31 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti

12 May 2020 // A review by Ben Ruegg

On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".

It is obvious that these beats have inspired a lot of energy to write about the interconnection of us with the world. Every song has its own feel to it. With each track labelled an element or concept, this EP is really a cool way to just chill out and hear what's on the mind of Dharma Dan. Hip-hop is poetry and this is on show here, all while being performed flawlessly.

Sotapatti has a very organic sound to it because of the lack of reverb or effect on the vocals, and this only adds to the authentic feel you get from this collection of tracks. It's something that requires you to just sit back and hear what Dharma Dan has to say - it's all very thoughtful, and as mentioned, delivered very well.

The stand out track for me was definitely Samantabhadra.

Sotapatti is a great EP and it's definitely worth checking out.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Dharma Dan

After many years of exploration in meditation and Dharma, Dharma Dan shares his journey and his thoughts through the art of rap.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dharma Dan

Releases

Sotapatti
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Doha
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
An Electric Heart - Album Review: Otiose Me
06 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As you press play, the prologue hits you hard and it is obvious that Luke Pell, known as An Electric Heart, has a great understanding on sonics and dynamics on his new album Otiose Me.Luke Pell describes the An Electric Heart sound as 'alternative pop'.
Read More...
Matt Bizzle - Single Review: Just Let Me Know with Kevin Posey Feat. Lily Jackson
05 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The reggaeton beat has been quite the staple in music trends for some time now, and with the new track Just Let Me Know from Matt Bizzle, it isn't the main feature. Instead, it is used in the right places to give this track a different vibe at the exact moment it is needed.
Read More...
Lester - Single Review: Sometimes Feat. Aunty Rae
29 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On Lester's latest track Sometimes, featuring Aunty Rae, the New Zealand Hip-Hop artist turns his focus inward and discusses the things that we miss when we are away from home; which in his case is a list of memories that make home what it is. And yet, the real meaning of home is blurred and put to question.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem