22 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity

20 May 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.


On the opening track Blacklight, the production is front and centre. With a beat that keeps changing up where the groove is on you, it still grooves. With some tasty guitar work paired with synths and ear catching drums samples, it is a good way to start the EP. It needs to be mentioned that Mazbou Q produces everything and records it all himself. The sheer amount of talent found on this album is undeniable and refreshing for someone like myself who thoroughly the creative aspects of hip-hop, especially the sound inspired from the East Coast with groups like Jurassic 5 and De La Soul.

And while there are elements of that, the EP also covers a wide range of ideas and sounds. There is definitely some influence of Stormzy heard on the darker track Bad Energy, which features Oklahoma rapper and producer Kevin Posey. There are other featured guests here too, each bringing their own feel and vibe to the cleverly produced beats that help carry the tracks.

Empowerment is a strong theme that comes through the entire EP.  And hardship. And I respect all those on this EP for speaking the truth and bringing to light the facts around certain topics. The topics of each song stay laser focused and I applaud that.  For the school hip-hop fans who know love, peace, unity and having fun are the cornerstones, Mazbou Q brings all that and more with an EP that is sure gonna get attention from those who respect the craft that is hip-hop.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Mazbou Q

Formerly known as Unchained XL, Mazbou Q is a British born Nigerian New Zealand Hip-Hop artist and producer with a unique, afrocentric sound that is easily recognizable as his own. His 2018 debut EP release entitled Foreign Legacy blends traditional afrobeat-inspired textures and rhythms with various styles of Hip-Hop, utilising a combination of live instruments and synths. April saw UXL’s reach expand globally, as he completed a tour of the UK with shows in London, Bristol, Sheffield, Leeds and Cardiff, performing alongside artists such as Mungos HiFi, Afro Cluster and Mr Phormula.

With overarching themes of faith, identity, justice, virtue and cultural innovation, he draws both musical and lyrical inspiration from artists such as Fela Kuti, Jidenna, M.anifest and Lecrae. Supported by his live band, UXL delivers a highly energetic, and convicting performance that will leave you searching for more.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mazbou Q

Releases

Afroternity
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: Don’t Know For Sure
12 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ignatia : Rising are a 4-piece, occasional more piece, pop/rock group who crafted their style in the Wild West (Auckland, NZ) party and club circuit in the mid 90's. Their newest track, Don't Know For Sure brings about a sense of nostalgia.
Read More...
Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem