27 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Known Associates - Album Review: Ride the Wave

26 May 2020 // A review by Callum Wagstaff
Known Associates have had a successful 2019 opening for big acts like Living Colour, The Feelers and The Jordan Luck Band. Ride the Wave is their second full length outing, following Penny Love and the Rebound EP. It contains their classic twin guitar sound and combines it with a great bunch of new songs.

Standout track Rockstar has an infectious and beguiling bass line that I couldn't help but follow throughout the song. I also really gravitated towards what sounded like a nice low cello outro.

Some of the solo work in Dream Baby is
syrupy and attractive, doing something to my inner ear that feels like either being drunk or bathing in hot chocolate. Wear It is a light and tuneful gallivanting experience.

The attention grabbing progression and soap-box blues of Satin Love is like a finger click in an empty bar; you can't help but follow the sound and see what's going on. I have a hot-take on this one: I would have liked to see it open the album. I feel like it would have made a spicier first impression and an intriguing suggestion. Almost a flirtation. Terror Beach sounded great following Satin Love but it's also an awesome album closer, so I'm conflicted about my earlier call on the track order. It has a super affecting chord change going into the chorus and a few twists and turns in the third act including a surprising switch to some classic punk smash sounds.

I get the sense that these guys are having a lot of fun playing the music they were born to play. If you're into bands like The Rolling Stones or Guns n' Roses you might enjoy giving these guys a listen. Songs like Paradise, Someone Still and Deep Sea Diver also bleed hints of a pastiche of influences from Bob Dylan and Pink Floyd to Boston, Kansas and Rush to Led Zeppelin and even Red Hot Chilli Peppers in the title track. There's a moment in Wear It that's almost reminiscent of girl group sensation B*witched.

Ride the Wave is a pretty damn appropriate album name. I can't really sum it up without sounding like I'm basically saying the title. It's a ride. And after everything I've been through I encourage you to have a listen. Like a drug peddling, trench coat wearing vagrant I invite you to experience the classic twin guitar shower that is Known Associates.
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Known Associates

Known Associates are a New Zealand indie rock band hailing from Auckland.

Tapping into a classic twin guitar vibe, they swagger from alt country to snarling rock n roll.

The bands second album Ride the Wave was released in March 2020. Previous releases include the debut album Penny Love and subsequent EP Rebound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Known Associates

Releases

Ride the Wave
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Rebound
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Penny Love
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Callum Wagstaff

Henika - Single/Video Review: The Future of the Species
23 Aug 2021 // by Callum Wagstaff
Henika is the moniker of Slovak born multi-instrumentalist Henrieta Tornyai. Her self-titled EP won Best Independent Debut at the Taite Music Awards in 2017.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Pretty
19 Jul 2021 // by Callum Wagstaff
Rain is the music making moniker of Wellington artist Cathy Elizabeth. She has been active since 2018, collaborating with producer Thomas Te Taite to create songs that are genre fluid, but all wrapped around the singer songwriter heart.
Read More...
James Hunter - Single Review: Suburban Dystopia
24 Jun 2021 // by Callum Wagstaff
James Hunter is an alt folk musician from Poneke. He writes, records, and produces records that are minimal in scope, but intimate through his vocal delivery.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - Album Review: The Math
31 May 2021 // by Callum Wagstaff
"Completely DIY and 8 years in the making, “a tribute to the pipe dreams of the struggling indie artist”.The tagline for The Math by Wellington based indie post-everything band Oh Sweet Nothings is a likeable description.
Read More...
Personal Igloo - Single Review: Shades of Blue
19 Apr 2021 // by Callum Wagstaff
Personal Igloo is the solo project of Auckland based song writer/producer, Hamish Nixon. Following the release of the début EP Phone-in Serotonin, Shades of Blue takes on a new-found energy on top of Nixon's signature laid-back delivery.
Read More...
Merk - Album Review: Infinite Youth
13 Apr 2021 // by Callum Wagstaff
Merk has been up and running since 2016, collecting a few accolades and getting some attention in that time. He is a Red Bull Music Academy alumni and winner of the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut award in 2017.
Read More...
Tim Allen - Single Review: Love is a Pill
20 Mar 2021 // by Callum Wagstaff
UK born New Zealand artist Tim Allen has been a mainstay in the NZ music scene for the last decade. You might have seen one of his songs with Stormporter on New Zealand music TV or caught one of his shows on tour with Hangar 18.
Read More...
Lasair - Single Review: Running
27 Feb 2021 // by Callum Wagstaff
After years making music constrained by labels and opinions, Lasair's musical approach is "genre fluid" and built from the inspiration he finds around him wherever it happens to come from. Rather than talk about his persona, Lasair prefers to let his music speak for him.
Read More...
View All Articles By Callum Wagstaff

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem