did watching Sex Bob-omb rehearse in the movie Scott Pilgrim vs the World.
Read More...
Swallow the Rat - Album Review: Leaving Room
28 Apr 2020 // by Callum Wagstaff
Swallow the Rat sound like if a tornado became sentient and could communicate that it just wants to shoot the shit and have a chat.Swallow the Rat formed in Auckland in 2017 when Texan guitarist Brian Purington moved to New Zealand and started jamming with Sam Vercoe.
Read More...
View All Articles By Callum Wagstaff

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem