28 May 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti

12 May 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".

It is obvious that these beats have inspired a lot of energy to write about the interconnection of us with the world. Every song has its own feel to it. With each track labelled an element or concept, this EP is really a cool way to just chill out and hear what's on the mind of Dharma Dan. Hip-hop is poetry and this is on show here, all while being performed flawlessly.

Sotapatti has a very organic sound to it because of the lack of reverb or effect on the vocals, and this only adds to the authentic feel you get from this collection of tracks. It's something that requires you to just sit back and hear what Dharma Dan has to say - it's all very thoughtful, and as mentioned, delivered very well.

The stand out track for me was definitely Samantabhadra.

Sotapatti is a great EP and it's definitely worth checking out.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Dharma Dan

After many years of exploration in meditation and Dharma, Dharma Dan shares his journey and his thoughts through the art of rap.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dharma Dan

Releases

Sotapatti
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Doha
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
Chris Bates - Single Review: Focus
22 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Focus is a stunning track showcasing the combined efforts of Luan and Chris Bates. The production quality here from Luan is outstanding.
Read More...
General Vibe - EP Review: California Rocket
22 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
From the low-fi sound that kicks off with the opening track Secondhand, the jazzy elements are right there interwoven amongst beat and pulsing beat. And then, so subtly the vocals transition out of the low-fi realm into crystal clear, as does the rest of the band.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Nothing Stupid
10 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting an acoustic guitar and then adding texture through melodic lead guitar and powerful drums and bass, the new track from Apollo SteamTrain, Nothing Stupid, starts off strong and solid. And from there it only builds and gets stronger.
Read More...
DRXNES - Video Review: Zero
02 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. This video is an incredible insight into the life of DRXNES.
Read More...
EP Review: Enter Venus
26 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The explosive start of Throw It Away is hard to ignore. Right away, the guitar and bass smashes you in the face with a killer riff, accentuated further by the pounding drums.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • TOOSIE SLIDE
    Drake
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem