21 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Phil Stoodley - Single Review: Undercover

13 May 2020 // A review by Chris Chick

I was pleasantly surprised when I was reminded that I also reviewed Phil Stoodley's work 7 years ago. This was like a coming of age moment and having recently returned to the duties of music reviewing, I thoroughly enjoyed the nostalgia of that memory.

The new single by Phil is entitled Undercover. This beauty is a real mood maker from the very start, with some very harmonious piano playing to the backdrop of the beaches of Bali. Having looked back at my review of Phil's previous song No Surprises, I was shocked to see how critical I was, as I was well and truly immersed in this charming number.

Most of the music I listen to is hard and heavy; I like to go hard and enjoy a good rush, but as a friend of mine, who is a massive Motorhead fan, once said "sometimes you just need to listen to some Enya, to balance the soul" and Undercover does this to such an incredible degree that I found it somewhat difficult to write the next part of this review.

My biggest disappointment about this single is when it ends; it almost falls off the cliff. I feel like it could have continued for longer, which is definitely not a bad thing. I felt like I was transcending into a spiritual coma of goodness as the melody sent me off to far-away lands, only for it to come to a sudden end. In my world, if that is the worst thing about this song, then there really isn't anything stopping you from also enjoying this song.

I really like this offering, and I highly recommend it to everybody, no matter what type of music you enjoy. Phil Stoodley has exceeded my expectations, and I am pretty sure he will exceed yours too. Keep up the good work Phil, I look forward to seeing what the future holds for you.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Phil Stoodley

Phil Stoodley has seen his fair share of traveling; whether from stage to stage with a guitar in hand or just jumping borders with a map and a whim, a desire to fill pages with fresh creativity has driven him for the better part of his life.

Phil’s early path as a musician was forged touring across New Zealand both on stage in various bands and off stage working in music production. The early 2000's saw him touring the UK, Europe, the US, and Asia as a session player for one of New Zealand’s best-loved and multi-platinum selling bands The Feelers, which led to a number of successful musical ventures including Phil’s own rock band Stoods and the opening slot for international bands including Velvet Revolver, Simple Minds, and Neil Finn.

Over the years, Phil’s recognition grew with his debut single Waiting For Thursday, a self-produced album No Surprise and his work as co-writer and producer for Hanna Grace's debut album Concrete & Roses and single In The Rain, along with compositions for TV, film, and commercials. 2012 saw the EP release of the electronic project Shaker Zulu - Funking Bell, a collaboration project with New Zealand's piano/ keys extraordinaire Andy Keys.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Phil Stoodley

Releases

No Surprise
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Jam Fish - Single Review: The Hermits Red Balloon
24 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Jam Fish’s new single The Hermit’s Red Balloon was released on the 14th August 2020. This song can only be described through golfing metaphors, the experience of listening to this song was like playing a shot beyond the horizon and hoping you make the green.
Read More...
Fornax Chemica - Album Review: Audio Vision
06 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Let’s get one thing straight right off the bat, creating, producing, and performing an album is a massive undertaking in itself. I am always impressed by any musician who is able to accomplish this, no matter the genre or the instruments they play (the more the better I say) this is why longevity within the music industry is not to be ignored when embracing all aspects of artists you love, and those you find hard to love.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: I'm Only Focused On You
15 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
Intense and full of bravado, as soon as the first piano chord hammered over my speakers, I jumped to attention like a well drilled private awaiting his first taste of action. Without any hesitation this private felt the need to start running towards the battle with no second thought for my own safety, willed on by the heavy baseline that accompanies the just as strong willed lyrical content.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Travelling Show
12 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
With a skip in my step, bounding my way through Trafalgar Square making my way to the center of the world as I knew it, London Town, this brand new single by Mini Simmons is, as they say in London, ruddy bloody good. I love songs that take me back to bygone days of freedom and an ignorance that only a young 20 year old called entangle into his swagger.
Read More...
Hummucide - Single Review: Reacher
25 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Picture a wonderfully blissful day, slow wanderings around the park as it blooms fully into the start of a new creation, beckoning good will and tidings to all that seek it. With that picture in mind, now listen to the new single from Hummucide Reacher and transcend the only way possible from the vibe that jazz music can only touch.
Read More...
Whaea Stylz - Single Review: North Star
11 Jun 2020 // by Chris Chick
Whenever anyone makes the plunge into Reggae style music, you just know you are in for a treat, and there is no difference here with Whaea Stylz latest single North Star; an infused reggae beat that is guaranteed to get you moving even those muscles you never knew existed. I was really drawn in by the range of instruments, especially the piano, I thought its use really added to the song.
Read More...
Found Family - Single Review: Alive
27 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
Again, New Zealand music goes and surprises me, and in a good way. It reminds me of my trip to a well-known hot pool resort in the South Island; I arrived there with my little buddy that I mentor and saw the price of entrance.
Read More...
Terrence & The Optimistics - EP Review: Groovy Baby
07 May 2020 // by Chris Chick
As an eternal optimist, the chance to review a band with that term implanted into their vibe was an easy decision. Some would say that this is a recipe for bias reviewing, I would rather see it as a an extra brownie point before I had even cracked open the computer salivating in anticipation for some retro nostalgic soul grooves of the 60’s and 70;s, not that I was there in person, only in spirit.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem